This is the "U.S. Government Publications" page of the "World War I Research - Primary Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War I Research - Primary Resources  

Last Updated: Jan 3, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/wwi Print Guide RSS Updates

U.S. Government Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Resources

  • Foreign Relations of the U.S.
    FRUS comprises secret and confidential communications of the US government and US diplomats which are only released after a period of about 25 years. Selected volumes of FRUS (1861-1958/1960) have been digitized by the University of Wisconsin.
    Print volumes in 3New Stacks - S 1.1:year/volume.
  • American Memory - Military
    WWI collections include newspapers, recordings, and rotogravures.
  • National Archives
    The National Archives of the U.S. stores and makes available for research the files of government agencies.
  • Army of 1,000,000 Online Exhibit
    100th anniversary of U.Va. as a federal depository library featuring WWI posters and U.S. government documents.
 

U.S. Government Documents

U.Va. has primary resources on WWI in its Government Information and Microforms collections, as well as in the Small Special Collections Library.  Most of the U.S. government publications from the WWI time period are NOT in VIRGO.  The resources below will be useful for WWI research.  Remember to consult the Government Information staff for help in finding older documents.

General Indexes

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents -- GIR Reading Room, Behind 3rd Floor Service Desk
Covers 1789 to 1976. Lists documents by title and gives SuDoc number.

Monthly Catalog  - GP - Behind the 3rd floor Service Desk
Indexes U.S. Government publications.  Annual.  SuDocs Call number given in lower right corner of entry.

Subject Index to Monthly Catalog - Shelved behind the 3rd floor Service Desk.
Gives year and either page or entry number of Monthly Catalog entry for a title:   (34) 1133  = 1934 Montly Catalog on page 1133.  The Monthly Catalog entry will then give the SuDocs call number.

Proquest (LexisNexis) Congressional  
While primarily covering Congressional publications this full text resource contains many earlu 20th century agency publications, such as annual reports and the Foreign Relations of the United States (S 1.1:)  volumes. UVA owns many of these materials in paper and in the LexisNexis microfiche collection. A search for "Germany and debt" for the years 1910-1930 produces 11 results.  See the guide on congressional materials owned by Alderman and the Law Library for more information.

 

Very Selected Bibliography

“An Army of 100,000,000:” Celebrating 100 Years of Government Information at U.Va.

Bibliography

View the online exhibit

Posters

A. A. P. Your War Savings Pledge. : Our Boys Make Good Their Pledge. : Are You Keeping Yours? : W.S.S., War Savings Stamps Issued by the United States Government. [Washington, D.C.]: Government Printing Office, 1917-1918. (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

Beckman, Rienecke. Get Behind Our Soldiers, Sailors and Our Allies: Send Them the Most Food Possible In the Least Shipping Space. : Do it by Eating Less Wheat, Pork, Fats and Sugar. [New York]: United States Food Administration, 1917. (Small Special Collections Poster 1917 .U5 no.109)

Cut wood, Burn wood, Save coal.  Wood Division, United States Fuel Administration for Virginia, [1917?]. (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

 Emerson, Casper.  Help them keep your war savings pledge.  [United States] : Issued by U.S. Treasury Dept., American Lithographic Co.) [1918?]  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

Flagg, James Montgomery.  Boys and girls! you can help your Uncle Sam win the war : save your quarters: buy War Savings Stamps.  [United States : W.S.S.?, American Lithographic Co.). [1918?]  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

 

Flagg, James Montgomery.   Sow the seeds of victory!   [United States] : National War Garden Commission,  1918.  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)


 Fats Are Fuel for Fighters: Bake, Boil, and Broil More, Fry Less.
[New York]: United States Food Administration, 1917.  (Small Special Collections Poster 1917 .U5 No. 105)

I"Good bye, Dad, I'm off to fight for Old Glory. You buy U.S. gov't bonds" Third Liberty Loan.  Lawrence Harris ; Sackett & Wilhelms Corp. N.Y.  [1917]  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)


Help Your Boy At the Front: Use Less Wheat and Meat. : Send More to Him.
[New York]: United States Food Administration, 1917.  (Small Special Collections Poster 1917 .U5 no.102)

Porteous, R H.  Women! Help America's sons win the war.  Chicago: Edwards and Deutsch Litho. Co.  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

Sheridan, John E. Rivets are Bayonets. Drive them Home!  [1917?]   (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)


Treidler, Adolph. Eat More Cornmeal, Rye Flour, Oatmeal and Barley: Save the Wheat for the Fighters. [New York]: United States Food Administration, 1917.  (Small Special Collections Poster 1917 .U5 no.103)

Treidler, Adolph. The ships are coming you can help send this good news to our boys "over there."  Philadelphia: Issued by the Publications Section, Emergency Fleet Corp., Thomsen-Ellis Co.  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

