Subject Guide
Off-Grounds Access
Most databases are available only when you're connected to the UVa network. For off Grounds use you'll need a connection through the proxy server or UVaAnywhere. More information.
Historical Newspaper & Magazine Collections
This list of databases is selective. A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Searchable backfiles of the New York Times (1851-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)and Washington Post (1877-1992).
Search: Gertrude Ederle Select NY Times From 7/01/1926 to 9/01/1926
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 Searchable full text collection of U.S. newspapers fromall regions of the U.S.
Search: women and exercise Custom date range: 1880-1890 Places of Publication: California
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Searchable full text and page images of several hundred U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.
American Periodicals Series Full text of over 1,000 magazines and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900.
Periodicals Archive Online Search the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990's.
Search: Keyword = women and athletics Years of publication: 1920-1930
Title IX
This list of databases is selective. A list of all our major online databases is found in Virgo at http://guides.lib.virginia.edu/ . Remember, to access our databases from off-Grounds you need a proxy server account, or a UVA Anywhere or Anywhere-Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
Academic Search Complete Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers on many topics. Also includes speeches, interviews and other primary source documents.
Search: "Title IX" AND "college athletics" (Put phrases within quotation marks)
LexisNexis Academic News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
Search: "Title IX" and disparity
Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text of newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from 200 ethnic, minority, and native publications in the U.S., in English and in Spanish.
Sport Discus International database covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, coaching, recreation, and more. Includes book reviews.
Search: "Title IX" AND "men's programs"
Women's Studies International Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses & dissertations, documents and other materials on all aspects of women's studies.
Project Muse Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
JSTOR Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago.
ProQuest Congressional Full-text information by and about the U.S. Congress including publications, legislative histories of laws, biographical information on members, and testimony from congressional hearings.
Search: Title IX and athletics Date is between Jan 1, 1995 to Dec 1, 2005