A
- ACLS Humanities E-BookLarge collection of e-books. Topics include history, archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- African AmericansSome works by and about African Americans from the UVA Library's collections. Most are now also avaialble through Virgo.
- American Film Scripts Online: AFSOFull text scripts of major American films from the silent era on.
- ARTFLA full text database containing a large number of French literary works and Diderot's Encyclopédie. Although all text can be searched, many works can be displayed only a few pages at a time.
- Asian American DramaSearchable full text of over 250 plays, many of them otherwise unpublished. Also playbills and other production information.
B
- The Bible in English 1530-1976Twenty-one versions of the Bible. In addition to the thirteen complete Bibles, there are five New Testaments, two versions of the Gospels, and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah.
- Black Drama - 1850-presentSearchable full text of over 1200 plays by African American dramatists. Also includes playbills and other production information.
- British History Online - 1066-presentDigital versions of primary & secondary sources for the history of the British Isles: parliamentary journals, tax records, church documents, calendars and indexes, directories, Ordnance Survey maps, & volumes in the Victoria County History.
C
- Cambridge Companions Complete CollectionEach of the several hundred Cambridge Companions is a collection of introductory essays on aspects of a writer, artist, philosopher, religious thinher, cultural topic or period.
- CHANT: CHinese ANcient TextsProvides full text of works from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Chinese traditional IME is required for input.
- China Data OnlineIncludes yearly macro-economic statistics; monthly macro-economic statistics; monthly economic reports; city statistics; county statistics; industrial statistics and various statistical yearbooks.
- Chinese Text InitiativeA project of the UVa Library's Electronic Text Center to make literary texts available.
- Civil Rights Litigation ClearinghouseDocuments and information about civil rights cases in the United States. Topics include child welfare, school desegregation, election/voting rights, immigration, police profiling, conditions in public housing, jails prisons, mental health facilities.
- Complete Corpus of Old EnglishOver 3,000 different texts in Old English.
- CRCnetBaseSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
D
- Digital National Security Archive - 1985-presentOver 35,000 declassified documents used in foreign policy decision-making by the U.S. government. Includes some photographs. These documents have been gathered since 1985 through the use of the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive.
- Dissertations & Theses: Full TextFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
- Documenta Catholica OmniaDocuments, mostly in Latin, from the history of the Catholic Church. This growing collection includes the writings of the popes, documents from church councils, and Migne's Patrologia Graeca and Patrologia Latina.
- Documenting the American SouthPrimary sources that document the cultural history of the American South from the Southern point of view. Includes diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles about slavery, and regional literature. Emphasis is on the 19th century.
E
- Early American Fiction 1789–1875875 novels and short stories by Alcott, Melville, Stowe, Twain and others. Use LiON to search with other texts.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800Searchable full text with page images of books published in 17th- and 18th-century America.Browsable by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language. See also Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819Searchable full text with page images of books published in early 19th-century America. The collection can also be browsed by genre, subject, author, printer, place of publication, and language.
- Early English Books Online: EEBO - 1475-1700Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects. See also Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- Early English Prose Fiction - 1500-1700Over 200 complete prose novels and stories from the period 1500 to 1700, by writers from the British Isles. Also searchable with other texts in LION.
- eBook Collection (Ebscohost)Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- ebraryOver 70,000 recent e-books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. Create an account to add notes to books, keep a handy "bookshelf", and download books to ebook readers.
- ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online - 1701-1800Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online 1475-1700Every significant work published in English from 1475 to 1700. Searchable text and page images of books, pamphlets, prayer books, proclamations, almanacs, calendars,etc. in all subjects. See also Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.
- eHRAF WorldCulturesA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
- Eighteeenth Century Collection Online: ECCO - 1701-1800Searchable full text and page images for books, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, etc in any language from the British Isles and North America, and in English from the rest of the world. See also Early American Imprints.
- Eighteenth-Century Fiction - 1700-178077 works by British novelists. Use LiON to search with other texts. Also see ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collection Online.
- Electronic Text Center - UVA LibraryMost of the holdings of the former E-Text Center are now findable in VIRGO.
- EngNetBaseHandbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- English PoetryPoems in English by writers from the British Isles and by poets from Australia, New Zealand, and America. Use LiON to search with other texts.
- English Drama3900 plays, masques, and entertainments in prose and verse from the Middle Ages to ca. 1900. Works originally written in English plus adaptations and translations. Use LiON to search with other texts.
F
- Faber Poetry Library140 works by 20th century British poets. Part of LiON Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
G
- Google Book SearchSearch the books, magazines, and journals Google has scanned from libraries and publishers.Choose "About this book" for abstract, table of contents, and books and articles related to the book.
H
- HeritageQuestA collection of family and local histories and genealogy and local history periodicals from the US and Canada, and of US census data.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryDatabase provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.
- Human Relations Area Files: eHRAFA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Now called eHRAF World Cultures.
- ACLS Humanities E-BookE-books on topics such as many aspects of history and archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
J
- Japanese Text InitiativeA project of UVa Library's Electronic Text Center to bring works of classical Japanese literature to the Web.
- Thomas JeffersonGuide to the University of Virginia's collections related to Thomas Jefferson, with additional links to texts and information resources about Jefferson.