 United States. Council of National Defense.   Women Carry your own packages.  [1918?]  (Small Special Collections Mss 5023)

 

Agriculture Department

Inexpensive Ways of Keeping Food Cool. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1919.  (A 1.29:no.14)

Take Care of Your Clothing. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1919.  (A 1.29:no.7)

Teaching Thrift to Your Children. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1919.  (A 1.29:no.19)

Thrift Standards for Boys and Girls. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1919.  (A 1.29:no.20)

Committeee on Public Information

Paxson, Frederic L, et al. War Cyclopedia: a Handbook for Ready Reference On the Great War. [1st edition]. Washington, D.C.: Govt. Print. Off., 1918.  (Y 3.P 96/3:6 W 19/11)

Treasury Department

Fifteen Lessons In Thrift. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Treasury Dept., 1919. (T 1.27/32:T 41/5)

Outline Suggested for Teaching Thrift In Elementary Schools. [Washington]: Govt. print. off., 1919.
(
T 1.27/32:T 41/7)

The Second Liberty Loan of 1917 : a Source Book. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1917. 
(T 1.25/2:So 8)

Speak Unto the People That They Go Forward : a Leaflet On Thrift for Ministers. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of the Treasury, 1919.  (T 1.27: M 66)

GPO Publications

Annual Report of the Superintendent of Documents. Washington: G.P.O., 1918. (GP 3.1: 1918)

Annual Report of the Public Printer ... Washington, D.C.: G.P.O., 1918.  (GP 1.1:1918)

Annual Report of the Public Printer ... Washington, D.C.: G.P.O., 1917.  (GP 1.1:1917)

Depository Invoice. Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., Office of the Supt. of Docs., 1910-1920.  (GP 3.16:1910-1920)

Food Administration

War Economy In Food: with Suggestions and Recipes for Substitutions In the Planning of Meals. Washington: Govt. print. off., 1918.  (Y 3. F 73/2:C 77)

War Department Manuals

Allen, James, and Tasker H Bliss. Manual of Visual Signaling of the U.s. Signal Corps. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1910.  (W 42.22/2:no.6)

The Army Horseshoer, 1912: A Manual Prepared for the Use of Students of the Training School for Farriers and Horseshoers. Washington: Govt. print. off., 1912.  (W 30.2:AR 5/3)

Drill Regulations for Cavalry, United States Army : Amended 1909, Corrected to January 1, 1911. Washington, D.C.: The Dept. , 1911.  (W 2.6:C 31/1)

Field Service Regulations, United States Army: 1910. Washington: Govt. Print. Off., 1910.  (W 2.6:F 45/3)

Field Service Regulations, United States Army, 1914 : Corrected to July 1, 1914. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1914. (W 2.6:F 45/6)

Harbor Boat Service Regulations: 1917. Washington: U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1917.  (W 77.10:H 21)

Infantry Drill Regulations, United States Army, 1911 : Corrected to April 15, 1917 (changes Nos. 1-19). Washington, D.C.: The Dept. , 1917.  (W 2.6/1:In 3/17)

Instructions Governing Shore-tug Signaling During Coast Artillery Drill and Target Practice. Washington: Govt. Print. Off., 1913.  (W 2.6/1:Sh 7)

Leach, Smith S. Engineer Field Manual. 3rd rev. ed. Washington [D.C.]: G.P.O., 1909.  (W 7.10:no.29)

Manual for Army Bakers, 1916. Washington: Govt. Print. Off., 1917.  (W 77.15:B 17)

Manual for Army Cooks, 1916. New York: Military Pub. Co., 1916.  (W 77.15:C 67)

A Manual for Courts-martial, Courts of Inquiry, and Retiring Boards, and of Other Procedure Under Military Law. Rev. Washington, D.C.: Govt. Print. Off., 1910.  (W 10.5:914)

Manual for Noncommissioned Officers and Privates of Infantry of the Organized Militia and Volunteers of the United States. Washington: Govt. Print. Off., 1914.  (W 70.8:In 3/2)

Manual of Physical Training for Use In the United States Army. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1914.  (W 2.6/1:P 56)

Military Map Reading. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1915.  (W 70.8:M 64/2)

Ould, Richard Sheldon. The Principles Underlying Radio Communication. (2d ed.) ... Washington: Govt. Print. Off., 1922.  (W 42.30:no.40)

United States Army Transport Service Regulations, 1914. Washington, D.C.: The Dept. , 1914.  (W 77.10:T 68)

Westervelt, William Irving. Gunnery and Explosives for Field Artillery Officers. Washington, D.C.: The Dept. , 1911.  (W 2.6:G 95)

Contact Information

Profile Image
Barbie Selby
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Alderman Library
Reference Room, 4th floor
University of Virginia
434-982-2677
Send Email
 

UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip