Magazine of Albemarle County History
The magazine has published local history since 1940. Issues are available in Clemons Library in the reference section: F232.A3 M3.
Issues from 2000- Present are searchable and available online HERE.
Research Librarian for Architecture
Online Resources
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition is an academic version of ancestry.com. There are images of original documents and includes narratives, oral histories, indexes and abstracts to other resources. Over 30,000 Ancestry.com record collections and 11 billion records available to search. Record collections span the 1500s–2000s.
- FamilySearch.orgFree resource that allows searching of many family and genealogical records, including Census records.
- Virginia Chancery Case IndexRecords of legal matters settled in courts including property and land disputes. Search by name.
- African American Grave Search (Charlottesville and Albemarle)Last updated in 2011?
- Holsinger Collection of ImagesPhotographs from a Charlottesville photography studio.
- JUEL - Jefferson's University; the early life"JUEL is a study of what life was like in the first 50 years of the University of Virginia, from its founding through end of the Civil War. Jefferson’s vision of a secular university, dedicated to enriching public life and sustaining the new republic, was both embodied in and transformed by the people who lived, worked, and studied at the University. This project will bring together a trove of personal and administrative documents, as well as images of the university, to examine the day-to-day life of students, faculty, workers, and townspeople and their architectural and social environment."
Includes transcriptions of resources like the Journal of the Chairman of the Faculty, Faculty Minutes, the University Catalog, and more. - School Census ImagesPage images from the 1910 and 1915 School Census, and the 1916 Census of annexed school areas.
- Sammons Family Graveyard InfoInformation about a historic cemetery related to the Hydraulic Mills/Union Ridge communities.
- J.F. Bell Funeral Home RecordsJ.F. Bell Funeral Home has served the Charlottesville area since 1917. Records of the people buried by the Bell Funeral Home before 1970 were located, reorganized, and the burial information compiled into an electronic database.
Helpful Guides
- First name variants (from Virginia Memory)Variations of first name spellings found in the Virginia Memory "Virginia Untold" collection.
- Record Types for Enslaved African AmericansRecord types in the Virginia Untold collection at the Library of Virginia. A good starting point for knowing where names/people might appear in official records.
- Tips to find "missing" namesHints on phonetic variations, common abbreviations, and frequent transcription errors that may help you locate a "hidden" record.