It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diverse and inclusive resources at UVa Library and beyond
A resource created by the Graduate Student Coalition for Liberation to be used to educate readers about the long history of white supremacy in Charlottesville, Virginia. With resources selected and summaries written by UVa graduate students, this abridged version of the Syllabus is organized into six sections that offer contemporary and archival primary and secondary sources (articles, books, responses, a documentary, databases) and a list of important terms for discussing white supremacy.
A quarterly scientific journal that seeks to advance the psychological science of culture, ethnicity, and race through the publication of empirical research, as well as theoretical, conceptual, and integrative review articles that will stimulate further empirical research, on basic and applied psychological issues relevant to racial and ethnic groups that have been historically subordinated, underrepresented, or underserved.
A newsmagazine focusing on matters of access and opportunity for all in higher education, covering issues surrounding topics such as tenure, salary, faculty, students, recruitment, retention and access and equity that affect Asian Americans, Hispanics/Latinos, American Indians, people with disabilities, seniors, LGBTQIA, veterans and other underrepresented groups in higher education.
A publication that supports higher education faculty and leaders as they design and implement programs that advance civic learning and democratic engagement, global learning, and engagement with diversity to prepare students for socially responsible action in today's interdependent but unequal world. Features evidence, research, and exemplary practices to assist practitioners in creating learning opportunities that realize this vision.
An International Journal is a peer-reviewed academic journal publishing research on racial, sexual, religious, disability, and age discriminations; equal opportunities; and affirmative action. Scope EDI is published 8 times a year.
An international journal presents wide ranging and multidisciplinary perspectives on the intersection of equity, social justice, and information. The journal seeks to expand the discourse on how access to, interaction with, and the use of information by a range of populations can impact individuals, communities, and society. IJIDI is a quarterly, open access, online journal.
A journal that largely publishes empirical research focused on issues related to issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in post-secondary environments and address the experiences and outcomes of individuals from underrepresented and underserved communities, focusing on institutional barriers and challenges, patterns of access and achievement, and the impact of engaging with diverse students, faculty, and administrators.
A refereed, ISI-ranked publication journal on racism and imperialism. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.
A quarterly forum for excellent scholarship on race, ethnicity, and the justice system. The journal prioritizes rigorous empirical studies that use quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods. RAJ’s scope includes policy examinations, theory tests, program evaluations, and other types of studies that speak directly to policy, practice, or theory and advance the scholarly literature in one or more substantive areas. The journal is open to scholarship from all disciplinary origins and from countries around the globe.
A publisher of original papers that have broad implications for social scientists investigating the origins, structures, and consequences of justice in human affairs. The journal encompasses justice-related research work using traditional and novel approaches, and spanning the social sciences and beyond: psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, social policy research, political science, law, management science, and others.
The official journal of the Association of Black Nursing Faculty, Inc. It publishes original research and other health-related manuscripts, materials, and reviews written by minority and non-minority nursing faculty members in higher education. It is a linchpin for Black nursing faculty members with similar research interests and aids Black nursing faculty members in keeping current on research related to Black health care issues.
A scholarly aggregation of insightful essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews. The official publication of LLC African American of the Modern Language Association, AAR fosters a vigorous conversation among writers and scholars in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
An academic journal of Afro-Hispanic literature and culture, is published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. The journal’s mission is to promote the study of Afro-Hispanic literature and culture and to seek relations between Afro-Hispanics and other cultures and languages where black people reside.
The first modern Black studies and research journal and is currently the leading such journal in the United States. Founded on the premise that Black writers, scholars, activists and artists could participate in dialogue within its pages, TBS‘s primary mission has been to chronicle, analyze, and debate the conditions and the emancipatory efforts of Black people, across class, nationality, gender, generation, sexuality, and ideology.
The premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora. It publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide. This international showcase of arts and letters includes frequent annotated bibliographies, special issues dedicated to major writers and literary, social, and cultural themes, and full-color, original artwork and photography.
A Review devoted to research and criticism on race in the social sciences. It provides a forum for discussion and increased understanding of race and society from a range of disciplines, including but not limited to economics, political science, sociology, anthropology, law, communications, public policy, psychology, and history.
The official organ of the Southern Conference of African American Studies. It is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that accepts submissions from scholars across the nation and the diaspora and covers a range of issues related to Black life and culture world wide. Each issue also features contemporary poetry and book reviews.
The second-oldest student-run review published annually by the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Created as an effort to promote, discuss and disseminate perspectives affecting communities of color, its mission is to educate and empower in order to improve the quality of public policies affecting the African American community specifically and the African diaspora at-large.
A journal that publishes on ethnic and cultural communication, gender and ethnic representations in the media and interracial issues. It serves as a forum for researchers as well as policy and decision makers who seek to use research as the frame for social awareness and change. The journal has a strong history of providing space and voice for persons and ideas that would otherwise be silenced.
A journal publishes in 1 annual volume consisting of no less than 3 issues that contain articles, essays, and book reviews authored by legal scholars, as well as notes and comments authored by Howard Law Journal members. Consistent with the law school mission, the Journal is dedicated to promoting the civil and human rights of all people, in particular to groups who have been the target of subordination and discrimination.
