Librarian Info
Erich Purpur
Contact:
Clark Hall
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
Brown Science & Engineering Library
Office - I046
ep9k@virginia.edu
434 924 1557
Core Databases for Systems Engineering
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowCombines the databases Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) This link opens in a new windowA large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFind articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- Engineering Research Database This link opens in a new windowPart of Materials Science & Engineering Collection. Covers research in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, forensic and transportation engineering, engineering services, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, design and construction.
- ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCitations and full-text of articles from ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings relating to the computing industry.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Engineering Index. This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on all technological and engineering aspects of air, water and soil quality, environmental safety, sustainability and energy production.
- Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new windowPart of Environmental Science Index. Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.
- Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of journals and ebooks published by Springer and its subsidiaries such as Physica and Birkhäuser in chemistry, geosciences, computer science, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, law, and economics.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
- National Transportation LibraryThe National Transportation Library (NTL) is a repository of U.S. DOT transportation information, serves as a portal transportation data, and provides library services to U.S. DOT employees. NTL’s mission is to maintain and facilitate access to statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels and to coordinate with public and private transportation libraries and information providers to improve information sharing among the transportation community.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research