Welcome to the EDIS 5410: Young Adult Literature library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your EHD librarian is Ashley Hosbach.
Each school at UVA is assigned a research librarian. Connect with Ashley for help with your assignments. This service is available to all EHD students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Ashley can help with: learning how to use the Library online, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your literature reviews, tracking down resources, and citation management. Ashley can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Virgo is the Library catalog, where you can find books from our children's and young adult collection. Located outside of Charlottesville? We can mail books straight to your home!
Our Children's and Young Adult Literature Collection contains award-winning books, a pandemic education collection, titles centered on Black history, Virginia SOLs, and an emphasis on EDI.
The Horn Book Magazine features commentary, articles, book reviews of selected new titles, and other information related to children’s and young adult literature.
School Library Journal (SLJ) is the premiere publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens.
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books provides concise summaries and critical evaluations to help you find the books you need for your library’s collection. Each review gives you information on book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of format, as well as suggestions for curricular use.
Education Week (EdWeek) is the top news source for K-12 educators across the country. Our subscription includes news, analysis, and opinion pieces.
The Virginia Association of School Librarians (VAASL) is the commonwealth's school librarianship organization. Their site includes blog articles, events, and guidelines.
Diverse BookFinder is a digital cataloging tool with a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). Their site includes news, blog articles, and a collection analysis tool.
The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) is a division of the American Library Association (ALA). Their site includes news, tools, guidelines, and recommended booklists.