Administrative Decisions
This page is not an attempt to link to Federal Register or the Code of Federal Regulations information for each federal agency. It links to other administrative actions which are outside the scope of the CFR or the FR. What is available via the Internet varies from agency to agency. See also Regulations.gov for regulatory materials.
Because Electronic FOIA Reading Rooms often contain administrative information this page links to the primary E-FOIA Reading Room for each agency covered.
Please send additions or corrections to bselby@virginia.edu
- FOIA Electronic Reading RoomUSDA Electronic Reading Room by agency.
- Agriculture Department DirectivesThis system is the online repository of all USDA Departmental Regulations, Notices, Manuals, and Memoranda. The USDA Directives System consists of a set of current, in-force directives. From the Office of the Chief Information Officer.
- Agriculture Decisions"OALJ presently consists of three Judges who conduct rulemaking and adjudicatory hearings throughout the United States in proceedings subject to the Administrative Procedure Act. There are approximately 40 statutes administered by agencies within the Department of Agriculture that require APA hearings. The Judges issue initial decisions and orders in adjudicatory proceedings which become final decisions of the Secretary unless appealed to the Judicial Officer by a party to the proceedings."
[Paper version. A 1/58: (1942-)] - Board of Contract AppealsAnnual reports, 1996-
- Office of the Judicial OfficerSummaries of Decisions, 1971/1995, 1996-
Annual reports, 1996- - Agricultural Marketing Service
- Animal and Plant Health Inspection ServiceAPHIS e-FOIA Reading Room includes APHIS manuals, animal care policy manuals, and directives, some as old as 1975.
- Agricultural Research Service
- Food and Nutrition Service
- Food Safety and Inspection ServiceFOIA Reading Room & FISI Notices Index - Administrative manuals and directives
- Forest Servicee-FOIA Reading Room - Links to many of the individual pages listed below.
Publications, Regulations, Manuals
Directives - The Forest Service Directive System consists of the Forest Service Manual and Handbooks, which codify the agency's policy, practice, and procedure. (1997-)
Environmental Appeals & Litigation
Environmental Appeals Decisions - Washington & Regional Office appeals decisions. (1996-2008) - Grain Inspection, Packers & Stockyard Administration
- USDA National Appeals Division
- Natural Resources Conservation ServiceNCRS Electronic Directives System - Contains Handbooks in addition to directives.
- Rural DevelopmentFOIA - Includes directives, regulations, administrative notices, rural development handbooks, etc.
Regulations & Guidance - Includes administrative notices, procedure notices, forms, letters, instructions, guides, etc.
U.S. Access Board
Commerce Department
- Commerce DepartmentFOIA
FOIA Electronic Library- Includes policy statements, staff manuals, Department Online Libraries.
Department Organizational Orders
Administrative Orders - Bureau of Industry and SecurityBIS FOIA Reading Room - Includes antiboycott warning letters and reports, public comments on regulations. Index of Documents links to the actual materials.
Lists to Check - includes the Denied Persons List, Entity List, and others important to exporting. - International Trade AdministrationImport Administration - Includes Administrative Protective Orders, Policy Bulletins, regulations, etc. - APOs by product and country.
Policy Bulletins - (1991-)
Remand Determiniations - (May 16, 1997-)
Market Access & Compliance
Trade Compliance Center
The Trade and Related Agreements Database (TARA) contains fully searchable texts of more than 300 trade agreements, including most of the trade agreements to which the United States is a party and related documents which are important to business. - National Telecommunications and Information AdministrationFOIA
FCC Filings - Includes NTIA replies to FCC proposals, in addition to other NITA reports. (1995-) - Patent & Trademark Office
Commodity Futures - Consumer Product
- Commodity Futures Trading CommissionFOIA & e-FOIA Reading Rooms
Opinions & Adjudicatory Orders - (1997 - )
Exemptive, No-Action & Interpretative Letters - "The CFTC's staff issues written guidance concerning the Commodity Exchange Act and the Commission's regulations, principally in the form of responses to requests for exemptive, no-action and interpretative letters." This site contains summaries of letters published from 1995 to present, and a few from the 1970s.. - Consumer Product Safety CommissionFOIA - Documents are categorized under the fiscal year they were requested, not the year of the original document. Thus a 1988 document which was requested in FY 1997 is filed in 1997.
E-FOIA Library
Office of General Counsel
Advisory Opinions
(1973-)
Defense Department
- Defense DepartmentFOIA - Links to all DoD Electronic Reading Rooms.
DoD Issuances - Includes directives, instructions, publications, administrative instructions, and directive-type memoranda.
Defense Acquisition Management Information Retrieval - restricted access
Defense Dept. Chief Information Officer - Air Force
- Armed Services Contract Appeals Board• Decisions
(2000-)
*Paper equivalent: CCH Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
*Databases: LEXIS: PUBCON; ASBCA (1962-present)
WESTLAW FGC-ASBCA (1962-present) - Army
- DoD Comptroller
- DoD Inspector General
- Marine Corps
- Navy•FOIA Online
•FOIA Electronic Reading Rooms
•Navy Issuances
Contains OPNAV and SECNAV directives, manuals, etc. Some documents as old as 1981.
E
- Education Department•Key Policy Letters Signed by the Education Secretary or Deputy
•Decisions of the Secretary
•Office of Hearings & Appeals
**Decisions
•Guidance Documents
•Policy by Program
•NCLB Policy Letters
" These policy letters provide guidance and insight on a variety of topics of interest to State Educational Agencies (SEAs), school districts, federal program directors, and others in implementing No Child Left Behind." - Energy Department•FOIA - links to most DOE guidance and policy documents.
•DOE Directives - Includes current, archived, and draft directives.
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
••Notices & Decisions
•FERC Online- "Portal to documents and dockets" Registration required.
[FERC Reports - E 2.17:] - Environmental Protection Agency•FOIA
•Significant Guidance Documents
•EPA Dockets via Regulations.gov
•Superfund Site Information
•Record of Decision System (RODS)
**RODS is the Record of Decision System. RODS contains full-text Records of Decision (RODs), ROD Abstracts, ROD Amendments, and Explanations of Significant Differences (ESDs). A ROD provides the justification for the remedial action (treatment) chosen at a Superfund site. It also contains site history, site description, site characteristics, community participation, enforcement activities, past and present activities, contaminated media, the contaminants present, scope and role of response action, and the remedy selected fo - Environmental Appeals Board
- Office of Administrative Law Judges
- Compliance and Enforcement■Statements of Policy & Interpretation
•Applicability Determination Index - "The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) currently issues over 100 letters or memoranda per year on Clean Air Act (CAA) applicability or monitoring issues under the New Source Performance Standards (NSPS, 40 CFR Part 60) and the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP, 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63) programs. "
•RCRA Corrective Action Enforcement
Resource Conservation and Recovery Act Policy and Guidance documents. Liniks to RCRA Corrective Action Implementation Database (RCAID). - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission•Laws, Regulations, & Policy Guidance
•Federal Sector Information
•Federal Sector Appellate Decisions
"Employment discrimination complaints in the federal government are handled by the agency involved. If the individual who filed the complaint does not agree with the agency's decision, he or she can file an appeal with the EEOC. Note: Because charges outside the federal government are handled differently, there is no private sector equivalent to these decisions. "
(July, 2000 -)
[Paper - EEOC Decisions - Y 3.EQ 2:18:] - Export-Import Bank of the United States
- Farm Credit Administration•E-FOIA Reading Room
•Legal Opinion Summaries
"The following legal opinion summaries are provided for informational purposes only. Each opinion is based on the specific facts presented to FCA's Office of General Counsel (OGC). Different facts may result in a different determination. Additionally, each opinion is based on then-current statutes and FCA regulations. Legislative or regulatory amendments subsequent to any particular opinion may also result in OGC reaching a different determination."
(1998 - )
•Resources for the Farm Credit System
Handbooks, manuals, informational memorandums, etc. - Federal Communications Commission•FOIA
•FCC EDOCS - Search all FCC documents.
•Official Documents - searchable database for orders, notices and other official FCC documents. Includes link to the FCC EDocs advanced search database. - Federal Deposit Insurance CorporationFOIA Reading Room
•Section 2 "Policy Statements" includes Staff Advisory Opinions, General Counsel's Opinions, Statements of Policy.
•Section 3 is Final Orders and Opinions.
•FDIC Enforcement Decisions & Orders - Some orders as far back as 1975.
•FDIC Laws, Regulations, and related Acts to see Staff Advisory Opinions, General Counsel Opinions, and FDIC Statements of Policy. - Federal Election Commission•Laws & Regulations - includes links to Advisory Opinions, Policy Statements, etc. [ see Federal Election Commission Record - Y 3.El 2/3:11/]
•Enforcement Matters - inlcudes the Enforcement Query System. - Federal Labor Relations Authority•E-FOIA Reading Room - includes cases and final actions.
•Authority Decisions
(1979- present, v. 1 - )
Includes all volumes of FLRA Decisions and Digests.
Paper and microfiche reports issued under Y 3.F31/21-3:10-4/ .
•Negotiability Determinations
From the Office of Personnel Management. "Summarizes negotiability determinations issued by the Federal Labor Relations Authority from January 11, 1979, through December 31, 2001."
Office of General Counsel
•OGC Guidance
•OGC Manuals
Federal Services Impasses Panel - (1990-)
•Administrative Law Judges
ALJ Decisions Report - Y 3 - Federal Maritime Commission•FOIA
•E-FOIA Reading Room - includes a E-Reading Room Search. Includes Reports, Proceedings, Rulemakings, and Investigations.
•Online Agreement Library
•Federal Maritime Commission Reports
Includes formal docket decisions and Administrative Law Judges opinions.
(Nov. 1, 1996-)
Issued in paper as FMC 1.10: - Decisions of the Federal Maritime Commission. - Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission"The Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission is an independent
adjudicative agency that provides administrative trial and appellate review of legal disputes arising under the Federal Mine Safety and Health Amendments Act of 1977 (Mine Act)."
•Commission Decisions
(1995-)
Office of Administrative Law Judges
[Paper - Y 3.M 66:9/]
•Decisions
(1995-) - Office of the Federal Register•Federal Register via FDsys
•Code of Federal Regulations via FDsys
•E-CFR
"The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. "
Admin Decisions cont.
- Actions, Orders, and other Documents
Oct. 25, 1997- - Enforcement Actions
Enforcement actions back to 1989 are listed.
(1989-) - Supervision and Regulation Letters
1990- - Legal Interpretations
1996-
- Federal Trade Commission Actions
Past Commission actions available, 1995- .
Federal Trade Commission Decisions, paper - FT 1.11:
Online from 1969 (v.75)
- Legal Products
- Comptroller General Decisions
Searchable database from GPO Access.
[Paper - GA 1.5:] - GAO Policy & Guidance Materials
General Services Administration
Health and Human Services Department
- FOIA
- Policies and Regulations
- Departmental Appeals Board
Administration for Children & Families - Food and Drug Administration
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- Advisory Opinions
- CMS Rulings of the Administrator
[HCFA Rulings - HE 22.38:] - Manuals
Includes Program memoranda and Program Transmittals.
- Fraud Prevention & Detection
Includes Advisory Opinions, Open letters, Compliance guidance.
- FOIA
Not much in the HS FOIA pages, only explantions and FOIA statutes.
Bureau of Customs & Border Protection- Customs Rulings Online Search System (CROSS)
CROSS is a searchable database of approximately 175,000 Customs rulings. Rulings collections are separated into Headquarters and New York and span the years 1989 to present. - Customs Legal Decisions & Publications
Pertinent FR notices, Rulings, Bulletins, Decisions, and informed compliance publications.
