Research Librarian for Architecture
Helpful Resources
NEW Resources & Info: |
|
Agricultural Census for 1850-1880 is available in Ancestry, but a bit tricky to get to. From the main page, hover over the "Search" option at the top, and select "Card Catalog." Search for "Census Non-Population Schedules" and click on the result. From there, you can either search by name OR browse the schedules by using the menu on the right to go to Virginia and Cumberland County.
|
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents and includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.
- Virginia ChronicleVirginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over a million newspaper pages.
- FamilySearch.comGenealogical database provided free by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Includes helpful guides and communities.
- Virginia Untold / Unknown No LongerA project to enhance access to records and manuscripts in the collections of the Library of Virginia that include names of African-Americans.
- Chancery Records IndexThe Chancery Records Index (CRI) is a result of archival processing and indexing projects overseen by the Library of Virginia (LVA) and funded, in part, by the Virginia Circuit Court Records Preservation Program (CCRP). Each of Virginia's circuit courts created chancery records that contain considerable historical and genealogical information.
- African-American Freedom in Antebellum Cumberland County, Virginia by KatzEllen D. Katz, African-American Freedom in Antebellum Cumberland County, Virginia - Freedom: Personal Liberty and Private Law, 70 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 927 (1995).
- FreeAmericans.comGenealogical site containing indexed and transcribed records related to free African-American families in the Southeast.
Tips and Guides
- Name VariationsA list of name variations found in the the Virginia Untold project.