Research Librarian for the Humanities
Best Database Choices for Anthropology
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowCoverage from 1890 - present
Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. - Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1971 - present
Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews. - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new windowFormerly known as the Bibliography of Native North Americans.
Lists articles, books and other publications about the native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Lists all titles from the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. Includes book reviews. - eHRAF WorldCultures This link opens in a new windowA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
All Anthropology Databases and Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images.
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowFull text (PDF) of most US dissertations from 1997 on, many earlier works and some from outside the US plus some master's theses. Also lists all dissertations and theses from 1861 on from US universities and some works from Europe and Asia from 1637 on. Abstracts included after July, 1980.
See also Finding Dissertations
- Anthropology Resource in Microform - Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)HRAF is a huge collection of primary sources covering many world cultures, with information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The sources include whole books, articles, dissertations, field studies, and more.
- eHRAF WorldCultures This link opens in a new windowA searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world. Produced by the Human Relations Area Files. Old title: eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
* Native American and Indigenous Studies (NAIS) A Library Guide on this topic with links to resources.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide as catalogued by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC).