Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the EZ Proxy or UVaAnywhere. More information.
America History and Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search = "Civil War" AND "public finance"
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Advanced Search gives you more control over your search results.
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, as well as a few newspapers and magazines, covering a wide range of topics.
Search = "sin tax"
PAIS International International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations.
Search = "Proposition 13"
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers from the colonial period to the early 20th century. But also Includes substantial 20th century coverage for the New Orleans "Times-Picayune" (1837-1988), Cleveland "Plain Dealer" (1923-1991), and Portland "Oregonian" (1907-1987). Can limit by place.
Search = "Episcopal Church" AND tax Date Range = 1800-1830
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. You can limit your search to particular states or cities.
Search = tariff "South Carolina" Publication Date = Jan 1, 1828 - Dec 31, 1830
ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, and Washington Post.
Advanced Search: New York Times Search = "Liberty bonds" war Date = 1917-1917
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1940.
Advanced Search= "Federal Reserve Act" Document Type = Article Publication date = 1912-1914
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, 1639-1800 provides searchable text of books published in America between 1639 and 1800. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, etc. Note: For ease of reading click on "Download Pages",then on "Download the Entire Document as Bitonal PDF". Seventy-five pages at a time are downloaded. Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 continues coverage to 1819.
Advanced Search Evans: taxation = citation text AND liberty = full text Date = 1765-1789
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age. Includes published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres.
Advanced Search: "national banks" = full text AND "state banks" = full text Years of publication = 1862-1870
US History in Context Collection of articles from over 200 journals and several hundred historical encyclopedias covering the social and political history of the U.S. Some primary source material also included. An excellent resource for getting an overview of a topic or issue.
Search = "Gold standard"
Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative historical data covering American population, work and welfare, economic structure, governance, and international relations from colonial times to the present.
ProQuest Congressional Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information on members, and testimony from Congressional hearings.
Search = "Tariff Act of 1930" Date is between = Jan 1, 1929 - Dec 31, 1931
LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world. Includes many newspapers. Coverage usually does not begin before the mid-1980's.
Search = cigarette tax