It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AMST 3221: Hands-On Public History: Slavery and Reconstruction
Research guide for students in Lisa Goff's AMST 3221 class.
VPN: A VPN (Virtual Private Network) scrambles data as it is transmitted between a server and a mobile device (phone or tablet), a desktop computer (at your home), or a laptop computer (when you are traveling). This allows you to access UVa Library resources, including Virgo and databases, as if you were on-grounds. Library subscription databases don't require an individual login to access them. They authenticate through the IP address. Using a VPN ensures that the database "sees" your computer as being on an acceptable IP address. Be sure you are also using the database link that is in this guide, or the Library's A-Z database list.
UVA offers four types of VPNs for accessing UVA resources. As students, you should generally use theUVA AnywhereVPN.
UVA Anywhere VPN: Provides an off-Grounds connection to resources that normally require you to be on Grounds to use them such as Library resources, the UVA Home Directory Service, the Exchange Server, servers restricted by departments, etc. It provides an on-Grounds IP address for all applications on your computer, thereby protecting all network traffic, whether or not it is web-based, between your machine and the UVA network.