Subject Guides

Admin Sign In 

South Asia Studies  Tags: asian india pakistan bangladesh nepal sri_lanka pradesh delhi dsal journals bibliography asian_studies south_asia  

Resources for research on South Asia, India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka
Last update: Feb 26, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/southasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  

Tips

      

    Departmental link

     

        
       

      Best Database Choices for South Asia Studies

      South Asia Studies Databases

      • ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials  
          
        Lists articles on all aspects of religious studies from journals in many disciplines. Includes citations to book chapters and to book reviews. ATLASerials adds the full text of many journals.
      • Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971-present  
          
        Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
      • Digital South Asia Library  
          
        South Asia reference resources, images, maps, statistics, etc. from University of Chicago.
      • Dissertations & Theses: Full Text 1861-present  
          
        Full text (PDF) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on, some earlier works and some master's theses. Also lists dissertations and theses accepted from 1861 on in the US and at some Canadian, British, and other European universities.
      • Encyclopaedia of Islam  
          
        Comprehensive encyclopedia of Islamic religion and of the culture and history of the Islamic regions. Click on "Login" to enter. Requires special fonts that can be downloaded from the site.
      • Historical Abstracts 1954-present  
          
        Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, covering articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. For articles about the US or Canada, see the database, America: History and Life.
      • Index Islamicus  
          
        Search for books and articles in periodicals about Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews.
      • JSTOR Journal Storage Project  
          
        Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
      • LexisNexis Academic  
          
        News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
      • Periodicals Index Online: PIO 1665-present  
          
        Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published 1770-1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.
      • Web of Knowledege / Web of Science 1981-present  
          
        Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately. Frequent updates make it a good source for very recent information.
      • WorldCat  
          
        Online catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).
       

      Subject Guides

      Profile ImagePhilip McEldowney
      Contact Info:
      Alderman Library 2nd Floor
      University of Virginia
      434-924-4987
      Send Email

      Subjects:
      Anthropology, Religious Studies, History, Tibetan Studies, South Asian Studies, Middle East Studies, Urdu, Hindi, Arabic, and Persian

       
      Description

        Loading content... please wait