Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, he documents in this collection are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this database consists of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs involving Afghanistan and the U.S.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection of confidential correspondence, memoranda, orders, reports, and other materials provide a broad spectrum of information on military policy and administration, including the organization, operations, and equipment of the army during the war.
New
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history.
New
The databases cover 700,000+ artists and public sales from 6,300 worldwide auction houses since 1962.
New
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection provides the opportunity to review the telegrams, correspondence, minutes, memoranda, and confidential prints gathered together in the India Office Military Department on Mesopotamia.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem.
New
Part of Archives Direct, this collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia, and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
New
China and the Modern World is a series of digital archive collections sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, materials in the collection document John LeFlore's prolific work in both public and private life.
New
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this extensive resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
New
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Trial
EAI is a nonprofit resource that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of media art. Full-length streaming videos are available for various artists.
New
Search the full-text of books printed in Arabic script, English, European and Asian translations (1475–1900) in all subjects.
New
In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news every week.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive covers Egypt from the years before the opening of the Suez Canal through the era of British domination, Egyptian nationalism, and independence.
New
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Buddhism is devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering readers a balanced and detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in six thematically arranged volumes: literature and languages (I, publ. 2015), lives (II, publ. 2019), thought (III, forthcoming 2022), history (IV, forthcoming 2023), life and practice (V, forthcoming 2025), index and remaining issues (VI, forthcoming 2026).
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities in Africa. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities in Africa from 1910-1929.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other documents related to U.S. consular activities and Italian Colonies in North Africa and aggression in East Africa. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities from 1910-1929 in Africa. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records in this database provide invaluable information on social conditions in Greater Syria and Lebanon and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church provide valuable information on social conditions in developing nations and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records in this collection provide invaluable information on social conditions in China and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Documenting the church’s educational, evangelical, and medical work, these are records mainly of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters.
New
Evangelism in India took the form primarily of village itineration where male and female missionaries ministered to the spiritual needs of the populace while simultaneously attending to their medical and educational needs. The collection documents the Board of Foreign Missions’ tripartite ministry in India but also reflects the development of the modern Indian state in a broader sense.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records offered here provide invaluable information on social conditions in Persia (renamed Iran in 1935) and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records offered here provide information on social conditions in Japan and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records offered here provide invaluable information on social conditions in Korea and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection provides invaluable information on social conditions in Latin America and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the database provides information on social conditions in the Philippines and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, records in this database provide invaluable information on social conditions in Siam (renamed Thailand in 1948) and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection provides demographic information on the Japanese-American "evacuees" resident at the various relocation camps of World War II.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Beirut.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection comprises materials related to the planning and organization of the October 1991 Middle East Peace Conference in Madrid. It consists of correspondence, memoranda, cables, diplomatic dispatches, reports, studies, maps, and printed material which document all aspects of staging the conference as well as the conference itself.
New
Through digital archaeology, archaeological records are assembled for one of the most famous archaeological sites in the world, the Giza Pyramids and the surrounding cemeteries and settlements. The Project manages arguably the world’s largest digital archive of Giza material. This data is used to build immersive 3D model reconstructions and other media.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound: this collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen.
New
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records in this collection trace the Council for Social Action’s active participation in social action, its engagement in race relations, Indian relations, opposition to the persecution of Jews in Nazi Germany, and the protection of the civil rights of war victims and Japanese-Americans during the Second World War.
New
American Indians and the American West consists of one module on American Indians and the American West from 1809-1971. This module contains several collections focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars.
New
The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.
New
This module supplements the original module of Federal Government records by adding civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies.
New
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. The three major civil rights organizations are the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs.
New
This Black Freedom module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and the NAACP. CORE was formed in 1941 and organized the pioneering Journey of Reconciliation in the 1940s and the Freedom Rides in the early 1960s; both events are documented in the CORE records in this module.
New
Part of GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry, contains detailed case files for nearly twenty thousand film projects that were submitted to the Production Code staff for consideration.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the documents in this collection on Iran are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this database offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-1932 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the database includes documents about Iraq, from Ottoman rule through British colonial occupation and independence, from the perspective of the United States.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection includes records from the U.S. Department of State from 1950-1959 involving the U.S. occupation of Japan and the global rivalry of the Cold War.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, documents in this collection include the Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, “Japanese American Internment Collections."
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
New
Kikuzo II Visual is one of the largest on-line newspaper databases in Japan, containing over 15 million articles. The database includes various sections:
Asahi Shinbun newspaper: 1945-present
Weekly magazines
Historical Photo Archive: 10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs.
The English-language News: "The International Herald Tribune/The Asahi Shimbun (the IHT/Asahi)" and "AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)" dating back to April 2001.
We have a limited number of seats.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, there is essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs in this collection.
New
Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
New
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Also part of ProQuest One Literature.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection covers U.S. perspectives on Lebanon, Palestine, Syria, and Trans-Jordan, from Ottoman rule to the era of British and French mandates following the First World War.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection consists of selected portions of the records of attorney Vernon Z. Crawford (1919–1986) and the Blacksher, Menefee and Stein law firm whose work represents a significant contribution to the shape of the civil rights movement in 20th century Alabama.
New
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive serves as a companion to Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918. It consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia. It carries the story from the end of First World War into the interwar period.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive documents the American consulate in Tripoli. Included are correspondences of Secretary of State James Madison during the Tripolitan War, 1801-1805, between the United States and the piratical North African Barbary States.
New
The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation.
New
The Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale’s international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization, and the birth of the modern corporation.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection comprises materials relating to Methodist Episcopal Missionary activities, particularly in reference to Italy.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970- offers the widest range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1971.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive reveals more than a century of U.S.-Morocco relations and includes, among various documents, correspondences from U.S. ministers in Tangier and Tetuan.
New
Online access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. There is a 5 PDF download limit per day.
Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on and then will have to create an account with NYTimes.
New
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century.
New
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science is updated monthly and includes multi-media features embedded in articles, along with cross-referenced links. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science contains in-depth peer-reviewed articles and broad coverage of the field.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive traces the vitally important period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, these documents highlight the structure and activities of the Persian Gulf States’ and Yemen’s political system, government, judiciary, laws, military, customs, economy, finance, agriculture, natural resources, industry, communications, and media.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection consists of the testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the subjects of the Commission’s inquiry.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United States (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait on August 2, 1990.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
New
Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence.
New
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
New
This collection of case studies covers the following subjects: entrepreneurship, human resource management, international business, marketing, operations management, and more.
New
SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content- including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business case studies, and streaming video.
New
The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. The case studies show how methods are applied in real research projects. Browse cases from SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1, SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 2, and SAGE Research Methods Cases: Medicine and Health.
New
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves.
New
SAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, SAGE authors, great teachers, and more.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the documents in this collection on Saudi Arabia are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. This archive divides into two parts. The first part, 1930-1944, documents a critical period in the formation of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia; the second part, 1955-1959, illustrates the day-to-day workings of Saudi Arabia.
New
Sezgin Online: A bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition offers volumes 1-9 of Fuat Sezgin's renowned Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums (GAS), the largest bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition, particularly for the history of science and technology in the Islamic world.
New
The Slave Societies Digital Archive preserves endangered ecclesiastical and secular documents related to Africans and African-descended peoples in slave societies. SSDA holdings include more than 700,000 digital images, drawn close to 2,000 unique volumes, dating from the sixteenth through twentieth centuries that document the lives of an estimated four to six million individuals. This collection contains the most extensive serial records for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World, and also includes valuable information about the indigenous, European, and Asian populations who lived alongside them.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection describes how various denominations and non-denominational organizations began to create Sunday schools in an effort to educate the illiterate, particularly children.
New
Morocco’s strategic location has shaped its history. After gaining independence in 1956, Morocco made great strides toward economic and political liberalization. The sultan Muhammad V, ruling his newly independent nation, proclaimed his intention of turning it into a constitutional monarchy. The Moroccan government undertook a number of economic, social, and political reforms, including the drafting of a constitution. There is essential and unique documentation on a wide variety of topics relating to Moroccan internal affairs.
New
Part of the African American Studies Collection, this database includes records of the New York State Supreme Court, which include a full testimony of all witnesses, including the two who spoke in secrecy to hide their identities; preliminary motions, summations, the court's charge, the verdicts, and the sentences; and a confession made years after the trial by one of the men convicted.
New
The Treasury of Lives is a biographical encyclopedia of Tibet, Inner Asia, and the Himalayan region. Includes biographies of a wide range of figures, from Buddhist masters to artists and political officials.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this archive is sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State and includes correspondences from U.S. Consults in Alexandretta, Ezerum, Harput, Siva, and Smyrna.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection discusses aid between the U.S. and Iraq in the 1950s. The bulk of assistance was directed towards improving agricultural methods, but much also was achieved in such areas as preventive medicine, education, and administrative improvement.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection is from the Records of the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Military Operations (ODCSOPS) relating to the use of Federal marshals, U.S. Troops, and the federalized National Guard in Oxford, Mississippi, 1962-1963, on the occasion of James Meredith’s enrollment at the University of Mississippi.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this publication covers President Eisenhower's use of Federal troops and the Arkansas National Guard in the Little Rock integration crisis of 1957-1958.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection reveals details of the Federal Government's plans to militarily intervene in the 1963 March on Washington (codenamed Operation "Steep Hill") in the event the march became disorderly.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection includes records of the U.S. Operations Mission’s experiences in Saudi Arabia.
New
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
New
Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, Witchcraft in Europe and America is a comprehensive collection that offers a broad range of documents on an intriguing subject. Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts and court records of the trials of witches, including harrowing original manuscript depositions taken from the victims in the torture chamber.
New
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources.
New
Containing diverse records that explore the history of gender and women’s studies, the material in the digital archive enables scholars to examine a wide range of topics, including activist movements, women’s suffrage, and the liberation movement, and the publication of female-authored works.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...