Research Librarian for Architecture
Starting Precedent Research
Before beginning your research, gather what you already know about your project, site, or building. These facts also serve as keywords that you can search when looking for books, articles, and images. Here are some basic facts you may want to list for yourself before you get started:
- Project/Site Name: Be sure to note alternate names for the project, including the name in another language. Searching these variant names may produce different results. Is the building or site part of a complex? Has it changed names over time? As you continue your research, you might expand this list.
- Architect or Landscape Architect: List both the firm name and the individual architects. If the firm's name is an acronym, you may find more results by searching for the long form of the name as well (for example, LTL Architects vs. Lewis Tsurumaki Lewis)
- Location: In what city and country is your precedent located?
- Other Associated People: These could be original owners, restoration architects, etc.
Finding Articles with Plans/Sections
The Avery Index is the fastest way to discover what articles have been published about a precedent. Avery allows you to search summaries of articles published in over 2,000 architecture journals at a time! For the best results, keep these tips in mind:
- Try variations of the name of your precedent if you don't find results right away
- If a search for the building or site name doesn't yeild results, try the architect's name and look for articles published around the date of your project
- Use the advanced search feature at the bottom of the main page to limit to articles that include plans or sections. This option is under "Physical Description"
NOTE: Avery helps you discover what articles exist about your topic, but it usually doesn't include the full text as a PDF. To get your hands on the article, use the Find@UVa button. The Find@UVa button will try to find the article as a PDF in UVa's collections. If it can't, it will give you the option to search VIRGO to see if we have print issues of the journal you're looking for. Remember-- MANY architecture journals are not avaialble in PDF, but we have lots of issues of journals here in the library!
Selected Online Library Resources with Plans/Details
- Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowIn this image and reference database you will find all project documentation from more than 50 years of DETAIL. With every new DETAIL edition, the database is supplemented with the current projects. You can search and filter by main keyword terms, such as building type, material, year of construction or DETAIL issue theme. DETAIL inspiration supports you in the search for building solutions and in your everyday work. All project descriptions are available for download.
- Building Types Online This link opens in a new windowBuilding Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design. It is based on Birkhäuser's high international standing in professional architecture books, on the knowledge of the authors and editors who are leading experts in their fields, as well as on the technical quality of the illustrations. The database offers highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of the Birkhäuser program on building types.
Note: Building Types Online is currently re-vamping its search. This article contains a taxonomy of the categories available for browsing, including various types of morphology, context, building types, heights, and more.
- Tectónica OnlineFrom the publishers of the journal Tectónica. Access to articles, project analyses and a continually expanding database of information organized under three main categories: products and details, projects, and topics.
PLEASE NOTE: YOU MUST BE ON GROUNDS, OR CONNECTED VIA VPN TO ACCESS PREMIUM CONTENT. - El Croquis OnlineDigital access to El Croquis journal issues 2001-Present. Please note: El Croquis currently requires that you use VPN access, even if you are on Grounds.
- RITA: Revista Indexada de Textos AcadémicosOnline publication by the Archturecture Schools of Spain and Latin America.
Find Books
Some buildings, sites, and projects have entire books dedicated to them. Some will not. Start your book search by searching VIRGO for the name of your building. Remember, you may want to try a few variations of the name! If you don't find a book about your building, think broader... search for books about the architect or aandscape architect, or the architecture of the city in which your project is located.
You may also have success by using Google Books to search for your project or site. Google Books allows you to search the full-text of many books (mostly English-language). So, you'll be able to determine if your site is mentioned in a book, even if it isn't a big enough part of the content to make it into the title or abstract. Remember, Google Books limits the amount that you can preview because of copyright. Once you've discovered a book that includes your site, copy and paste the title back into VIRGO to track it down here at UVa.
Find High-Res Images
Here are some places to find great images:
- ARTstor - A database with high-resoulution images. While not every building is in ARTstor, it is worth searching for yours!
- Google Images: Use the "Search Tools" button at the top of your image results to limit to "Large" files for higher resolution.
- Flickr: Crowdsourced images from users across the web. Sometimes you'll find a tourist's photo, sometimes a pro's!
- Scan your own! Sometimes the best images are in a book or article. The library has numerous scanners that you can use to make your own high-resolution files.
Remember, just like when you use a book or article, you need to cite your sources when you use an image! Remember to keep a note of the image's creator, title, date, where and when you found it, and any additional information you need to properly credit the source.