[Customs Bulletin - T 17.6/3-5: and T 1.11/4:]
- FOIA Electronic Reading Room
- Adopted Decisions
See also the Board of Immigration Appeals, Justice Dept.
- Customs Rulings Online Search System (CROSS)
-
The Coast Guard Library includes selected Directives and Doctrine, as well as Mariner's Safety Information Bulletins.
FOIA - Indluding Safety Investigations, Administrative Investigations, Coast Guard Opinions.
Investigation Reports
Chief Administrative Law JudgeFederal Emergency Management Administration
Immigration and Customs Enforcement
ICE FOIA
Federal Emergency Management Administration
Transportation Security Administration
Housing and Urban Development Department
- FOIA
- FOIA Reading room
- HUDClips
Links to many HUD and non-HUD information sources. - Library section
Links to searchable and browseable HUD policies, directives, legal opinions, OGC documents, etc. - HUD Legal Opinions & Guidance
- HUD Notices
- HUD Letters
- Office of Hearings and Appeals
- Adminstrative Law Judges Decisions
Cases from as far back as 1989.
- FOIA
- Electronic Library of Interior Policies
Departmental manual.
Office of Hearings and Appeals
Bureau of Land Management Bureau of Reclamation- Reclamation Manual
Includes policy statements, directives, and standards.
- Directives
Includes Fish & Wildlife Service Manual, Director's Orders, and National Policy Issuance System. - Centralized Library of Servicewide Policies
Includes resource laws, FR documents, memorandums, Bulletins, Directives, handbooks, etc.
- Office of Policy
Regulations, Director's Orders, Executive Orders. etc. - NPS Reference Desk
Links to the Office of Policy, and the Departmental Manual.
- Reclamation Manual
- Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement
- Regulations & Guidance - including internal policy and directives
- Office of Environmental Policy & Compliance
- Office of Inspector General - website in transition (2/19/2013)
- Office of Surface Mining
Office of the Solicitor
- Solicitor's Opinions
(1993-)
- Solicitor's Opinions
International Trade Commission
- FOIA
- FOIA Electronic Reading Room
- Recent Complaints and Petitions
- Electronic Documents Information System
Docketing information and images of the public documents filed in USITC investigations instituted since 1996.
- FOIA
- Agency FOIA Contacts list
- Legal Documents
Includes briefs, advisory letters, consent decrees, guidelines, regs., and laws for all Justice Dept. agencies. - Americans with Disabilities Act Agreements & Letters of Findings
Attorney General- FOIA Reading Room
Contains policy statements, instructions to staff, manuals, annual reports.
- FOIA page
Much of what's on the Division FOIA page is listed below. - Public Documents
Includes Appellate briefs (1993-), Guidelines & Policy statements. - Antitrust Case Filings
Selected documents filed by the Division since Dec. 1994. - Business Review Letters
(1993-)
- Office of Immigration Litigation
2003 issues of Immigration Litigation Bulletin were released due to a FOIA request.
EOIR Virtual Law LibraryBureau of Prisons
Board or Immigration Appeals Precedent Decisions
[Paper - Administrative Decisions under the Immigration & Nationality Laws - J 21.11:]
Administrative decisions under employer sanctions, unfair immigration-related employment practices, and civil penalty document fraud laws
Link to bound decisions at bottom of page
[Paper - J 1.103:]- FOIA
Contains BOP Program Statements, elaborating on various policies. Appear to be complete, back to at least 1994.
- Opinions
"This website includes opinions that have previously been released to the public, opinions as to which the addressee has agreed to publication, and opinions to Department of Justice officials that the Department has determined may be released.
Volumes 1-20 of the published Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel contain the official versions of opinions for the years 1977-2000.
