- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches and other primary source documents.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
- Crime Resources - U.Va. Guide
Resources & statistics on crime, victims of crime, etc.
- General Social Survey
"The GSS is widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends."
- Google Scholar
Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others.
- JStor - Journal Storage Project
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) Full Text which has more article
- PAIS International - 1915 to present
International database covering public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, and reports from organizations and abstracts from 1985. Newer book entries include tables of contents. Use this link to search on
- Polling the Nations
Text of and responses to over 35,000 survey questions from over 14,000 polls taken in the US and 80 other countries since 1986.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. These journals with links to JSTOR and through Find@UVa to other collections are also indexed in Periodicals Index Online. PAO was f
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) - 1665 to present
Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at
- PsychINFO - 1887 to present
Covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education.
- Psychology - A Sage Full Text Collection
Searchable full text of 30 psychology journals published by Sage and some associated societies.
- Social Explorer
Interactive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1940 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980.
- Sociological Abstracts - 1963 to present
Sociology and related fields. All languages. 2600 scholarly journals. Includes book, book chapter, and conference paper abstracts and book reviews. Updated quarterly.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN facilitates rapid distribution of research and working papers. Excellent place to look for new and current research.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science - 1981 to present
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately. Lists articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, 1,700 social sciences journals, and 1,100
- Women and Social Movements
A large collection of primary sources, journal articles, and other instructional materials for the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
- Women's Studies International - 1972-present
Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
- Women's Studies Resources - U.Va.
Guide to U.Va. resources on Women's and Gender Studies, including newspapers, journals, microfilm collections, and primary sources.
Well worth checking for our large holdings of sociological books and journals. Indexes journal articles as well, but you can search more specifically in many of our journal databases listed above.