- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics.
- African-American Newspapers - 1827-1860
- America History & Life - 1964-present
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide.
- American Periodicals Series
Thousands of historical journal articles from 1740-1900, including many articles on abolition and issues surrounding slavery and African-Americans.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Cambridge Companions are lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. Browse or use search box to find titles related to African-American topics.
- Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
The Chicago Defender...was a proponent of The Great Migration,...reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation... From ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
- Civil Rights Digital Library (open access)
A treasure trove of primary sources. Search by keyword, or browse events, people, places, and topics. Or, browse media types
(e.g. sound recordings, newsletters). Links are to catalog records of collections of oral histories and other materials from institutions around the U.S. See the "Persistent Link to Item" at the bottom of each record.
Copy and paste the url into your browser to access the actual resource. From the CRDL, a partnership of librarians, educators, and others.
- Ethnic NewsWatch - 1985-present
Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
- JSTOR Journal Storage Project
Full-text backfiles of many scholarly journals, usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Literature Resource Center
Includes MLA, Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical compilations about authors, along with journal articles and book chapters about literary works and topics.
- Papers of the NAACP
Digital collection of the NAACP’s archive of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the U.S. It covers the organization’s involvement in crucial civil rights issues such as lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, housing, etc. An ongoing project. NOTE: for the present it should be used in conjunction with the more complete microfilm collection (Micfilm 1568). See also microfilm guides
- Proquest Congressional
Information by and about the U.S. Congress: documents and reports, legislation, hearings, and members and committees. Search on names, events and issues related to African-Americans from 1789-present.
- U.S. History in Context (formerly History Resource Center)
Primary documents, secondary reference sources and journal articles covering all areas of U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present day.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
See Social Collections page for links to specific collections, e.g. on anti-slavery and anti-lynching groups, or use Search page to limit results to African-American authors/topics of interest.