Guides with Digital Primary & Secondary Sources
- American Presidency ProjectA comprehensive collection of data and primary source documents related to the presidents and their elections, including signing statements, addresses, convention speeches, and much more...from the University of California, Santa Barbara.
- American President: An Online Reference SourceEssays on the presidents and their administrations. From The Miller Center at the University of Virginia. See also their Multimedia Archive for documents, speeches, recordings and oral histories.
- White House Web SiteOne of the first places to look for current information from the President.
Comments (0)
Compilation of Weekly and Daily Presidential Documents
Note: The Weekly Compilation was replaced in January 2009 with the Daily Compilation as the official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary
Print Sources
Print Sources
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
1965-1985 - - GS 4.114: - Ivy Stacks
1985 - 2000 - AE 2.109: - 3rd floor, New Stacks
1993 to present - in print at Law Library
Includes all official speeches and messages of the President. Indexes include subject, name, and document categories list (e.g., addresses, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, etc.) Indexes are cumulative. - A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1897 - Y 4.P 93/1:3
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1908 - J 81 .B98 - Alderman Stacks
James D. Richardson compiled this 10 volume set of presidential messages. While not nearly as complete as the modern Public Papers and Weekly Comp it is one of the only sources for early presidential messages.
Electronic Sources - see following links
- GPO AccessWeekly Compilation, 1993-2009. Daily Compilation from January 20 2009 forward.
- Compilation of Presidential Documents pageIncludes the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents. 1992- present.
- A Compilation of Papers & Messages of the Presidents (1789-1914)In 13 volumes. While not nearly as complete as the modern Public Papers and Weekly Comp it is one of the only sources for early presidential messages.
Presidential & Public Papers of the President
Note
Previous to Herbert Hoover's administration, presidential papers were commercially published.
Print Sources
GS 4.113: - 1929-1933, 1945-1983 ; AE 2.114: - 1984 to present
Alderman Library, New Stacks, 3rd floor
Note: The Weekly Comp is cumulated into the Public Papers of the Presidents. However, there are sometimes materials in the Weekly Comp which do not appear in the Public Papers. There is a cumulative index to each president's papers. Roosevelt has not been done.
Electronic Sources - see following links:
Previous to Herbert Hoover's administration, presidential papers were commercially published.
Print Sources
GS 4.113: - 1929-1933, 1945-1983 ; AE 2.114: - 1984 to present
Alderman Library, New Stacks, 3rd floor
Note: The Weekly Comp is cumulated into the Public Papers of the Presidents. However, there are sometimes materials in the Weekly Comp which do not appear in the Public Papers. There is a cumulative index to each president's papers. Roosevelt has not been done.
Electronic Sources - see following links:
- 1992 to present available via GPOAccess
- Presidential Papers from the American Memory ProjectThe LC American Memory project has many presidential papers available, including Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, George Washington, and Abraham Lincoln. These vary considerably in scope and coverage.
- Presidential Papers from Evergreen State CollegeProvides useful links to archives of presidential papers not yet digitized, as well as to digitized collections.
- Public Papers of the PresidentFrom the American Presidency Project from the University of California, Santa Barbara.
- See also list of U.S. Presidential Papers in Microfilm at UVA Library
Presidential Orders, Proclamations & Directives
Print Sources
AE 2.166/3: (earlier GS 4.2108/6:) - current edition in GIR Reading Room, Alderman 3rd floor
1971-present in microfiche, Alderman 3 East
Law Library has all editions of CFR.
Note: Title 3 of the CFR contains presidential executive orders and proclamations.
1789-1983 in Alderman 3 East (near LexisNexis (CIS) Serial Set microfiche)
See also CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamations
This set of fiche, together with the index, reproduces and indexes all presidential executive orders and proclamations back to Washington. Best place to begin that sort of presidential research.
Electronic Sources
- Archive (Presidential Directives on National Security)These are usually related to national security and may not be easily available. From George Washington University, NSA Archive. See useful guide to this sort of material from Library of Congress, Presidential Directives & Where to Find Them .
- Code of Federal RegulationsCurrent issues of the CFR from GPO Access. Title 3 of the CFR contains presidential executive orders and proclamations.
- Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive OrdersFrom National Archives/ Federal Register. Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders is available electronically from April 13, 1945 - January 20, 1989.
- Presidential Directives and Executive OrdersTruman-Obama. From the Federation of American Scientists.
Presidential Speeches
- Miller Center for Public Affairs Presidential Speech ArchiveAn excellent resource for Presidential materials. Texts and audio files of presidential speeches from Lincoln to Clinton may be found there. See also their Multimedia Archive for recordings, oral histories and other documents.
Subject Guide |
sep.jpg)
Loading...
