Limited online access (1997-2009) through Lexis Nexis Academic: Under "General Searching" on the left of the screen click on "News" then on "College & University". Search: Cavalier Daily = Author AND fraternity = Everywhere
Print volumes are in Alderman Reference, at the north end of the room. A card index file covering 1890-1981 and 1982-1994 is in the wooden cabinet near the "BX" call number area in Alderman Reference.
Microfilm covering 1890-2012 is found in the Government Information Resources area on Alderman Library's 3rd floor. Call number Micfilm N-US Va-7.
UVA File An extensive collection of newspaper clippings, pamphlets, mimeographed material, etc. about the University compiled from the 1940's through the 1980's. Clippings are from local newspapers and student publications. The clippings are in a filing cabinet in Reference and staff can assist you. Consult the list of the subjects to see if the file contains material of interest to you. There are files on civil rights,women, Edgar Shannon, architecture (plus files on individual buildings), the Lawn, alcohol, societies, "student body- characteristics", etc. The Local History File covers Charlottesville and Albemarle County with this list of subjects. Both clipping files are located in metal filing cabinets in the Alderman Reference Room.
Corks and Curls Alderman Reference LD 5687 .C7 Located at the north end of the Reference Room. 1887-present, with some volumes also in the stacks and in Special Collections. Indexed by a partial card file covering important information found in the yearbooks up to volume 78 (1966). The card index is in the Special Collections Library.
Alumni Bulletin of the University of Virginia Alderman Reference LH 1 .V6 A4 1894 to present, sometimes under the alternate title Alumni News. Good source for obscure University information. Index card file, called the "Wyllie File", is located in the wooden file cabinet near the "BX" call number area in Alderman Reference and covers 1901-1987 (1894-1900 is not indexed). The index file will get you to information in the Bulletin about individual societies and fraternities, social events, specific people, drinking at the University, the UVA Jewish community, and photographs of University locations and events.
University of Virginia Magazine/ Virginia Spectator Index indexes "University of Virginia Magazine" for 1849-1939 and "Virginia Spectator" for 1939-1954. Items of interest should be retrieved by date of publication, not by volume numbers. The magazines are shelved in Alderman stacks: LH 1 .V6 U8 This index is located in the Special Collections Library.
University of Virginia Catalogues [becomes University of Virginia Record in 1907] Alderman Reference LD 5667.2 Reference Room has 1825-1920 and the most current 5 years. A full run of the intervening years is in Alderman stacks. Contains lists of students and where they were from, descriptions of academic departments and courses, information about student societies, expenses for attending UVA, etc.
Board of Visitors Minutes Transcriptions of the Board of Visitors Minutes from 1817 to the present. To search the collection:
1. In Virgo's Catalog Advanced Search : On the left of the search screen click on Digital Collection and select UVA Board of Visitors Minutes.
2. Search Keywords = admission women
3. On the results screen click on View under a particular document and then enter your search phrase in "Search this document."
America: History & Life is the major index for finding articles in scholarly history journals, as well as citations to book reviews, dissertations, etc. in the field of American history.
Search: Virginia AND "higher education" AND women
JSTOR provides searchable online backfiles of major scholarly journals, from the first volume of a title up to 3 to 5 years ago.
Advanced Search: persecution NEAR 5 Jews AND "american universities"
Limit to Articles Disciplines: History; Jewish Studies
ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides online access to the backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2009), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), and the Washington Post (1877-1992).
Search Washington Post: Rotunda AND "University of Virginia" From 1895-1900 Document Type = Article
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers. Click on "Places of Publication" to focus your search on Virginia newspapers and to see the titles and dates of coverage. Click on PDF button for clearer reading image.
Virginia newspapers on microfilm Search by state, or by state and dates, to find what newspapers we have on microfilm.
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in America between 1740 and 1900.
Advanced Search: "University of Virginia AND Lawn Specific Date Range = 1850 to 1900
Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering many disciplines. It includes some speeches and interviews.
Search: "college newspapers" AND "academic freedom"
History of the University of Virginia, 1819-1919. Philip Alexander Bruce. (New York: Macmillan, 1920) 5 volumes. The classic history of the University's early years. The index is in volume 5. Print editions are in Alderman Reference and Alderman Stacks LD5678 .B7 1920 There are also several online editions.
Mr. Jefferson's University: A History. Virginius Dabney. (Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia, 1981) Alderman Reference, Clemons, Clemons Reference, Brown Science & Engineering LD5678 .D3 For mid-20th century history of UVA.