Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

The Library provides access to these e-resources for current UVA students, faculty, and staff, but it is subject to licenses and terms of their contracts. Among other prohibitions, systematic/excessive downloading can result in suspension of access for the entire campus. We appreciate your diligence. 

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Alternate Name(s) Nineteenth Century Collections Online
The Maps and Travel Literature archive includes a myriad of maps representing the long nineteenth century. Selections have been culled from the vast map repositories of the British Library and the National Archives at Kew.
New
Alternate Name(s) Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part I
This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents. The archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science: electricity and electromagnetism, mathematics and engineering, astronomy and astrophysics, color theory and the theory of natural selection, geology and mineralogy, chemistry and medicine.
African American Police League Records This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: African American Police League Records, 1961-1988
African American Police League Records, 1961-1988 contains annual and general reports, court files, fundraising items, historical information, minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files, newsletters, police brutality files, and publications and flyers relative to the ongoing work of the African American Police League (AAPL) and its education and action arm, the League to Improve the Community (LIC).
AM Research Skills This link opens in a new window
New
A modular tool designed to support students of the humanities and social sciences, AM Research Skills introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence.
AM Search This link opens in a new window
New
This resource searches all of the databases from primary source content provider Adam Matthew at the same time.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: American Federation of Labor: Samuel Gompers Era Records, 1877-1937
As a leader of the American Federation of Labor, Samuel Gompers (1850-1924) championed a set of tactics and an ideology, rooted in craft-union traditions, which profoundly shaped the course of American labor history. Over 350,000 pages of union documentation throw light on the momentous struggles within the American labor movement during and just after the Samuel Gompers era. Most of the records in the collection date from the formation of the AFL in 1886 until Gompers’ death in December 1924, but there are a few materials from before 1886 and after 1924.
New
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad.
New
Alternate Name(s) Archives Unbound
The letters in this collection include much discussion of aboriginal and post-contact Indian culture, so the collection invites studies of various tribes from anthropological perspectives.
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources, Archives Unbound
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: American Jewish Congress Records: Executive and Convention Files
The American Jewish Congress, founded in 1918 under the leadership of Louis Brandeis, Felix Frankfurter, and Rabbi Stephen S. Wise, is one of the most important organizations dedicated to advocating for the interests of the American Jewish community and defending the civil rights of all Americans. The American Jewish Congress Records span from 1915-2009 and document the American Jewish Congress’s impact on the United States legal system, civil rights and liberties, the fight against discrimination and antisemitism, and support for the State of Israel.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960–1975
A compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues of the challenging times chronicled span women's rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials. Kennedy files include documents from the 1960 presidential campaign and cover the major issues of the Kennedy presidency including women's rights, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, and international trade.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961
This module presents major White House files from the Truman and Eisenhower administrations.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Americans for Democratic Action Records, 1932-1999
The Americans for Democratic Action Records trace the evolution of the organization as it supported civil rights, the united international control of atomic energy, and global democracy. The collection contains records of campaigns on vital issues such as equal rights, disarmament, the Vietnam War, inflation, and unemployment.
New
Analyze the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the sixteenth through twentieth century. This database provides information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Community and Identity in North America offers perspectives on society, sexual identity, community building, and gender issues. This archive focuses on North America, with collections from Canada, the United States, and Mexico.
New
Primarily a post-World War II collection, these bureau records---consisting primarily of wire copy, as well as correspondence and newsletters---cover a broad segment of American political and social history.
New
Alternate Name(s) Washington, D.C. Bureau Records, 1915-1930
The records of the Washington, D.C. Bureau Records, 1915-1930: This collection of news dispatches from the Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Associated Press contain an unbroken chronology of world and national events as reported by the news agency. The news dispatches included in this archive were given to the Library of Congress by the bureau in 1944.
New
This collection of news dispatches from the Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Associated Press contain an unbroken chronology of world and national events as reported by the news agency. The news dispatches included in this archive were given to the Library of Congress by the bureau in 1944.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836
From 1717 through 1836 the governments of Spain and Mexico collected in San Antonio de Bexar (when that city was the capital of Texas under Spanish and Mexican rule) an amazing series of official documents detailing the military, civilian, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. Having formerly worked together on a microfilm version, now, in cooperation with the Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin, ProQuest is digitizing the Bexar Archives in History Vault.
New
Publications from 1840 to 1949 witnessed the radical changes of Chinese society from politics, economy, culture, education and other aspects, which are considered valuable historically and academically.
