Dance Portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the Dance library portal. The portal provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Amy Hunsaker
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Amy for help with your assignments! Meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Amy can help with: Locating videos, music, and dance literature, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, and citation management. Amy can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Search For Resources
- Interactive Virgo TutorialLearn how to optimize your search results in Virgo.
- Accessing E-ResourcesTools you can use to get instant access to an article or journal found on Virgo or the external web.
- Google ScholarFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Note that Google Scholar does not search all of the journals to which UVa has access.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowWorldCat Discovery helps people find and get resources from the UVA library and libraries worldwide
Technology and Media Support
- Robertson Media Center (RMC) WebsiteWhether you're exploring and creating in this reality or a virtual one, RMC's free and easily accessible equipment and audio, video, 3D printing and VR studios, skilled staff, and tutorials can help your digital projects shine!
Ask a Librarian
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Dance Performance on Video
These are the most useful databases for locating streaming dance videos available via the UVA Library.
- Bloomsbury Video Library This link opens in a new windowAccess to masterclasses, documentaries, and interviews. Artfilms streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers.
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowDance productions and documentaries covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance in the 20th century.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowPatrons using Google Chrome must have the newest version of the Chrome browser in order to continue watching content on Digital Theatre+. Video of live performances curated from over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars.
- NumeridanseNumeridanse is headed and coordinated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon, and offers access to butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.
- OntheboardsTV This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
- PBS Learning Media: DanceEncourages and explores the participation, analysis, appreciation, and history of Dance.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for Dance research.
- Dance Research at the Library of CongressThis guide helps users navigate the wide variety of resources related to dance at the Library.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowUS and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowLists articles from scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling and more. Some journals include full text.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
More Dance Resources
- Jacob's Pillow Dance InteractiveAn ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at the Jacob’s Pillow dance festival from the 1930s to today.
- Jerome Robbins Dance Division: Audio & Moving Image ArchiveFree access to video and audio recordings including the Jerome Robbins Archive, Mikhail Baryshnikov Archive, Dance Theater Workshop Video Archive, Victor Jessen Video Archive, National Dance Institute Archive, PS 122 Archive, Merce Cunningham Archive, and David Gordon Archive.
- Dance Heritage CoalitionDHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Search for dance-related collections through their portal, which centralizes finding aids available from institutions across the country.
- Dance Notation BureauThe Dance Notation Bureau records and archives dance using a symbol system called Labanotation. DNB has produced and houses scores by artists such as George Balanchine, Paul Taylor, Antony Tudor, Bill T. Jones, Doris Humphrey, William Forsythe, José Limón, Laura Dean, and about 270 others.
Locate Resources by Program
- DanceDiscover dance videos, images, and databases available at UVA.
- DramaExpansive guide exploring resources supporting Drama at UVA.
- English Language & LiteratureA guide to conducting research in English language and literature at UVA.
- MusicDetailed guide supporting all aspects of music at UVA.
- Newspaper GuideLooking for Reviews or Criticism? Visit the Newspaper guide to navigate millions of articles.
- Video & Media ResourcesGuide to help navigate the thousands of videos made available by the UVA Library.