Subject Liaison
Subject Liaison
Deaf Writers & Deaf Characters in Literature
Deaf American Prose, 1830-1930 by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781563685651Publication Date: 2013This new anthology showcases the work of Deaf writers during a critical formative period in their history. From 1830 to 1930, these writers conveyed their impressions in autobiographies, travel narratives, romances, non-fiction short stories, editorials, descriptive pieces, and other forms of prose.
Deaf American Prose, 1980-2010 by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781563685231Publication Date: 2012Deaf American Prose: 1980-2010 presents a diverse cross-section of stories, essays, memoirs, and novel excerpts by a remarkable cadre of Deaf writers.
Outcasts and Angels: The New Anthology of Deaf Characters in Literature by Call Number: EBookISBN: 9781563685392Publication Date: 2012
Example Streaming Videos in Virgo
Note: If the film you are watching is through the Films on Demand Online Video Collection, choose the link in Virgo where it says Watch Online, Part of the Films on Demand Collection. You do not need to enter a username and password.
- Deaf in Rwanda (2018, 22 min.)A vibrant group of deaf Rwandans are working hard to establish their own official sign language to give a voice to Rwanda's voiceless.
- Deafness and Community, Representations of Cultural Resistance (2013, 61 min.)With availability of medical interventions like cochlear implants to treat deafness, health professionals caring for deaf persons or helping families make reproductive choices about deafness (as in prenatal genetic screening) tend to work from biomedical rather than cultural understandings of deafness. This Medical center hour explores deaf literature and visual art to suggest that a deeper understanding of deaf culture can help health professionals to provide better care and counsel, medically and ethically speaking, to deaf patients and their families.
- Musical Matters: Deaf and Disabled Artists on Inclusivity (2021, 43 min.)Musical Matters explores inclusivity and representation in American musical theatre with artists from historically marginalized communities. This exclusive five-part series is hosted by actor, writer, and advocate for inclusion, Christine Toy Johnson.
Tony Award-winning actress Ali Stroker (Oklahoma!) and choreographer-actress Alexandria Wailes (Big River) discuss their collaboration on Deaf West's Broadway revival of Spring Awakening, as well as the importance of seeing yourself represented on stage, and how increased access enriches the artistic landscape. - Signing Black in America (2021, 27 min)This is the first documentary about Black ASL: the unique dialect of American Sign Language (ASL) that developed within historically segregated African American Deaf communities. Black ASL today conveys an identity and sense of belonging that mirrors spoken language varieties of the African American hearing community. The program highlights the different uses of space, hand use, directional movement, and facial expression, which are ways that Black ASL distinguishes itself as a vibrant dialect of American Sign Language. The African American Deaf community is now embracing their unique variety as a symbol of solidarity and a vital part of their identity.
- South Africa Deaf Marimba Band (2018, 22 min.)South Africa's only marimba band for deaf children combines its talents with another marimba band of children from a disadvantaged neighborhood for an unprecedented concert.
- The Words of Silence (2001, 41 min.)Meet four extraordinary people who happen to be deaf; an award-winning actress, a percussionist, a flamenco dancer, and a mime. These talented performers reveal the unique landscape of the deaf, where silence is made of colors, perceptions and vibrations. Sign language and exceptional visual sensitivity overcome the absence of sound. From the interviews and performances, one realizes that deafness is not only a medical diagnosis but a cultural phenomenon as well.
Example Online Sources
- Gallaudet University Digital CollectionsGallaudet University is the premier institution of learning, teaching and research for deaf and hard-of-hearing students. Digital collections available through this site include historical photographs; alumni cards; the journal American Annals of the Deaf, 1847-1893; the newspaper The Silent Worker, 1888-1929; the R. Orin Cornett Memorial Cued Speech Collection; papers of Benjamin M. Schowe, and digitzed copes of rare Deaf books and materials.
- Gallaudet University Deaf Periodicals and Rare MaterialsAlso from Gallaudet's Archives and Deaf Collections, about 1/2 way down main page under Popular Online Resources see links to various periodicals and rare materials including: Deaf Mutes Journal; Gallaudet University Annual Reports; The Silent Worker; The Deaf American; The Buff & Blue; and more. See also https://gaislandora.wrlc.org/
- National Association of the Deaf (NAD)The National Association of the Deaf (NAD) is the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States. Site includes position statements, annual reports, NADmag (magazine), #DeafAtWork videos, and more.
- RIT/NTID Deaf Studies ArchiveThis digital collection represents some of the materials held at an archive dedicated to increasing knowledge of the history and culture of NTID and connected Deaf community members and strengthening identity formation and pride. Includes ASL Poetry, literature, and more.