Among the 120,000 books collected in Books of Modern China (1840~1949), many are rare books, such as first editions of famous writers’ books.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources
Includes parts I-VI. Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Chatham House Online Archive, Module 1: 1920-1979 Chatham House Online Archive, Module 2: 1980-2008
Discover content from the Royal Institute of International Affairs, the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: CIA Cold War Research Reports and Records on Communism in China and Eastern Europe
This module consists of two major series of records: CIA Research Reports from 1946-1976 and records collected by Raymond Murphy on Communism in China and Eastern Europe from 1917-1958.
Classic Brazilian Cinema Online This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Brill Primary Sources
A unique collection of digitized historical film magazines from the 1910s to the 1960s, providing students and researchers with easy access to rare an previously dispersed sources documenting the cinematographic history of the biggest country in Latin America, Brazil.
Classic Mexican Cinema Online This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Brill Primary Sources
A database of five historic film periodicals, illuminating the Golden Age of Mexican Cinema (1930s-1960s). The database also gives access to the personal scrapbook of pioneering filmmaker Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), as well as to a collection of fifty rare lobby cards.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Confidential State Department Central Files 1960-1969: Africa & Middle East
The U.S. State Department Central Files Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: reports on political, military, and socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; and reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers. The Africa and Middle East files document a number of fascinating issues.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Confidential State Department Central Files 1960-1969: Asia
The U.S. State Department Central Files in History Vault contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats in foreign countries: special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; court proceedings and other legal documents; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; and countless translations of high-level foreign government documents. The Countries covered in this module are: China, Far East (general), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam. The files on China, Japan, and Vietnam make up the largest portion of this module.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Confidential State Department Central Files 1960-1969: Europe & Latin America
Student demonstrations, political unrest, coup d'etats, assassinations, political trials, meetings and visits of foreign leaders, economic and agricultural assistance, disputes over the use of international waters, international trade, military conflicts. These are just a small sampling of the subjects covered by Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files on the turbulent 1960s around the world.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Confidential U.S. State Department and Diplomatic Post Special Files, Asia, 1945-1966
The Confidential U.S. State Department "Special" or "Lot" Files represent a rich source for students of American foreign policy. Focusing on political affairs, economic conditions, and policy positions, these documents complement the State Department Central Files and form a foundation for in-depth study of international affairs.
Conflict in Indochina- Module I and II This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979 Conflict in Indochina : Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia, Module II: Escalation, Reunification and Withdrawal, 1965 – 1979
This collection of Foreign Office Files provides a comprehensive history of key events across Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos during a period of political upheaval, civil unrest and escalating conflict. Published in two sections, Conflict in Indochina explores the rising tension across Indochina after 1959.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine & Transjordan
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics. Early records in the collection focus on events in Palestine, Britain's policy toward Palestine, and how the situation in Palestine affected relations with other nations. The files also survey the contours of Arab politics in the wider Middle East. Since the interests, rivalries, and designs of various Arab leaders were often played out with reference to Palestine, the documents provide insight into the complex Arab world.
New
Research crime in the long nineteenth century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British, and U.S. sources.
New
Alternate Name(s) Brill Primary Sources
This primary-source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering more than a thousand writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad.
New
The Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible Online is the single major work of reference on the gods, angels, demons, spirits and semi-divine heroes whose names occur in the biblical books.
New
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. The encyclopedia contains overview articles that provide a readable synopsis of current knowledge of the major periods and varieties of the Hebrew language as well as thematically-organized entries which provide further information on individual topics.
New
The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations.
Etymological Dictionary of Greek Online This link opens in a new window
New
This dictionary is a treasure trove covering 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to lexicographers, such as Hesychius (5th century A.D.) It consists of 7500 entries with thoroughly revised etymologies.
Etymological Dictionary of Latin Online This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Etymological Dictionary of Latin Online and the other Italic Languages
This new etymological dictionary covers the entire Latin lexicon of Indo-European origin. It consists of nearly 1900 entries, which altogether discuss about 8000 Latin lemmata. All words attested before Cicero are included, together with their first date of attestation in Latin. The dictionary also includes all the inherited words found in the other ancient Italic languages, such as Oscan, Umbrian and South Picene; thus, it also serves as an etymological dictionary of Italic.
Examine This link opens in a new window
New
Examine is a database of nutrition and supplement research, it provides unbiased health and nutrition information. The website collates scientific research using evidence-based practice methodology.
Create a free account to access all features including Examine+.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: FBI Confidential Files & Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972
This module consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972.
New
Coverage: 1888-2021
An online, fully searchable facsimile, Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a near-complete run of the London edition of this internationally known daily paper, from its first issue through 2010 (part 1), 2016 (part 2), and 2021 (part 3). Every article, advertisement, and market listing is included—shown both individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
Hindi Cinema This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making
Featuring candid, unedited interviews from the private collection of author and film-maker Nasreen Munni Kabir, Hindi Cinema offers a unique insight into the film industry from the years 1950-2010 through the experiences of leading film-makers.
Historical Garden Design This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Historical Garden Design Online, Brill Primary Sources
A rich resource for garden, art and architectural historians, this primary source collection of 178 titles covers a broad range of subjects regarding the theory and practice of gardening, horticulture and garden design. Technological aspects are treated as well as garden ornaments, garden buildings, plant use, and the construction of green houses.
Immigration Records of the INS, 1880-1930 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Immigration Records of the INS, 1880-1930
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Index Buddhicus Online This link opens in a new window
New
The Index Buddhicus is the first classified comprehensive bibliography of Buddhist Studies. It describes secondary material ranging from articles, papers and chapters appearing in journals, proceedings and collections, through reference works, monographs, editions and theses, to digital resources. All entries are linked to an elaborate index of both proper names and thematic, and cross-referenced to related material.
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources, Archives Unbound
Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company's operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection.
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources
Explore diverse coverage from this international newspaper, including its runs as The New York Herald and the New York Herald Tribune.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Japanese American Incarceration: Records of the War Relocation Authority, 1942-1946
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Joint Chiefs of Staff in the Early Cold War, 1946-1960
Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff in the Early Cold War contains the formerly classified and secret proposals that, when approved by the president, became the military and foreign policies of the United States.
Kitāb al-Tabaqāt al-Kabīr This link opens in a new window
New
The Kitāb al-Ṭabaqāt al-Kabīr (Biography of Muḥammad, His Companions and the Successors up to the Year 230 of the Hijra) by Ibn Saʿd (d. 230 A.H./845 C.E.) is the earliest extant biographical dictionary on the life of the Prophet and the early generations of Muslims.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Labor Priests: Progressive Politics and the Catholic Church, Papers of John A. Ryan
The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Most of the collection consists of Ryan’s correspondence, focusing on the Catholic Church, politics, and Ryan’s writings, speaking engagements, and personal matters. The Ryan Papers also include articles, sermons, reports, pamphlets, lecture notes, scrapbooks, and a personal journal.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO & AFL-CIO
Four major national organizations are documented in substantial detail in this module: the Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration
Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration
Le Monde This link opens in a new window
New
Coverage Rolling 365-day access
Le Monde is a daily afternoon newspaper that brings the latest coverage from France, Europe, and all around the world, unique perspectives and in-depth analysis.
Le Monde in English This link opens in a new window
New
Coverage Rolling 365-day access
Le Monde is a daily afternoon newspaper that brings the latest coverage from France, Europe, and all around the world, unique perspectives and in-depth analysis.
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources
Discover moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle-class America from 1924 through 1950.
Margaret Sanger Papers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Margaret Sanger Papers
The Margaret Sanger Papers cover every aspect of the birth control movement, including the movement's changing ideologies, its campaign for legitimacy, and its internal conflicts and organizational growth.
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources, Archives Unbound
This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled:The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Nazi Looted Art & Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process
This module focuses on the diplomatic, legal and political maneuvering during and after World War II regarding German art looting in Europe, recovery of cultural objects dispersed during World War II, efforts by the U.S. and other Allied Powers to prevent the secreting of Axis assets, claims from victims for financial or property restitution from the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG), other claims cases, and meeting minutes and background materials regarding the Tripartite Commission for the Restitution of Monetary Gold. On the topic of looted art, the documents primarily relate to negotiations and litigation for return of items to legitimate owners. Many missing art treasures surfaced in the U.S., usually when individuals attempted to sell items.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: New Deal & World War II: President Roosevelt's Office Files & Records of Federal Agencies
The centerpiece of this module is President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files. These collections are: FBI Reports of the Franklin D. Roosevelt White House; Civilian Conservation Corps Press Releases; Records of the Committee on Economic Security; Department of Treasury records; and a special set of documentary records on the Roosevelt Presidency covering 50 important episodes and themes of the Roosevelt presidency.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: OSS & State Department Intelligence & Research Reports, 1941-1961
During World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War, the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department assigned leading scholars to write special, classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. At the time, the reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions, and, now, as part of History Vault, the over 3,500 reports in this module provide an excellent source for studying the major areas of the World during the period from 1941 to 1961. These reports are not contained in the State Department's foreign relations series or the armed forces' official histories.
