United Nations Documents
The University of Virginia Library is one of some 330 United Nations depository libraries around the world. Depository libraries receive documentation and publications from the UN for use by the general public.
UN Documents in VIRGO
United Nations publications issued since 1989 are listed in VIRGO, the library's online catalog. For these documents there are no subject headings included, so that a words or phrase search is the best way to find these. Important note: "Mast Head" documents (i.e., the working papers of the UN) are not listed individually in Virgo. "Mast head" documents include papers, letters, draft documents, and other supporting documentation used by Delegations during sessions. To locate these working papers use AccessUN [UVa Only] described below.
Access UN
AccessUN (Available from UVa IP addresses or through EZProxy) provides access to current and retrospective UN documents and publications. Coverage includes selected full-text verbatim and summary record documents from 1945 to the present. Full text of most resolutions and many recent speeches is linked to the citation. Government Information Resources (GIR) owns much of the material indexed in Access UN on microfiche. These are filed by Document Number in the Maps/Microforms Room (3East).
International KWIC Index and Other Indexes to Older UN Publications
(3rd floor, Ready Ref - Back wall of 3rd Floor Center Reading Room)
Many United Nations publications and periodicals published prior to 1989 are not listed in VIRGO. The best way to find these older UN materials owned by the Library but not listed in VIRGO is through a computer generated keyword-in-title index and other such indexes located in the Government Information Resources Reading Room. If your research involves extensive use of older UN documents you may want to Contact Us for an appointment for personalized instruction in locating these materials
Un Agencies
- United Nations Headquarters (New York)
- United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
- United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN/ECE)
- United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
- United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
- United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
- United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Other UN WWW Sources
- United Nations Info Quest (UN-I-QUE) Reference Database from the Hammarskjold Library
- United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
- United Nations Treaty Database
- Voting Records and Index to Speeches in the United Nations
- UN Scholar's Workstation (Yale University)
UN Databases
- AccessUNSearch for UN documents (draft resolutions, meeting records, Sales Publications, Treaty Series, etc.) with links to full text online or on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources.
- UNBISnetVoting Records and Index to Speeches in the United Nations.
- UNdataSearch UN statistical databases through a single entry point.
- United Nations Info Quest (UN-I-QUE)
- United Nations Monthly Bulletin of Statistics - MBS On-line [UVa
- United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)Full texts of UN documents since 1992
- United Nations Treaty Database
Contact Information |
Barbie Selby JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info Alderman Library Reference Room, 4th floor University of Virginia 434-982-2677 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: American Sign Language |

Loading...