- World Federation of the DeafThe World Federation of the Deaf is an international non-profit and non-governmental organisation of deaf associations from 133 countries. Their website includes news, publications, reports, position papers, and more.
Helpful URLs
- Ask a LibrarianQuestions? Ask us! Chat, call, text, or email anytime.
- Purchase RecommendationsIs there an ebook you think the UVA Library should own but doesn't? Make a purchase recommendation.
Research Using Library Databases
The UVA Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that contain scholarly resources not available on the free web. Access to most of these databases is restricted to current members of the UVA community. If you are accessing materials from off Grounds, you will be prompted to sign in with NetBadge when using these resources. See the tab on the left menu called Tools for Access for more tips on accessing resources from off campus.
The best way to connect to the library's databases is through the research portal or through this guide. This page provides a list of recommended databases, ebooks, streaming media, and online resources for your research assignment. There are many more resources available that might be useful.
If you would like research help, I am available for meetings either in person or virtually using Zoom. You can schedule an appointment with me by clicking the button in my information box to the left, by selecting a day/time on my Make an Appointment page, or by contacting me directly at slb4kt@virginia.edu. Need help right away? Please contact a librarian using one of our Ask a Librarian options.
Disability in the Modern World
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is a database of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives. It also includes over 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked. Try searching for deaf or deafness and then narrowing using keywords of interest.
Having trouble getting content from the database? Try hitting the ESC key three times in rapid succession - if that doesn't help, contact Sherri for further assistance.
Databases for finding Articles about Deaf Studies or Sign Language
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Updated monthly. Includes journals like American Annals of the Deaf, Deafness and Education International, Sign Language Studies, Sign Language & Linguistics, and more.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind. Ethnologue lists 157 languages under the language family sign language.
Academic Search Complete is a large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books, biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
America History & Life includes articles about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, while Historical Abstracts indexes articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, not including the U.S. and Canada.
APA PsycINFO covers journal articles in more than 30 languages and books in English about psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, and education.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Education Research Complete is a large database covering journal articles, conference papers and some books on all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Includes the Journal of Deaf Studies & Deaf Education, American Annals of the Deaf, Deafness & Education International, and the Journal of The American Deafness & Rehabilitation Association.
Legal Collection is a large collection (over 250) of law journals plus some case studies and documents.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Databases for Finding Articles about Deaf Culture, Deaf People, and the Arts
Music Periodicals Database - Find articles from over 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries and view full text of articles from some 80 journals. Also indexes feature music articles, book reviews, and obituaries appearing in the New York Times and the Washington Post.
Finding items using Virgo
Virgo, the UVA Library’s primary search tool, contains catalog records for books, print journals, DVDs, maps, and digitized materials, as well as links to online articles from our rich array of subscription journals. You can search catalog materials and articles together, or view those results separately, using the facets provided to limit your results by author, format, publication period, and more. To find online content in the catalog, use Format limiters like EBook, Online Video, Streaming Video, or Online to limit your catalog search results.
Example subject terms:
- American Sign Language
- Cross-Cultural Comparison
- Deaf Authors
- Deaf Criminals
- Deaf Culture - United States (or another country)
- Deaf Education - United States (or another country)
- Deaf in Literature
- Deaf - Means of Communication
- Deaf - Psychology
- Deaf - Social Conditions
- Deaf - United States - Social Conditions
- Deaf Women
- Deafness
- Prisoners with disabilities
- Sign Language
Example Print Books & E-Books of Interest
Below are just a few of many examples of print books and ebooks available that discuss deaf culture and deaf studies. Try using the subject term recommendations above or keywords related to your topic of interest to get started searching in Virgo for relevant materials.
Deaf and Disability Studies: Interdisciplinary Perspectives by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo.ISBN: 1563684640Publication Date: 2010This collection presents 14 essays by renowned scholars on Deaf people, Deafhood, Deaf histories, and Deaf identity, but from different points of view on the Deaf/Disability compass. Editors Susan Burch and Alison Kafer have divided these works around three themes. The first, Identities and Locations, explores Deaf identity in different contexts. Topics range from a history of activism shaped by the ableism of Deaf elites in the United States from 1880-1920, to a discussion of the roles that economics, location, race, and culture play in the experiences of a Deaf woman from northern Nigeria now living in Washington, D.C. Alliances and Activism showcases activism organized across differences. Studies include a feminist analysis of how deaf and hearing women working together share responsibility, and an examination of how intra-cultural variations in New York City and Quebec affect deaf-focus HIV/AIDS programs. The third theme, Boundaries and Overlaps, explicitly addresses the relationships between Deaf Studies and Disability Studies. Interviews with scholars from both disciplines help define these relationships. Another contributor calls for hearing/not-deaf people with disabilities to support their Deaf peers in gaining langue access to the United Nations.