Overton This link opens in a new window
New
Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
New
Alternate Name(s) The Picture Gallery of Chinese Modern Literature (1833~1949) Series 1-8
The Picture Gallery of Chinese Modern Literature (1833-1949), 图述百年—中国近代文献图库 contains more than one million images that have been collected from books, periodicals, newspapers, and old photos held by the Shanghai Library.
Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Pinkerton's National Detective Agency Records
During its colorful 150-year history, Pinkerton's National Detective Agency, the oldest company of private investigators in the United States, pursued some of the nation's most notorious criminals including Butch Cassidy, the Sundance Kid, Jesse James, Alfred Brady, John Dillinger, and countless others. The collection consists of an Administrative File, Criminal Case Files, and the Family Directors File.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights
This module on the Progressive Era consists of 11 collections on a variety of the ways that the Progressive Movement attempted to improve the lives of the American people. The collections cover women's right to vote, the Standard Oil monopoly case, the efforts of journalist Henry Demarest Lloyd, the University Settlement Society of New York City, prohibition, reform of law enforcement, the Teapot Dome bribery case regarding petroleum reserves on government lands, and regulation of food and drugs.
Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Progressive Era: Robert M. La Follette Papers
Congressman, Governor, and United States Senator, Robert Marion La Follette is one of the crucial figures of the Progressive Movement of the early twentieth century. This collection documents his early career in the political reform movement from 1879 to 1910.
Progressive Era: Voices of Reform This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Progressive Era: Voices of Reform
Progressive Era: Voices of Reform consists of the correspondence, writings, speeches, diaries and photographs of five leading members of the Progressive movement: John R. Commons, Charles R. Van Hise, Richard T. Ely, Edward A. Ross and Charles McCarthy.
Project Euclid This link opens in a new window
New
Project Euclid provides a platform for independent and small publishers of mathematics and statistics to continue contributing vital scholarship in these disciplines in a cost-effective way. It hosts over 100 publications from around the world, including some of the most distinguished in their fields.
Publishers Weekly Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Publishers Weekly Digital Archive
Continuously published since 1872, Publishers Weekly has consistently been the authoritative voice for US publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. The complete archive includes up to 400,000 book reviews, 5,000 author profiles/interviews, and bestseller lists from 1895 forward. This collection contains 7,860 issues comprising 684,372 pages.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Reconstruction & Military Government after the Civil War 1865-1877
From heart-wrenching personal letters to bills of lading for office supplies, this module offers remarkable insight into the early Reconstruction period in the American South. The correspondence of the U.S. Army's Office of Civil Affairs reveal efforts to foster democracy and rebuild communities in the divided and war-torn former Confederate states. The files include letters, petitions, court proceedings and internal documents related to elections. Another prominent subject is the fair administration of the election process. Troubles often arose as African Americans prepared to exercise their newly won rights to vote and run for office; many letters in the collection call for military intervention to secure these rights. Also included in this module are Letters Received by the Attorney General pertaining to law and order in southern states from 1871-1884 and records of the Freedmen's Hospital and the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company.
Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969
Though the Children's Bureau is one of the least well-known federal agencies, its records provide a rich source for an understanding of twentieth-century American society. Founded in 1912 as part of the federal government's new commitment to promoting individual and family welfare, the Children's Bureau played an active role in the design and administration of many important social welfare measures including the 1921 Sheppard-Towner Maternity and Infancy Act to reduce infant mortality and the campaign to reduce child labor in the 1930s.
New
In the series Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement, Gale opens a window onto the history of refugees and forced migration so that the thousands of scholars and students who will study—and possibly work with—refugee populations may look profitably to the primary source record of the past to help them navigate the present and the future.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Reverend J.H. Jackson and the National Baptist Convention, 1900-1990
Reverend Joseph H. Jackson was the longest-serving president of the National Baptist Convention, serving in that role from 1953-1982, and pastor at Olivet Baptist Church on Chicago’s South Side from 1941 until his death in 1990. During his presidency of the National Baptist Convention, at the height of the civil rights movement in the 1950s and 1960s, Jackson spoke about the importance of loyalty to the federal government and emphasized the ballot as the strongest weapon in obtaining civil rights. Jackson’s stance put him in conflict with other Baptist leaders, including Martin Luther King, Jr., who favored nonviolent civil disobedience to achieve civil rights reforms. The Jackson Papers span from 1889-2003 but focus on the period from 1950-1990.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Revolutionary War & Early America: MHS Collections
This module consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana.
