This is the "Congressional Publications at U.Va. Libraries" page of the "Congressional Publications at Alderman and Law Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Congressional Publications at Alderman and Law Libraries  

Overview of Congressional Publications available in all formats at UVA Library.
Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/congresspubaldlaw Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Congressional Publications at U.Va. Libraries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Congressional Publications at U.Va. Libraries

See also guides to U.S. Laws and BillsLegislative Information from Yale, and the GODORT Congressional links.

Use this guide to find Congressional materials either online, in print, or in microfiche in both Alderman and Law libraries.  VIRGO indexes most Congressional materials after 1976.  It links to a lot of full text documents as well.

Proquest Congressional - both pre and post 1976.
Indexes most Congressional publications.  
Full text available at U.Va in Proquest Congressional:

Serial Set (House & Senate documents & reports) - 1789-1969
Hearings - U.Va. has access to full text hearings online from Lexis Nexis from 1824-2003.  Post-2003 access includes selected hearings in non-PDF format. 
Congressional Record - 1873-1997
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports - 1916-present

The Sunlight Foundation has a number of projects designed to make Congressional and governmental action easier to get and analyse.  See their Open Congress for up-to-the-minute information from and about Congress, for example.

Publication

Law School

Alderman & Online
(Sometimes the online will be full text access, sometimes only indexing. 
VIRGO provides full text of many current Congressional publications.)

Bills - Y1.4/1-Y1.4/9

See UVA LibGuide on Bills & Laws and description of the legislative process, bill glossary, and key to legislative citations.

See also guide to Regulations Research








Microfiche: 1965 to present




Microfilm: 1789-1817
Senate Bills ( Micfilm S-1570) ; House Bills (Micfilm S-1571)
Ivy Annex 
Microfiche    3 East, Alderman
1979 to present 

Other Microfilm holdings - please note:
The Center for Research Libraries  (CRL) has microfilm for congressional bills and resolutions from the 1st through the 72nd Congress (1789-1933). This microfilm and other congressional materials on film) may be borrowed by UVA users through UVA Library Interlibrary Services. 

Print-  Y1.4/1-Y1.4/9, 3 new

Index only
(useful for historical bills)
See Congressional Record, History of Bills and Resolutions section for desired session -- arranged by bill number for debates, summaries, floor action, etc.
Electronic
Proquest Congressional: Bills & Resolutions - 1989-present
THOMAS – bill tracking, 1989-present
House Bills & Resolutions - 1799-1873
Senate Bills & Resolutions - 1819-1873

Legislative Histories
Guide to Legislative History Research from Georgetown Law  Library.  See also their guide to Presidential Signing Statements.

Guide from UCLA.

Microfiche
61st - 97th Cong. - selective

Paper
Cataloged separately in VIRGO – selective

Paper
Cataloged separately in VIRGO - selective
Electronic
Proquest Congressional -1969/1970-present

See also
 Electronic Sources for Federal Legislative History Documents from LLSDC

House & Senate Reports & Documents  (called the Serial Set when bound.) Read about Documents and Reports.

See the GPO Catalog of the Congressional Serial Set  for the Schedule of Serial Set volumes, lising which reports & documents constitute what SS volumes.

 Note: U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List (College of Wooster) lists agency publications contained within the Serial Set.

Microfiche
69th -91st Cong.
(v.8522 (1926)-v.12880 (1969))
(Serial Set microfiche)
91st: 2d sess (1970) to present
(LN/CIS microfiche)

Paper
Serial Set - Y 1.1/2:
1940s-1960s - selectively
1965-present

Microfiche  3 East, Alderman
1818-1925 (v.1-8521) - fiche of Serial Set (Proquest/LN/CIS fiche)
1978-present: microfiche, Y 1.1/3-Y 1.1/8

Print
Serial Set - Y 1.1/2:
1818-1925 (v.1-8521, w/ gaps) - Ivy Stacks
1926-1960 (v.8523-12304) - Alderman Room 317
1960-current (v.12305-) - on back and East side walls, under Y 1.1/2 (Alderman 3 Old)
Electronic
Proquest  Congressional  - Full text 1789-1969
THOMAS 104th Congress (1995/96 to present).

Senate Executive Documents & Reports

(These are treaty related or related to nominations for federal positions).

