General
- Oxford Reference Online A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Biography Resources on Microfilm in Alderman Library Provides information about many locally held microfilm collections containing a wealth of information on people.
- Diary Research A guide to numerous print and online sources for finding diary materials held by the University of Virginia libraries.
- Dictionary of American Biography (DAB) Long essays on almost 20,000 figures from US history. DAB is included in History Resource Center.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Lives of British persons from the earliest times to the end of the 20th century.
- HeritageQuest A collection of family and local histories and genealogy and local history periodicals from the US and Canada, and of US census data.
- Personal Papers on Microfilm in Alderman Library Lists many important personal paper collections.
- World Almanac Current facts, statistics, biographies on many topics.
By Subject
- Oxford Art Online Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- Encyclopedia of Education Biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations; and a collection of documents including education related legislation, international treaties and testing methods. Coverage is international.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Comprehensive encyclopedia of Islamic religion and of the culture and history of the Islamic regions. Click on "Login" to enter. Requires special fonts that can be downloaded from the site.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica Comprehensive encyclopedia with over 21,000 entries on all aspects of Jewish life, culture, history, and religion
- Literature Resource Center MLA Bibliography and The Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical works about authors, plus journal articles and book chapters on literary works and topics. Primarily literature in English, but also much on world literatature.
- Oxford Music Online Comprehensive music encyclopedia, with coverage of music history, theory and practice, musical terminology, and biographies. Includes works lists, musical examples, and link to online recordings..
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Search by keyword or browse alphabetically. Includes references to journal articles.
- AccessScience: the online encyclopedia of science & technology Online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia and its Yearbooks with additional updates, biographies, and a glossary of scientific terms.
Reserves & UVaCollab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait