Welcome
Welcome to the Music library dashboard. The dashboard provides quick links to the resources you need to succeed in your course. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Your Librarian
Your Librarian is Amy Hunsaker
Each school/department at UVA is assigned a research librarian. 
Connect with Amy for help with your assignments. This service is available to all Music students, and meeting with a librarian early in your research process can help you save time and get a better grade.
Amy can help with: Locating music scores, brainstorming your research topic, developing your search strategy, capstone/thesis/dissertation planning, identifying relevant databases/journals for your research and literature reviews, and citation management. Amy can meet with you in-person or online via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
Search Virgo
Music Library tutorials
COMING SOON........
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, scientific papers, reports, and more. These are the most used databases for Music research.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new windowThis growing digital hub provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE hosts more than 800 journals and more than 90,000 books covering the humanities and social sciences from nearly 400 leading university presses, scholarly societies, and related publishers.
Video & Media Resources
- Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new windowEnjoy instant access to 550 full-length Met performances with the online streaming database.
- Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new windowOne search for all the recordings in Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound, American Song, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Dance in Video.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of classical and world music from the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Recordings plus descriptive information.NOTE: 1) Please logout at the end of your session. 2) Bookmarks won't work unless "default.asp" is removed from the end of the URL.
- Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowOpera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Music Periodicals
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowFind articles from over 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries and view full text of articles from some 80 journals. Includes articles, book reviews, and obituaries appearing in the New York Times and the Washington Post.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century.
- Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. Note: does not include interactive content from online magazine.
Help me with citations in Chicago
For most courses in Music our preferred citation style is Chicago Manual of Style (always check with your professor to confirm!).
- Chicago Manual of StyleThe official style guide for CMS.
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of StyleA great resource from Purdue University with lots of examples for citing sources in CMS.
- Notes & Bibliography: Sample CitationsExamples of note and bibliography citations for books, chapters from edited volumes, electronic resources, newspaper articles, interviews, websites, and social media content.