APIs for Scholarly Research

Adam Matthew permits access to content licensed for the purposes of non-commercial text and data mining. Primary text mining is available through Adam Matthew's API, which includes full text but not images. Permission must be obtained.

Coherent Digital and Accessible Archives allows for data mining. Individuals must obtain permission.

Edinburgh University Press allows for text and data mining by authorized users via the web crawlers of subscribing Institutions for non-commercial use only. Authorized users include current members of the faculty, staff, and individuals enrolled at a subscribing institution, who are permitted to access the institution's secure network.
Email lib-ejournals@virginia.edu for more information.

APIs (Application Programming Interface) are tools that allow for computer-to-computer interaction. Elsevier Research Products APIs help researchers integrate Elsevier data into their work. Elsevier has APIs available for many products, including ScienceDirect, Scopus, Engineering Village, and Embase.

Can be used to retrieve content (page images, OCR, and in some cases whole volume packages), and metadata for HathiTrust Digital Library volumes.

IEEE Xplore® APIs provide access to metadata for more than 6 million documents available in the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library, including IEEE Journals, Conferences, Books, Courses, and Standards.
IEEE Xplore Metadata APIs can be used for: Content indexing / discovery services and Text and data mining (TDM).

Advance approval of T&DM is needed. Data for T&DM will be supplied via SFTP. Email lib-ejournals@virginia.edu for assistance.

Not a true API, but allows computational analysis and selection of JSTOR’s scholarly journal and primary resource collections. It includes tools for faceted searching and filtering, text analysis, topic modelling, data extraction, and visualization.

The New York Times API allows you to programmatically access New York Times data for use in your own applications (as long as it's for non-commercial purposes). NYT currently has ten public APIs: Archive, Article Search, Books, Community, Geographic, Most Popular, Semantic, Times Newswire, TimesTags, and Top Stories.

The OECD has application programming interfaces (APIs) that provide access to datasets in the catalogue of OECD databases. The APIs allow you to query the data in several ways, using parameters to specify your request so that you can create innovative software applications which use OECD datasets.
The APIs are available in JSON and XML formats.

The data in Overton is available in a machine readable format using our REST API, which sits in-between the database and the web application. Users must sign up for a free account.
API access is enabled by Overton- email lib-ejournals@virginia.edu to request access.

Non-commercial TDM rights are permitted to subscribed content.

Robust set of APIs for metadata, images and articles from this scientific publisher of books and journals.

Allows non-commercial text and data mining. Taylor & Francis must be notified prior to text and data mining at support@tandfonline.com.

The REST API gives anyone free, programmatic access to the Unpaywall database.

The Web of Science API supports searching across the Web of Science to retrieve core item-level metadata. To get the full functionality of this API, you will need to submit for the Starter API key.

Wiley allows for text and data mining for non-commercial purposes. Email lib-ejournals@viginia.edu for TDM access.

BioMed Central has a RESTful API for retrieving open access content published by BMC. Resources are represented in JSON and Prism Aggregate (PAM) formats.

A separate API and access to bulk OCR downloads are available for the 18+ million pages of digitized historical newspapers available in the Chronicling America database.

To spur innovative applications, ERIC has developed this API to support the integration of ERIC search capabilities into external systems.

The digital collections available through LOC.gov may also be queried, or searched, using the Library of Congress Application Programming Interface (API). This allows users to download collection content files and structured data (JSON/YAML) about collections. The API allows users to search all records indexed in LOC.gov.

The National Library of Medicine offers several APIs.

ORCID offers a public API that allows organizations that are not ORCID members to connect their systems and applications to the ORCID registry with machine-to-machine communications. The API is a restful API and supports both XML and JSON.

NCBI provides several public APIs that allow programmatic access to many databases and tools.

The World Digital Library, sponsored in part by the Library of Congress, archives digitized images of historical materials, both texts and images, from across the globe. Metadata is available as a bulk download; full text will require permission from the Library of Congress. Data delivered in CSV, JSON, or XML format.