Admin Sign In 

Health Resources From the Government  Tags: health government  

Last update: Oct 13th, 2008 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/govthealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Health Resources - U.S.

Be sure to also check the demographic and mapping resources available from the Scholars' Lab

Federal Resources

Department of Health & Human Services - US health information. The Reference Collections contain many databases and full text resources.

American Fact Finder - Provides online access to summary data from several programs at the U.S. Census Bureau. See American Factfinder Basics from GeoStat.

Atlas of Cancer Mortality in the United States - Provides interactive maps, graphs, text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for the time period 1950-1994 for more than 40 cancers.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System - The BRFSS, the worldâs largest telephone survey, tracks health risks in the United States. Information from the survey is used to improve the health of the American people.

Census 2000 Home Page - Starting point for accessing data and information from the 2000 Census collected in April 2000.

FedStats - A Web gateway with links to the statistics of over seventy federal agencies including such health-related agencies as the National Center for Health Statistics and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

FirstGov for Seniors Health Page - Access to official government health information and web sites especially geared to the interests and needs of older citizens. 

Grants & Funding - lists grants available from the Department of Health Human Services and selected other Federal grant programs.   
See also the general listing of U.S. government grants in the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance at http://www.gsa.gov/fdac/   Print version of CFDA in Government Information Reading Room, Post 10.

LexisNexis Congressional - Indexes Congressional materials, including health and health care policy hearings, reports and documents.

Databases for articles and consumer information

Healthfinder - The Department of Health and Human Services' consumer health information site. 

MEDLINE/PubMed - Search the public version of the National Library of Medicine's MEDLINE databases and get other health related information. 

MEDLINE plus Health Information -  Find informaiton on hundreds of diseases, conditions, and medical issues. Use medical dictionaries and encyclopedias and locate doctors and hospitals. 

MMWR Weekly Report - Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. Also included are reports on topics of international interest and notices of events of interest to the public health community. Print editions in Government Information, Alderman Library Third floor new stacks, under call no: HE 20.7009/2-2:48

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Publications / Products - Lists the Center's publications available online. See especially Chronic Disease Notes & Reports (CDNR) and Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System

National Women's Health Information Center is the Department of Health and Human Services' one-stop gateway for women seeking health information. NWHIC is a free information and resource service on women's health issues designed for the health care professionals, researchers, educators, and students.

 

Contact Information

Profile ImageBarbie Selby
Contact Info:
Alderman Library
Room 511
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email

Subjects:
Government Information, Sociology

Tips

More Information

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait