Keyword = "massive resistance"
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
America History & Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Search: Virginia AND "constitutional convention" Historical Period 1865-1930
JSTOR Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. You can search a specific publication, such as Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, by going to Advanced Search and entering the journal's name in the "Publication Title" search box.
Advanced Search: Full text = "University of Virginia" AND eugenics Item Type = article
Narrow by Discipline = History
A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes speeches, interviews and other primary source documents.
Search: "Douglas Wilder" Published Dates = 1989-1994 (Put phrases within quotation marks)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Search and see full text articles from the New York Times (1851-2007), Wall Street Journal (1889-1997), Chicago Tribune (1890-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), and the Washington Post (1877-1992). For more recent issues use "Factiva".
Search Washington Post: "massive resistance" and Virginia From 1954-1959 [Note that entering a new search term in "Refine Search" will allow you to narrow your initial results more specifically.]
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.
Search for Articles: Virginia AND lynching From: 1900 - 1910
LexisNexis Academic: Legal to find federal and state court cases, and law review articles.
Click on "US Legal" on the left of the screen and select Federal & State Cases : Search Elvira Specify Date = date is before 1870 In the Results List, under "Sources by Category", select Virginia Supreme Court Cases
Two newspaper databases, America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (containing Richmond Daily Whig to Feb, 1882) and Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (containing Lynchburg Virginian to 1885, Virginia Sentinel to 1868, Richmond Dispatch to 1880, Richmond Whig to 1882, Afro-American Churchman to 1887), each have spotty coverage of Virginia newspapers. Each may be worth trying, depending on your topic and its dates.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers From the National Digital Newpaper Program, this database allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922. It is a work in progress, but does include several newspapers from Virginia [ click on "See All Available Newspapers" for a title list arranged by state].
Under "View Newspaper Pages" click on "Search Pages." Select either a state or a specific newspaper.
Enter your search term and the date. In the results list select a page image. You can zoom in on the
image or download the PDF. Your search terms are highlighted.
LexisNexis Academic
includes the Richmond Times Dispatch from November 1995 to the present.
To search this specific newspaper click on "All News" in the "Search
the News" box. Enter search terms, specify dates, then enter Richmond Times Dispatch in "Or by Name" in the "Select Source" box.
Search: Democratic Party AND Northern Virginia Date is between Jan 1, 2008 and Dec 31, 2008
Or by name = Richmond Times Dispatch
To see which Virginia newspapers we have on microfilm go to the page listing newspaper microfilm holdings and enter Virginia in the "Search by State" box. If you do not find a title there, be sure to also search Virgo.
Indexing of Virginia newspapers is spotty, but there is one index you can use: Richmond Times Dispatch and Richmond News Leader are indexed in the microfiche Freeman File Index for the period 1920's-1985 [located in the Periodicals/Microforms Room, Shannon 3rd Floor. Staff there can assist you.] The Freeman Index is online for the period between the 1940's-1985 at http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/NI.html
Race and Place: African-American Community Histories is "an archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880's until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville.."
The newspaper section is searchable and includes selected transcribed articles from the two major local African-American newspapers, Charlottesville Reflector and Richmond Planet.
We are a depository library for documents published by the Commonwealth of Virginia, which means we have many of them in the Government Information Resources department on Shannon Library's 3rd floor. Documents published after 1988 will usually be found in Virgo. For those published before 1988 use the printed keyword index kept behind the Government Information Resources desk. Staff there can assist you.