Some included in Serial Set after 1979

Some included in Serial Set after 1979
Microfiche
1817-1969

Electronic
Proquest Congressional - Full text from 1789-1969

American State Papers  - 1789-1816
(predecessor to the Serial Set)

Paper
 Z 3.1: - Documents Stacks

Microfiche  3East, Alderman
 Part of the LN  Serial Set fiche
Paper
Z -  Alderman 3 New
Electronic
Proquest Congressional
Library of Congress

Congressional Hearings
(published hearings)

See also Proquest guide to searching for Hearings

Note: Hearings provided in Proquest Congressional may lack
some documents.from the official  printed transcripts. For complete online versions of  recent hearings try the webpage of the relevant House or Senate committee or subcommittee.

Microfiche:
1947 - 1998 - LN/CIS fiche

Paper
1970 to present - Y 4

Microfiche   3 East, Alderman
1833-1946 - LN fiche
1978 to present - Y 4

Paper
1930 to present - Y 4 - 3 New Stacks
comprehensively since 1950 or so

Electronic
VIRGO Catalog
Proquest Congressional 
C-Span Video Library (selected hearings)

See also House and Senate Committee web sites for recent testimony and hearings. 

Unpublished House & Senate Hearings

 

Microfiche:   3East, Alderman
House - 1833-1936
Senate - 1823-1976

Electronic
Proquest  Congressional - online full text - 1823-2003

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Major Studies & Reports

Microfiche & Film:
1916 to present

Electronic
Proquest  Congressional
(2004-present)
See 
CRS guide for access to earlier dates.

Committee Prints
See useful information from GPO Access and Proquest

Microfiche:
1948-1969 - CIS Committee Prints fiche
1970 - 2002 - CIS fiche

Paper:
Selective  - Y 4

Microfiche  3East, Alderman
1911-1969
less comprehensive than Law's set

Paper:
Selective - Y 4
Electronic
Proquest  Congressional 
FDSys  (from 1997-present)

Journal of the Continental Congress, 1774-1789

Microfiche
LJ .C5 -

Paper
LC 4.5:
Electronic
Library of Congress

Congressional Debates
Annals of Congress
(1789-1824)
Register of Debates
(1924-1837)
Congressional Globe
(1833-1873)
Congressional Record
(1873-present)
Appendix (included in the CR Daily edition from 1957-1976)
About the Congressional Record from Thomas
"
What is the Congressional Record" white paper from Proquest.

See also this guide to voting from Bowdoin College Library.

Microfiche
1789 to present

Paper
1971 - present
LJ - LAW-FLOOR2 Documents Stacks

Microfiche & Microfilm
1789-1838 - Annals of Congress & Register of Debates  (3East, Alderman). 
Paper
1789 to present - X
Alderman 3 New

Bound Permanent Edition VIRGO Record for Alderman
Daily CR VIRGO record for Alderman - retained until bound volume received.

Microprint - Appendix (1957-1975)
Ivy Stacks - see
http://search.lib.virginia.edu/catalog/u1608910 also available via Proquest Congressional

Electronic - UVA only
Proquest Congressional (1873-1997)
HeinOnline (1789-current)

Electronic - free access
Thomas:
Indexing (1994-present); Text (1989-present)
FDSys: Indexing (1983-present);Text (1994-present) 
Library of Congress:
Annals; Register...; Congressional Globe

Capitol Wordsfrom the Sunlight Foundation is an interesting way to explore recent Congressional Records. 1995-

Publication

Law Library

Alderman Library

House Journal
 - the official record of the proceedings of the House. About Congressional Journals..... 

Paper
LJ - LAW-FLOOR2 Documents Stacks

Microfiche
1789-1847 - Z
(3East, Alderman). 
Paper
1789-1952 - Serial Set (see above)
1953-1991 - XJH

Electronic
Proquest Congressional 
FDSys search back to 1991
Library of Congress (1789-1875)

Senate Journal of Executive Proceedings

Paper
1789-1829, 1980-1996
LJ S - LAW-FLOOR2 Docs. Stacks

 

 See the Union List of Non-Depository materials held by Virginia depository libraries for holdings of other Virginia Libraries.


UVa Library     |     UVa Library MOBILE    |    Off Grounds Access     |     ITC Help Desk     |     Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip