ARCH 5300 (Fall 2009)ARCH 7210 (Fall 2009)ARH 102: Renaissance to ModernLAR 601 (Fall 2008)LAR 6010 - Foundation Studio I (Fall 2009)PLAN 567
Web Resources for ArchitectureWeb Resources for Landscape
Architecture RSS and PodcastsLandscape RSS Feeds and Podcasts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Architecture and Landscape  Tags: architecture landscape rss resources databases  

Last update: Sep 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/architecture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARCH 7210 (Fall 2009)             Print Page
  

Tips

More Information

 

Targeted Web Search

This "swicki" allows you to search the best architecture sites on the web, instead of wading through thousands of Google results to find what you need! Just enter your search terms below!

Grab this swicki from eurekster.com

 
 

ARCH 7210- Structural Design for Dynamic Loads

Before you start:

(1) Craft your research strategy.  Make a list of search words.

(2) Organize your research materials

  • Use Refworks to organize your research and simplify your bibliography! 

VIRGO - The Library Catalog

Sample search: KEYWORD seismic design and buildings
Sample search: KEYWORD transamerica building

NOTE: Search VIRGO for items that UVA owns: books, journals, newspapers, videos, maps, slides, government reports, rare books, theses...

Sample search: KEYWORD: getty center
Sample search: KEYWORD: "earthquake resistant design"
Sample search: KEYWORD: "wind resistant design"

Also try VIRGObeta, our new library catalog (still in the testing phase)!  It has some great new features.

 

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Avery) 19th century-present.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD seismic and design and california
KEYWORD structural system* AND KEYWORD buildings
KEYWORD specific building name AND KEYWORD architect's name

HINT:  Use the "Advanced Search" and choose from the "Physical Description" options to find articles that include plans/sections/etc.

 

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts Science and technology databases

Subject area: Engineering Specialties
Civil Engineering Abstracts and Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
Simple search: transamerica building and construction
Advanced Search: earthquake AND building design
Advanced Search: lateral load* AND (architecture OR building design)

 

Engineering Village 1987-present.  Includes National Technical Information Service (NTIS)

Sample searches: Advanced Search: earthquake* and building
Advanced Search: dynamic load* and architectur*
san francisco and load* and construct*


EBSCOhost

Indexes over 100 journals related to architecture, planning, landscape and sustainability - many of which are NOT indexed by Avery. Some articles provided in full-text.  Select any databases that might be related to your topic (General, Business, Green, etc.) to get the most results from your search.

 

 

On the Web

U.S. Geological Survey

Includes a great deal of information in the "Hazards" section


U.S. General Services Administration - Architecture & Engineering Portal

Includes a section on Seismic/Structural Engineering with many links to helpful resources (codes, standards, maps, etc.)

 

Earthquake Engineering Research University of California, Berkeley

 

MCEER - a national center of excellence dedicated to the discovery and development of new knowledge, tools and technologies that equip communities to become more disaster resilient

 


Google Books

Search the full text of many books to find out if there's a chapter or section about a building/architect you're researching.  Then, search VIRGO to see if UVa owns that book.

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageRebecca Cooper


Contact Info:
Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library
434-243-4837
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait