Background Research
See also UVA Library online reference resources (including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources...)
Selected Guides and Bibliographies
Selected Guides and Bibliographies
-
Feminist Research Methods: an Annotated Bibliography, Z 7963 .F44 M54 1991, Alderman Reference
-
United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990 : a comprehensive bibliography (2v), Z 7964 .U49 H85 1993, Alderman Reference
-
The Women's Movement: References and Resources, Z7963 .S9 R93 1996, Alderman Reference
-
Women in Global Migration, 1945-2000: a Comprehensive Multidisciplinary Bibliography
Z7164 .I3 H62 2001, Alderman Reference -
Women in the United States Military, 1901-1995 : a Research Guide and Annotated Bibliography
UB418 .W65 F75 1996, Alderman Reference -
Women's Studies : a Recommended Bibliography, Z7963 .F44 K75 2004, Alderman Reference
Seelcted Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family (2v), HQ 9 .E52, Alderman Reference
-
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender (4v), HQ16 .E52 2007, Alderman Reference
-
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics
HQ1236.5 .U6 E52 2008, Alderman Stacks -
International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage, JF851 .H28 2000, Alderman Reference
-
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women : Global Women's Issues and Knowledge,
(4v), HQ1115 .R69 2000, Alderman Reference -
Women in the Middle Ages : an Encyclopedia HQ1143 .W643 2004, Alderman Reference
-
Women during the Civil War : an Encyclopedia, E628 .H37 2004, Alderman Reference
Note: Alderman Library has many other resources for background research: special subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc. Sample Advanced VIRGO search terms that will find them:
subject = women (or feminism) encyclopedias
subject = marriage handbook
Women's Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait