Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

The Library provides access to these e-resources for current UVA students, faculty, and staff, but it is subject to licenses and terms of their contracts. Among other prohibitions, systematic/excessive downloading can result in suspension of access for the entire campus. We appreciate your diligence. 

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
19th Century UK Periodicals, Parts I and II This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part 1: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure/Sport Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Part 2: Empire
Discover the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the British Empire and the nineteenth-century world.
Africa and the New Imperialism This link opens in a new window
New
Uncover the history of European colonization across the African continent in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through the rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage presented within Africa and the New Imperialism.
Africa Commons: Black South African Magazines This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Black South African Magazines
Black South African Magazines is the first and only digital collection of magazines created for Black audiences in Africa from 1937 to 1973. Find over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written for Black African audiences. Coverage includes Drum, Zonk!, The Townships Housewife, Hi-Note, and others.
New
Alternate Name(s): Southern African Films and Documentaries
With content spanning the 1900s to present, Southern African Films and Documentaries offers streaming access to more than a century of African history, politics, and culture. Propaganda films from South Africa’s Information Service and newsreels from African Mirror, showing life under apartheid and major historical events as they unfolded. Documentaries and interviews, sociopolitical documentary, and feature films are all included.
American Energy Society This link opens in a new window
New
The American Energy Society is the largest association for energy professionals. Providing non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities, AES is a trusted voice with a mission to solve the world's greatest energy and environmental challenges. AES represents over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. All current publications, archives, media, tools, and services are available through the Member Portal.

Note: You must create an account using an active virginia.edu email address to activate your membership.
ArtPrice This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Artprice.com
The databases cover 700,000+ artists and public sales from 6,300 worldwide auction houses since 1962.
Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Music and Sound
This growing digital hub provides access to exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship, and a variety of learning resources across a range of subject areas in music and sound studies. The hub currently offers two collections: Bloomsbury Popular Music and Sound Studies.
Broadcasting America This link opens in a new window
New
Discover how the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society, through the lens of pioneer David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers.
Changing Men Collections This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): The Changing Men Collection Vertical Files, Archives Unbound
The Changing Men Collections (CMC) comprises the largest research collection of materials about the modern men's movement in the United States and throughout the world. Over 400 vertical files document the development of the men's movement during the last 25 years.
New
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
James Dombrowski was a southern white Methodist minister and intellectual who was active in the African American civil rights movement from the 1940s through 1960s. This collection consists of his correspondence and papers as leader of the Southern Conference for Human Welfare, 1941-1948, and executive director of the Southern Conference Educational Fund, 1948-1966.
Conflict in Indochina- Module I This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979
This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. Published in two sections, Conflict in Indochina explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959.
Trial
The Database of Latin Dictionaries consists of 25 dictionaries. Every year at least one dictionary is added and various improvements are made to the existing ones.
New
Alternate Name(s): Gale Primary Sources
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories brings together material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change.
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
New
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
HBCU Library Alliance Digital Portal This link opens in a new window
New
Celebrating the Collections of Historically Black Colleges and Universities is a compilation of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes thousands of digital objects that represent HBCU libraries first collaborative effort to make a historic collection digitally available. Collections are contributed from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance.

The collection includes photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events, representing HBCUs as cultural, social, and political institutions from the early 1800s until today.
New
Alternate Name(s): GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
Part of GALE Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry, contains detailed case files for nearly twenty thousand film projects that were submitted to the Production Code staff for consideration.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women's Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A.
New
Produced by the Shanghai Library, this database covers approximately 280,000 articles published in 302 Chinese-language periodicals between 1833 and 1911 in China. The collection includes almost all periodicals published during critical periods later known as the Opium Wars, Westernization Movement, Reform Movement of 1898 and Revolution of 1911. It contains the Women's Periodicals that advocated women's liberation and mental enlightenment, the Four Major Late Qing Dynasty Novel Journals as emerged during the great flourishing period of novels of the late Qing Dynasty, the Vernacular Chinese Periodicals founded to explore the people's mind and spread new knowledge, and the Science and Technology Periodicals which introduced new technologies and spread scientific knowledge.
New
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.
Lloyd's List This link opens in a new window
New
This free resource is probably the oldest English newspaper still published today. LLyod's List details ship movements, marine casualties, and maritime news.
Mindscape Commons This link opens in a new window
New
Mindscape Commons is the first and only database to document and deliver more than 300 immersive, interactive, and virtual-reality (VR) experiences for education in mental health, with over 150 exclusive, originally created, licensed, and commissioned experiences. VR experiences let the student walk in another’s shoes—to feel what it’s like to be bullied, suffer from depression or anxiety, be homeless, or face immigration challenges or racism. Virtual case studies put students face-to-face with patients exhibiting anxiety, trauma, and other presenting symptoms. Moments of Excellence in Counseling guide students through therapy session best practices.
Nikkei Asia- Trial access September 1-30 This link opens in a new window
Trial
Nikkei Asia, a digital medium, is changing the way in which the region is covered to enhance the world’s understanding of pan-Asian affairs. Nikkei Asia delivers exclusive coverage of Asian economic, political, business, and technology news, with unique insights on companies and financial markets.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
New
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides to a variety of subjects. UVa subscribes to all subjects.
Platino Educa This link opens in a new window
New
Platino Educa is a Spanish Language film streaming platform with over 300 films from Spain and Latin America. The films are classified by subject and cover a broad range of themes, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and social justice. The films were specifically selected for teaching and some come paired with preselected scene clips and educational guides. Films have Spanish and English subtitles.
Policy Commons: World Cities This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): World Cities
World Cities preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the world’s top 100 cities by population, capital cities with populations greater than 20,000 people, major cities in the Global South, and cities with particular research importance, such as those dealing with climate change, political instability, or rapid growth.
Projectr This link opens in a new window
New
Projectr presents a curated collection of acclaimed indie films, archival restorations, and award-winning documentaries from around the world.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
New
From 1841 to 1992, Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of wit and satire. From its early years as a campaigner for social justice to its transformation into national icon, Punch played a central role in the formation of British identity—and how the rest of the world saw the British nation.

With approximately 7,900 issues (200,000 pages) from all volumes of Punch from 1841 to 1992, including Almanacks and other special numbers (issues), as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes, and other specially produced material from the bound volumes, the images in the archive appear as originally published.
Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
New
Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture, and seminal developments across nearly a century.
New
The Congo (Zaire between 1965 and 1971; presently called Democratic Republic of the Congo) has long been considered significant because of its location, its resources, its potential, and (perhaps paradoxically) because of its weakness. The country has been at the center of a number of crises over the years, most notably following independence, during the Congo crisis of the 1960s, when there was a threat of the Cold War spilling over and heating up in Central Africa.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal affairs contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.
New
This collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal affairs contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats about Nigeria, including political relations and governmental affairs (1963-66).
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
These files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments in French Africa, and contain various materials from U.S. diplomats.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
The Anglo-American Committee of Inquiry (AACI), formed in 1945, was created to study the situation of Jewish survivors in Europe and the problems connected with their resettlement in Palestine. The records include AACI reference files, evidence submitted to the committee, transcripts of hearings, AACI reports, and papers of the Anglo-American Cabinet Committee.
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Royal Shakespeare Company Archives: From Playwrights to Performance 1889-2013
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives provides a comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Browse and compare almost 1,400 prompt books to uncover how productions took shape, and explore the creative process behind the company's most important presentations in extensive additional documentation including production records, costume designs, music files and photographs.
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
New
Part of JSTOR Primary Sources, this collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London
Testaments to the Holocaust is the online publication of the archives of the Wiener Library, London, the first archive to collect evidence of the Holocaust and the anti-semitic activities of the German Nazi Party. It contains documentary evidence collected in several different programmes: the eyewitness accounts which were collected before, during and after the Second World War, from people fleeing the Nazi oppression, a large collection of photographs of pre-war Jewish life, the activities of the Nazis, and the ghettoes and camps, a collection of postcards of synagogues in Germany and eastern Europe, most since destroyed, a unique collection of Nazi propaganda publications including a large collection of 'educational' children's' books, and the card index of biographical details of prominent figures in Nazi Germany, many with portrait photographs.
New
Alternate Name(s): Gale Primary Sources
The Times Educational Supplement Historical Archive contains every issue of TES from its first in September 1910 until December 2000. It also include supplements, inserts, special issues, and pages from the Scottish and Irish editions. It gives scholars access to a searchable archive of more than 4,000 issues of TES, comprising over 250,000 pages and more than 1,000,000 articles.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Eighteenth Century Parliamentary Papers House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 19th Century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers - 20th Century
U.K. Parliamentary Papers provides complete online coverage of the sessional papers of the British House of Commons and the 19th Century House of Lords. It includes detailed primary source for the history of Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. It covers working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy.

Access to 18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries.
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
The records include extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world's women.
New
This collection documents Patricia Lindh's and Jeanne Holm's liaison with women's groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. It includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women's Programs Director Karen Keesling.
Women's Periodicals: Social and Political Issues This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Archives Unbound
Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women's periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
New
Female Forerunners Worldwide concerns women trailblazers, both individuals and organizations, who have impacted society through social reform, popular culture, healthcare and more. This fourth installment of the Women's Studies Archive program will host women's history collections focusing on advertising and advertising to minorities; birth control and sex education; the Civil Rights movement; healthcare and women in medicine especially nursing; religion and women's missionary work; migration; minority groups esp. African American and Jewish women; women in politics; prison reform particularly female criminals and women's philanthropic organizations to improve women's prisons; psychic investigations and the paranormal and women's rights and fight for suffrage.
World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
New
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...