[Paper - J 1.5/4:]
Those opinions are also available on Westlaw and LEXIS. Additional volumes containing opinions for subsequent years will continue to be published on a regular basis. "
(1992-)
- Administrative Decisions regarding Private Trustees
The U.S. Trustee Program's duties include supervising private bankruptcy trustees. If a United States Trustee decides to suspend or terminate case assignments to a panel or standing trustee, the trustee may obtain administrative review of that decision from the Executive Office for U.S. Trustees. See 28 C.F.R. � 58.6. Redacted copies of the Executive Office's administrative decisions are available from this site.
(1997-)
- FOIA Reading Room
- FOIA
Administrative Review Board - ARB Decisions
USDOL/OALJ Reporter: Decisions of the Administrative Review Board
May 1996 to Present
Paper - Decisions of the Office of Administrative Law Judges and Office of Administrative Appeals. - L 1.5/2:
Part of the Decisions continue on CD-ROM (Whistle Blower Library)
Class L 1.89:W 57
Benefits Review Board- Decisions
Includes both published and unpublished decisions and orders.
1989-
- Decisions
Headnotes only - v.39-44 (1988-1993)
Full Decisions, - v.44- (1993-)
Links to The Fien Group, Inc. site.
- Decisions
- Advisories and Memorandums
"The advisory system (formerly called directives) encompasses guidance letters, program letters, handbooks and technical assistance guides. This system was reengineered recently to respond to suggestions from states and localities on how to make these communications more responsive to customer needs. "
(1983- - Davis-Bacon Wage Determinations
Available from the Government Printing Office.
[Paper - General wage determinations issued under the Davis-Bacon and related acts - L 36.211:] - Mine Safety and Health Administration
- FOIA Reading Room
Includes Petitions for Modification, Program Policy Letters, Procedure Instruction Letters, etc.
- OSHA Directives
Keyword searchable database. Directives are also listed by date and Directive number.
(1978-) - Hazard Information Bulletins
(1984-) - OSHA Letters of Interpretation
- (1972-)
- OSHA Enforcement page
- Reading Room
Includes ASVET Memoranda, and Program Letters.
- FOIA Reading Room
Merit Systems Protection Board
- Merit Systems Protection Board Decisions
- Reduction in Force (RIF) Resource Portal
From Office of Personnel Management.
- FOIA
- NODIS - NASA Online Directives Information System
Directives in the NODIS Directives Library seem to date back to 1996. Full text is available.
National Credit Union Administration
- NCUA Reference Information System
Contains various administrative orders, letters of understanding, legal opinion letters. 1991-
National Labor Relations Board
- NLRB Decisions & Orders
Contains bound volumes of NLRB Decisions & Orders back to vol. 300 (September 1990).
National Transportation Safety Board
- Office of the General Counsel
Office of Administrative Law Judges - NTSB Case Decisions Database
The final decisions, Opinions & Orders, of the National Transportation Safety Board with regard to an airman, mechanic or mariner's appeal of action on his or her certificate are found in National Transportation Safety Board Decisions. A searchable index is available on-line; complete text for decisions issued since mid-1992 is also available in the Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF).
(1992-)
- Document Collections
Includes Commission Action Memoranda, voting records, meeting records, orders, Congressional testimony, internal Commission procedures, commission Decision-Making Index (SECYs, SRMs, & Voting records), and Commission Meeting Transcripts, Administrative Letters, Bulletins, Generic Letters, Information Notices, etc.
1999-
All NRC documents are indexed and stored in ADAMS, older documents may only have citations available online. Boards orders and issuances are entered only into the ADAMS database, and users can search for them using search criteria such as subject, document date and docket number.
NRC documents which pre-date the electronic database, ie, before Nov 1999 are generally not available online. The bibliographic citations are in the ADAMS Legacy Library, but the older documents are stored on microfiche.
[Paper - Nuclear Regulatory Commission issuances : opinions and decisions of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission with selected orders - Y 3.N 88:11/
Occupational Safety & Health Review Commission
- Decisions
Both Administrative Law Judges and Commission Decisions back to 1993.
