Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology

Library resources for anthropology

2014 World Languages

Library Introduction to Antrhopology databases

Library Introduction to Anthropology databases
For the classs - Anth 2430 : Languages of the World. Faculty - Lise Dobrin
 

Schedule for the 2014 library session, Wed 10-10:50 am.

I.  20-25 minutes: Lise Dobrin. A. Homework. B. three web sites World Atlas of Language Structures Online ; Ethnologue, Languages of the World, Glottolog.  C. Other instructions. 10-10:25 AM

II. 20-25 minutes: Philip McEldowney. A. Books - Library and its catalog VIRGO and WorldCat or First Search. B. Articles - Databases: Academic Search Complete. C. InterLibrary Loan with sign in. D. RefWorks for citations, bibliographies, and footnotes. 10:25 - 10:45 AM

IIIa. In your Section sessions this week. Alderman stacks, look at books. First area PH-PM call numbers on Floor 1 Old. see Alderman 1. Call number locations. 2.  the Library of Congress classification system for Languages  During or after your Sections

IIIb. In your Section sessions this week. Alderman stacks, look at books. Second area P-PG Call numbers Floor 2M New. Linguistics, grammar. During or after your Sections

Searching methods and hints = 1. search 2. refine, look around, choose other words, more terms or less terms. 3. search again (and again. . .) 4. save, print. 5. Click on the database Help - read and study it for 5 minutes. Or /and ask a librarian (chat, online, phone)

Graphic of languages in India - image of 10 rupee note15 languages on a 5 Rupee note; 17 languages listed


Here's a revision of the 2012 Old Schedule. Refer to this for greater details of databases, resources, coverage.

1. Review the main UVa library web page - how to get help through library contacts, VIRGO, find Databases, do Interlibrary requests, and connect off-grounds

2. Go to VIRGO and search for some items, also use Advanced search briefly

3. Go to Databases - look at
A) Anthropology Plus A very complete database, citations only, no full text. (I'll alone have to search it, since we have restricted number of simultaneous users)
B) JSTOR A good scholarly source, with coverage up until about 4-5 years ago.
C) Academic Search Complete Borad covereage of English language sources, with recent years often in full-text
D) Bibliography of Asian Studies Citations of articles on Asian topics
E) Lexis Nexis (Full text newspapers) and
F) WorldCat (books) or WorldCat First Search (books)
G) point to HRAF Great coverage for over 200 selected cultures around the world, often with 4-5 full-text bibliography.
H) Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Search for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language
I) Bibliography of Native North Americans 1500-present List of books and other publications about the native peoples of North America

4. Look at RefWorks and explain it

5. Go to Alderman Library stacks to look at books. See Call Number Locations

6. Suggested keywords to search:

  • Linguistic terms - "word order" or "palatalization" or "diffusion area" or "paucal"
  • Languages "Akan" "Brahui" or "Uyghur"
  • Subject words "language obsolescene" or "language attrition"
  • "dying languages"

7. Some suggested links and titles: World Atlas of Language Structures Online ; Ethnologue, Languages of the World; Speech Accent Archive.

8. Some suggested endangered titles: "Atlas of the World's Languages in danger of Disappearing" edited by Stephen A. Wurm (1996); "Language Death" by David Crystal (2000), and the 65 minute DVD "The Linguists" (2008)

9. Some call numbers: P40.5 for endangered languages; Sanskrit PK600s and PK400s; Twi PL8751; PL3600s; PM782 and PM108; Hindi PK1930s; Gondi PL4630s.
Have a look at the Library of Congress classification system for Languages and just for Language Philology and Linaguistics

Back to the top