K
- Knovel LibraryHandbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
L
- Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) DigitalSources for legal history: federal & state court reports, U.S. Statutes at Large, federal administrative decisions, the English Reports and other foreign and international sources and treatises, plus British Empire, military law and Native Americans.
- LIBRO, The Library of Iberian Resources OnlineIncludes several dozen works on the history of peninsular Spain from the 5th to the 17th centuries. Most are twentieth century publications from US and UK university presses.
- Literature Online - LiONThe "Criticism and Reference" search includes ABELL and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LiON also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.
- Literature Resource CenterMLA Bibliography and The Dictionary of Literary Biography and other biographical and critical works about authors, plus journal articles and book chapters on literary works and topics. Primarily literature in English, but also much on world literatature.
- LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium) DigitalSources for legal history: federal & state court reports, U.S. Statutes at Large, federal administrative decisions, the English Reports and other foreign and international sources and treatises, plus British Empire, military law and Native Americans.
M
- Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises 1800-1926Searchable full text of casebooks, manuals, pamphlets, letters, speeches, etc. showing the development of US and British law in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Math Book Collection (Cornell) - 1990-presentA collection of 571 classic 19th and early 20th century mathematical works.
- MD ConsultIncludes an extensive collection of more than 35 leading medical books, 48 clinical journals, drug information, over 600 practice guidelines, 2,500 patient handouts, and more.
- Modern English Collection - 1500-presentFiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. From the UVA Library's E-Text Center.
N
- netLibrary (now eBook Collection - EbscoHost)Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- Nineteenth Century FictionSelected works by authors from the British Isles. Part of LiON.
- North American Theatre OnlineReference work of US and Canadian theatre, with information and pictures for plays and productions; theatres; actors, playwrights, and other people from the Colonial period to the present.
- North American Women's Letters and DiariesSearchable full text database of American and Canadian women's letters and diaries written from the Colonial period through 1950.
O
- ODS: United Nations Official Documents System - 1992-presentFull text of all UN parliamentary documents, including resolutions and decisions, issued at UN Headquarters in New York and the UN Office at Geneva since 1992 and of many older documents. For older titles not yet in ODS, use AccessUN,
- OECD iLibrary - 1998-presentFull text (in PDF format) of all books, reports, periodicals, and statistical databases published by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- Old English CorpusThe Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.
- On-Line Books (UPennsylvania)Includes more than 35,000 free English works in various formats. The archive can be searched and browsed.
- Oxford Reference OnlineA large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Scholarship OnlineRecent books published by Oxford University Press. Individual titles are listed in Virgo. The Library has these browsable subject collections: Economics and Finance, History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion .
P
- Past MastersFull-text e-books of classic works in philosophy, religion, and literature.
- Patrologia Latina DatabaseThe Latin works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to 1216 as published in the first edition of Migne's Patrologia Latina. See Documenta Catholica Omnia for another version and the Patrologia Graeca.
- Perseus Digital LibrarySelected Greek and Latin texts with related criticism and reference works and a collection of images.
R
- Referex EngineeringLarge collection of e-books from Elsevier and some other publishers. Search for keywords or for particular books or browse subject lists. Includes titles on materials, mechanical, electronic, electrical, chemical, petrochemical, and process engineering.
S
- Safari Books OnlineBooks on all aspects of computers, programming and the Web from such publishers as O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe.
- Shakespeare - Editions and Adaptations of ShakespeareIncluding The Shakespeare First Folio and various other editions and adaptations of Shakespeare; includes 2,272 color digital facsimiles.
- Si ku quan shu (Wen yuan ge edition)- 四庫全書Compiled 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, the collection contains 3,460 Chinese works in 36,000 volumes, including history, astronomy, geography, politics, economics, and more. Fully-searchable full-text. Login ID: siku@uva
T
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeThis full-text database of more than 80 million words contains virtually all surviving Greek texts from the time of Homer to the fall of Byzantium.
- (Twain) Mark Twain in His TimesThis interpretive archive located at the University of Virginia focuses on how Mark Twain and his works were created and defined, marketed and performed, reviewed and appreciated.
- Twayne Author SeriesFull text of ca. 600 books on the lives and works of U.S. and international authors. Recommended books and articles.
- Twentieth Century African American PoetryOver 9,000 poems by 62 prominent poets. See also African American Poetry, 1760-1900 and Twentieth-Century American Poetry. All are also searchable with other texts in LiON.
- Twentieth-Century American PoetryIncludes the works of most major poets from 1919 to the end of the century. See also Twentieth Century African American Poetry and American Poetry Database, pre-1900. All are also searchable with other texts in LiON.
- Twentieth-Century English PoetrySelected books by poets writing in English along with some translations. Part of LiON.
U
- United Nations Index: AccessUN - 1952-presentIndexes the UN documents and publications on microfiche in Alderman's Government Information Resources. Has full-text of some documents. Documents after 1992 and some older titles are online at the United Nations Official Documents System (ODS).
- United Nations Official Documents System: ODS - 1992-presentFull text of all UN parliamentary documents, including resolutions and decisions, issued at UN Headquarters in New York and UN Office at Geneva since 1992, and of many older documents. For older titles not yet in ODS, use AccessUN.
W
- Women WritersWorks from the seventeenth to twentieth centuries at the UVA Library's E-Text Center.
- Women Writers Online (Brown)Writing by women from the Renaissance through the first half of the 19th century.
Loading...