- OMB Circulars
- Selected OMB Bulletins
(1995-) - Selected OMB Memoranda
(1995-)
Office of Personnel Management
- FOIA
- Digest of Significant Classification Decisions and Opinions
- Classification Appeals & Decisions
Compensation Administration- Includes links to Emergency Guidance Memoranda, Compensation and Leave Decisions, salaries tables, etc.
- Compensation Policy Memoranda
(Dec. 1996-)
- Documents
Includes Opinions, Policy Statements, and Staff Manuals
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
- Electronic Reading Room
Contains Opinions & Decisions, Orders, Pending Cases, etc. Some as old as 1996.
- FOIA
- Board Coverage Decisions
"Board Coverage Decisions are the determinations of the three member Railroad Retirement Board as to the status of various companies or persons with respect to coverage as employers or employees under the RailroadRetirement and Railroad Unemployment Insurance Acts."
Securitites & Exchange Commission
- Commission Decisions
- Regulatory Actions
Includes Concept Releases (the first stage in rulemaking), other stages in rulemaking, exemptive orders, interpretive releases, policy statements, and other Commission actions. - Staff Interpretations
Includes Staff No Action letters, Staff accounting bulletins, Staff Legal Bulletins. - Edgar SEC Filings
- Division of Corporate Finance
SEC Enforcement Division - Investment Management Division
Division of Market Regulation
Paper - Decisions and Reports - SE 1.11:
Selective Service System
- FOIA
Office of AdvocacyOfficial Regulatory Comment LettersOffice of Hearings and Appeals
Letters to various government agencies & others (FCC, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, IRS, etc.) advocating small business perspectives regarding proposed regulations or guidelines.
(1996-)- Includes OHA Decisions and OHA Appeals.
Social Security Administration
- FOIA
- Social Security Rulings and Acquiscence Rulings
This Index reflects all Rulings published in Rulings currently in effect.
[Paper - Rulings. Cumulative edition : Social Security
rulings on federal old-age, survivors, disability, supplemental security income, and black lung benefits. HE 3.44/2:1960-1995
(1960-)]
- FOIA
E-FOIA Reading Room
Includes Foreign Affairs Manual,and Foreign Affairs Handbooks
Office of the Legal Advisor - Digest of United States Practice in International Law
"In order to assist readers in locating the full text of documents which are excerpted in the 2001 Digest but readily accessible elsewhere, the volume includes citations to Internet or other public sources."
Includes amicus briefs, letters, Statements of interest, memoranda, etc. - Treaty Affairs
Many links, including Treaty Actions and Treaties in Force.
- FOIA
- TVA Office of the Inspector General
Contains information about the Audit and Inspection processes. Also, links to Semi-Annual Reports to Congress.
- Federal Transit Administration
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Office of General Counsel
Office of Inspector General
- Single Audits - read DoT OIG audits back to 1996
- FOIA
Comptroller of the Currency - Regulatory Activities
- Internal Revenue Service
- FOIA
- Chief Counsel Directives Manual
- Chief Counsel Notices
Notices and directives not yet incorporated into the Directives Manual.
Internal Revenue Bulletin
Revenue Rulings, Revenue Procedures published in the IRB. Available back to 1996 - Internal Revenue Manual
- IRS Written Determiniations
Taxpayer-specific rulings or determinations are written memoranda furnished by the IRS National Office in response to requests by taxpayers under published annual guidelines. Technical advice memoranda are written memoranda furnished by the National Office of the IRS upon request of a district director or chief appeals officer pursuant to annual review procedures. Chief Counsel advice are written advice or instructions prepared by the Office of Chief Counsel and issued to field or service center employees of the IRS or Office of Chief Counsel.
Veterans Affairs
- Veterans Affairs Department•Board of Veterans Appeals Decisions
(1994-)
•VA Directives Management System
Contains Department-wide policies, procedures and guidance to assist customers and VA employees in the execution of their mission. - White House
Loading...