Deaf Education Beyond the Western World: Context, Challenges, and Prospects by Call Number: E-book - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780190880514Publication Date: 2019By exploring practice-based and research-based evidence about deaf education in countries that largely have been left out of the international discussion thus far, this volume encourages more researchers in more countries to continue investigating the learning environment of deaf learners, based on the premise of leaving no one behind. Featuring chapters centering on 19 countries, from Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe, the volume offers a picture of deaf education from the perspectives of local scholars and teachers who demonstrate best practices and challenges within their respective regional contexts. This volume addresses the notion of learning through the exchange of knowledge; outlines the commonalities and differences between practices and policies in educating deaf and hard-of-hearing learners; and looks ahead to the prospects for the future development of deaf education research in the context of recently adopted international legal frameworks.
Deaf Identities: Exploring New Frontiers by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780190887599Publication Date: 2019Over the past decade, a significant body of work on the topic of deaf identities has emerged. In this volume, Leigh and O'Brien bring together scholars from a wide range of disciplines -- anthropology, counseling, education, literary criticism, practical religion, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and deaf studies -- to examine deaf identity paradigms. In this book, contributing authors describe their perspectives on what deaf identities represent, how these identities develop, and the ways in which societal influences shape these identities. Intersectionality, examination of medical, educational, and family systems, linguistic deprivation, the role of oppressive influences, the deaf body, and positive deaf identity development, are among the topics examined in the quest to better understand deaf identities. In reflection, contributors have intertwined both scholarly and personal perspectives to animate these academic debates. The result is a book that reinforces the multiple ways in which deaf identities manifest, empowering those whose identity formation is influenced by being deaf or hard of hearing.
Deaf People in the Criminal Justice System: Selected Topics on Advocacy, Incarceration, and Social Justice by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9781944838829Publication Date: 2021The legal system is complex, and without appropriate access, many injustices can occur. Deaf people in the criminal justice system are routinely denied sign language interpreters, videophone access, and other accommodations at each stage of the legal process. The marginalization of deaf people in the criminal justice system is further exacerbated by the lack of advocates who are qualified to work with this population. Deaf People in the Criminal Justice System: Selected Topics on Advocacy, Incarceration, and Social Justice is the first book to illuminate the challenges faced by deaf people when they are arrested, incarcerated, or navigating the court system. This volume brings interdisciplinary contributors together to shed light on both the problems and solutions for deaf people in these circumstances. The contributors address issues such as accessibility needs; gaps regarding data collection and the need for more research; additional training for attorneys, court personnel, and prison staff; the need for more qualified sign language interpreters, including Certified Deaf Interpreters who provide services in court, prison, and juvenile facilities; substance use disorders; the school to prison nexus; and the need for advocacy. Students in training programs, researchers, attorneys, mental health professionals, sign language interpreters, family members, and advocates will be empowered by this much-needed resource to improve the experiences and outcomes for deaf people in the criminal justice system.
Hearing Happiness: Deafness Cures in History by Call Number: EBook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780226690612Publication Date: 2020Weaving together lyrical history and personal memoir, Virdi powerfully examines society's--and her own--perception of life as a deaf person in America. At the age of four, Jaipreet Virdi's world went silent. A severe case of meningitis left her alive but deaf, suddenly treated differently by everyone. Her deafness downplayed by society and doctors, she struggled to "pass" as hearing for most of her life. Countless cures, treatments, and technologies led to dead ends. Never quite deaf enough for the Deaf community or quite hearing enough for the "normal" majority, Virdi was stuck in aural limbo for years. It wasn't until her thirties, exasperated by problems with new digital hearing aids, that she began to actively assert her deafness and reexamine society's--and her own--perception of life as a deaf person in America. Through lyrical history and personal memoir, Hearing Happiness raises pivotal questions about deafness in American society and the endless quest for a cure. Taking us from the 1860s up to the present, Virdi combs archives and museums in order to understand the long history of curious cures: ear trumpets, violet ray apparatuses, vibrating massagers, electrotherapy machines, airplane diving, bloodletting, skull hammering, and many more. Hundreds of procedures and products have promised grand miracles but always failed to deliver a universal cure--a harmful legacy that is still present in contemporary biomedicine.
Sociolinguistic Variation in American Sign Language by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 1563681137Publication Date: 2001This volume provides a complete description of ASL variation. People from varying regions and backgrounds have different ways of saying the same thing. For example, in English some people say "test," while others say "tes'," dropping the final "t." Noted scholars Ceil Lucas, Robert Bayley, and Clayton Valli led a team of exceptional researchers in applying techniques for analyzing spoken language variation to ASL. Their observations at the phonological, lexical, morphological, and syntactic levels demonstrate that ASL variation correlates with many of the same driving social factors of spoken languages, including age, socioeconomic class, gender, ethnic background, region, and sexual orientation. Internal constraints that mandate variant choices for spoken languages have been compared to ASL as well, with intriguing results.
