Skip to main content

ENSP 3559: Plants and Empire

Mary Kuhn · Fall 2017

Overview

This guide contains links to resources that will help you create your digital plant exhibition.  If you have questions or need help, don't hesitate to get in touch!  

Omeka

Omeka is a simple, free, web publishing system built to enable scholars, archives, libraries, museums, and independent researchers to manage digital collections and create online exhibits of their work. 

Sources for researching your digital plant exhibition

Biodiversity Heritage Library is a massive online library of biodiversity literature.

The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium contains over 2 million digital images from the Steere Herbarium at the New York Botanical Gardens.

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. It includes images from several natural history collections, which contain some plant specimens.


British Periodicals includes hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, reproduced in high-resolution facsimile page images. The periodicals cover natural science as well as literature and the arts, philosophy, history, and social science.

19th Century UK Periodicals, Part 1 includes British periodicals on a range of subjects, with a particular focus on women's and children's publications.  There is a small amount of overlap with the British Periodicals database.

PAO: Periodicals Archive Online includes the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.

American Periodicals Series contains full text of over 1000 journals published in the US between 1740 and 1900.

19th Century British Library Newspapers includes searchable full text and page images of 48 national and regional British newspapers from the collections of the British Library.


HathiTrust includes millions of scanned books from academic libraries, including UVA. Features better bibliographic data and better treatment of multi-volume works than Google Books.

The Internet Archive is large repository of open resources across different types of media.  The American Libraries collection contains books scanned from research libraries, including some not found in Google or Hathi.

The MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) indexes the broadest range of resources about literature in all languages.    It is not a full-text resource, meaning that you can only search the description of an article, rather than the text of the article.  To get the full text of an article, click on “Find article @ UVa Libraries”, or look up the journal title in VIRGO.

Citing your sources

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
Chicago Manual of Style
Purdue OWL: Research and Citation Resources