Other Resources
- ZoteroFree, professional-level citation management software that keeps track of your sources and generates citations for you.
- How Do I...Tutorials on using UVA Library resources and doing research.
- How to Read Academic PapersThis 3-minute video introduces you to the techniques involved in reading scholarly literature.
Librarian
Virgo
Virgo is the UVA Library catalog. Use Virgo to search material the UVA Library owns, like books, films, and Special Collections manuscripts, as well as some of the articles we have access to.
General Databases
These databases search across many different subjects and fields, and can be a great place to start your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles and book chapters on a variety of topics. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years of any journal.
Reference Resources
Reference resources can provide good background information on a number of subjects.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.
- Sage Knowledge Books & Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowOnline reference books and articles on a variety of subjects.
Subject-Specific Databases
These are just a few of the many databases the UVA Library offers that contain material in a specific subject area - for example, biology or history. These resources generally contain academic sources, though ArtSTOR is mostly images of artworks.
Use Subject Guides in your areas of interest to identify additional databases as needed.
- Biological & Environmental SciencesSearches 8 other biological and environmentally focused databases.
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new windowGarden, Landscape & Horticulture Index provides access to articles about gardens and plants.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowLists books plus articles and essays from journals and books on literature, linguistics, and folklore. Before 1956 covered only scholarship published in North America.
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.