The Artificial Ear: Cochlear Implants and the Culture of Deafness by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in Virgo.ISBN: 9780813546599Publication Date: 2010When it was first developed, the cochlear implant was hailed as a "miracle cure" for deafness. That relatively few deaf adults seemed to want it was puzzling. The technology was then modified for use with deaf children, 90 percent of whom have hearing parents. Then, controversy struck as the Deaf community overwhelmingly protested the use of the device and procedure. For them, the cochlear implant was not viewed in the context of medical progress and advances in the physiology of hearing, but instead represented the historic oppression of deaf people and of sign languages. Part ethnography and part historical study, The Artificial Ear is based on interviews with researchers who were pivotal in the early development and implementation of the new technology. Through an analysis of the scientific and clinical literature, Stuart Blume reconstructs the history of artificial hearing from its conceptual origins in the 1930s, to the first attempt at cochlear implantation in Paris in the 1950s, and to the widespread clinical application of the "bionic ear" since the 1980s.
The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies in Language by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 9780190241414Publication Date: 2016Language development, and the challenges it can present for individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, have long been a focus of research, theory, and practice in D/deaf studies and deaf education. Over the past 150 years, but most especially near the end of the 20th and beginning of the 21st century, advances in the acquisition and development of language competencies and skills have been increasing rapidly. This volume addresses many of those accomplishments as well as remaining challenges and new questions that have arisen from multiple perspectives: theoretical, linguistic, social-emotional, neuro-biological, and socio-cultural. The result is a volume that addresses, in detail, current knowledge, emerging questions, and innovative educational practice in a variety of contexts. The volume takes on topics such as discussion of the transformation of efforts to identify a "best" language approach (the "sign" versus "speech" debate) to a stronger focus on individual strengths, potentials, and choices for selecting and even combining approaches; the effects of language on other areas of development as well as effects from other domains on language itself; and how neurological, socio-cognitive, and linguistic bases of learning are leading to more specialized approaches to instruction that address the challenges that remain for deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals.
Women and Deafness: Double Visions by Call Number: Ebook - Access online using link in VirgoISBN: 1563682931Publication Date: 2006This new collection bridges two dynamic academic fields: Women's Studies and Deaf Studies. The 14 contributors to this interdisciplinary volume apply research and methodological approaches from sociology, ethnography, literary/film studies, history, rhetoric, education, and public health to open heretofore unexplored territory. Part One: In and Out of the Community addresses female dynamics within deaf schools; Helen Keller's identity as a deaf woman; deaf women's role in Deaf organizations; and whether or not the inequity in education and employment opportunities for deaf women is bias against gender or disability. Part Two: (Women's) Authority and Shaping Deafness explores the life of 19th-century teacher Marcelina Ruis Y Fernandez; the influence of single, hearing female instructors in deaf education; the extent of women's authority over oralist educational dictates during the 1900s; and a deaf daughter's relationship with her hearing mother in the late 20th century. Part Three: Reading Deaf Women considers two deaf sisters' exceptional creative freedom from 1885 to 1920; the depictions of deaf or mute women in two popular films; a Deaf woman's account of blending the public-private, deaf-hearing, and religious-secular worlds; how five Deaf female ASL teachers define "gender," "feminism," "sex," and "patriarchy" in ASL and English; and 20th-century American Deaf beauty pageants that emphasize physicality while denying Deaf identity, yet also challenge mainstream notions of "the perfect body."
Words Made Flesh: Nineteenth-Century Deaf Education and the Growth of Deaf Culture by Call Number: Ebook - Use link in Virgo record to access.ISBN: 9780814722435Publication Date: 2012During the early nineteenth century, schools for the deaf appeared in the United States for the first time. These schools were committed to the use of the sign language to educate deaf students. Manual education made the growth of the deaf community possible, for it gathered deaf people together in sizable numbers for the first time in American history. It also fueled the emergence of Deaf culture, as the schools became agents of cultural transformations.Just as the Deaf community began to be recognized as a minority culture, in the 1850s, a powerful movement arose to undo it, namely oral education. Advocates of oral education, deeply influenced by the writings of public school pioneer Horace Mann, argued that deaf students should stop signing and should start speaking in the hope that the Deaf community would be abandoned, and its language and culture would vanish. In this revisionist history, Words Made Flesh explores the educational battles of the nineteenth century from both hearing and deaf points of view. It places the growth of the Deaf community at the heart of the story of deaf education and explains how the unexpected emergence of Deafness provoked the pedagogical battles that dominated the field of deaf education in the nineteenth century, and still reverberate today.