New
Brill presents a unique collection of rare primary sources on a vital and dynamic part of the history of Turkey, Russia, the Middle East and Western Europe. These sources provide detailed insights not only in the military ebb and flow of Russian-Ottoman relations, but also in their effects on European public opinion.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
New
SAE Mobilus is a repository of technical content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) including SAE standards and technical papers
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America
This module documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade.
Socialist Party of America Records This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Socialist Party of America Records
The Socialist Party of America Papers provide an exceptional historical overview of the Socialist Party of America as it struggled to gain support and realize its goals. Documents in the collection include correspondence, position papers, memoranda, financial records, pamphlets and broadsides, and leaflets.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Struggle for Women's Rights: Organizational Records, 1880-1990
This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the National Woman's Party (NWP) was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics. The Women's Action Alliance, established in 1971 as a grass-roots organization, concerned itself with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care, and education. The League of Women Voters collection documents almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War & the Anti-Vietnam War Movement
This module consists of 14 collections representing 12 different anti-Vietnam War organizations.
Sunday Times Historical Archive: 1822-2021 This link opens in a new window
New
Boasting some 3.5 million articles and more than 800,000 digitized pages, The Sunday Times Historical Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers, and culture of the last two centuries. This archive is an important resource for the humanities and social sciences, especially in history, media studies, journalism, literature, cultural studies, politics, and theater.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources
Gain fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs with access to both the daily and Sunday editions of The Telegraph.
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933
The temperance and prohibition movement constituted an important element in American political life, social reform, and religion. Its significance as a vital force in American social history during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries deserves more thorough investigation. This module contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States.
Thomas A. Edison Papers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Thomas A. Edison Papers
Thomas A. Edison Papers documents the life, work, and vision of Thomas Edison in laboratory notebooks, diaries, business records, correspondence, and related materials. Inventor, businessman, scientist, industrialist, entrepreneur, engineer, Thomas Alva Edison developed many of the technologies that have shaped the modem world.
U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945
The State Department Diplomatic Post Records consist of correspondence and reports from American diplomats stationed around the world. Diplomatic post records contain the incoming messages from Washington, retained copies of outgoing dispatches, locally gathered information, and background material on decision making. The following countries or cities are represented in this module: Japan; Cuba; El Salvador; Honduras; Nicaragua; Iran; Iraq; Beirut; Jerusalem; Aden; Lebanon; Russia and the Soviet Union.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports offer comprehensive documentation of developments and events in the key nations of the world during the period from World War I to the final campaigns of World War II.
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Gale Primary Sources, Archives Unbound
From 1789 until the Bureau of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, Indian affairs were under the direct control of the Secretary of War, except for a government-operated factory system of trade with the Indians begun in 1795. This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter & the Women's Army Corps
Women at Work during World War II consists of two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library
These collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College consist of three distinct series of collections from the Schlesinger Library: voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Women's Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Women’s Voices and Life Writing
Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 brings together diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Featuring content from both regional and national archives across the UK and Ireland, users can explore the life course of hundreds of individuals from a diverse range of backgrounds.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: Workers, Labor Unions & the American Left in C20: Federal Records
This module consists of a wide range of collections documenting the American workers and labor unions in the 20th century, with a special emphasis on the interaction between workers and the U.S. federal government.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: World War I: British Foreign Office Political Correspondence
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence on World War I begins with the assassination of Archduke Francis Ferdinand of Austro-Hungary in July 1914 and continues through until the armistice between Germany and the Allies in November 1918, and beyond, into 1920. The documents include dispatches, reports, and telegrams.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces & Diplomacy
This module offers extensive documentation on the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) during World War I as well as materials on U.S. intelligence operations and the post-war peace process. AEF documents consist of correspondence, cablegrams, operations reports, statistical strength reports and summaries of intelligence detailing troop movements and operations of Allied and enemy forces.
New
Alternate Name(s) History Vault: World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes
This module includes President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Map Room Files, Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, Records of the War Department Operations Division, U.S. Navy Action and Operational Reports, Records of the Office of War Information, Papers of the War Refugee Board, George C. Marshall Papers, and numerous other collections.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...