Founded in 1916 as The Journal of Negro History by Dr. Carter G. Woodson. It is the leading scholarly publication in the field of African American history. Published by the University of Chicago Press on behalf of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH), JAAH publishes original scholarly articles and book reviews on all aspects of the African American experience.
A journal that examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent. The journal features empirical, methodological, and theoretical papers as well as literary criticism.
A leading forum on the psychological study of Black populations for more than 35 years. Founded and sponsored by the Association of Black Psychologists, it presents the most innovative scholarly research and theory on the behavior of Black and other populations from Black or Afrocentric perspectives.
For the last third of a century, the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, JBS offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans.
Founded at Howard University in 1932, one of the oldest continuously published periodicals by and about Black people. Reflects the international scope of interest in educational issues affecting people of African descent and other people of color throughout the world. Launched with threefold mission related to Black people's education: to stimulate the collection and facilitate the dissemination of facts, to present discussions involving critical appraisals of the proposals and practices, and to sponsor investigations of issues incident.
The first issue of The Negro Educational Review was published in January 1950. The Review matured as a scholarly organ and became firmly established and respected nationally and internationally. The Review addresses issues related to the experiences of Black people throughout the African Diaspora.
A periodical journal that supports, through publication and critical inquiry, the contemporary poetry, fiction, drama/performance, visual and media art of Africans globally. It celebrates over forty-five years of continuous publication as a premier platform dedicated to African and African Diaspora Literatures.
A refereed, ISI-ranked publication journal on racism and imperialism. For three decades it has established a reputation for the breadth of its analysis, its global outlook and its multidisciplinary approach.
A quarterly forum for excellent scholarship on race, ethnicity, and the justice system. The journal prioritizes rigorous empirical studies that use quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods. RAJ’s scope includes policy examinations, theory tests, program evaluations, and other types of studies that speak directly to policy, practice, or theory and advance the scholarly literature in one or more substantive areas. It is open to scholarship from all disciplinary origins and from countries around the globe.
A leading outlet for research that examines issues related to the economic status of African-Americans, the African diaspora throughout the world. RBPE promotes scholarship on economic inequality and provides a viable forum where scholars can express their views on matters of public policy relevant to the economic well-being of marginalized populations.
Inspired by two academic publications initiated by W.E.B. Du Bois: The Atlanta University Series of research readers published in the late 19th-early 20th century; and Phylon journal, founded by Du Bois at Atlanta University in 1940. Its strategic objective is to use Du Boisian social and political theory as a starting point for challenging our understanding of history, politics, social theory, and culture in ways that create new possibilities for a democratic praxis and pursuit of social justice.
A unique forum for the freshest, most compelling ideas from and about the Black world. Since its founding in Uganda in 1961, the magazine has kept apace of the rapid transformation of the African Diaspora and has remained a leading forum of intellectual debate. Transition is a publication of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University.
Abya Yala News, the journal of the South and Mesoamerican Indian Rights Center (SAIIC). Abya Yala News provided a unique source of news and analysis relating to Indigenous issues in Meso and South America from Indigenous peoples' perspectives
This international journal presents scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world, including American Indian cultures. The journal spans themes of transforming places, peoples, communities, cultures, histories and colonialism.
The American Indian Culture and Research Journal, one of the premier journals in Native American studies, publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
The American Indian Journal, in a format which combines the old Legislative Review and Education Journal. The scope of this magazine will be widened to included articles and book reviews dealing with the Indian political scene, arts, culture, philosophy, history, and legal issues.
The American Indian Law Newsletter begins with this issue as a review of Federal legislation that affects Indian Affairs. It is experimental and designed to ascertain whether a weekly publication of its kind will be useful to lawyer and other involved in Indian Affairs.
The American Indian Law Review is a student-run biannual law review affiliated with the University of Oklahoma College of Law. The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and Indigenous peoples worldwide.
A periodical journal committed to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits. It is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering studies on the indigenous peoples of North and South America.
The Circle is published monthly by The Circle Corporation, and has been publishing since 1980. The Circle is dedicated to presenting news from a Native American perspective, while granting an equal opportunity to community voices.
The Indigenous Nations Journal was published by the Indigenous Studies program and the University of Kansas. An interdisciplinary publication juried by its peers, the Journal is geared toward those who have an interest in issues facing indigenous people. The Journal has published contributions that fall within the scope of Indigenous Peoples, communities, and issues in history, law, cultural studies, literature, and language. The Journal is no longer being published.
Indigenous Policy Journal (IPJ) publishes articles, commentary, reviews, news, and announcements concerning Native American and international Indigenous affairs, issues, events, nations, groups and media. We invite commentary and dialogue in and between issues.
Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a refereed journal featuring original scholarship on education issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including First Nations, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, and Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Scandinavia, Africa, and others. JAIE strives to improve Indigenous education through empirical research, knowledge generation, and transmission to researchers, communities, and other educational settings.
Based in North America but seeks to bridge the distances across the Indigenous world. The editors of NAIS are committed to creating a dynamic intellectual space for the communication and dissemination of excellent scholarship related to Indigenous Studies.
Latin American Indian Literatures Journal is a blind-refereed journal that publishes texts of and studies about Latin American Indian literatures, including Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts and rock art, book reviews, and bibliography.
The late 1960s and early 1970s saw an increase of Native American activism and the rise of "Red Power" as an activist movement demanding greater educational and economic opportunities and tribal rights. The establishment of an active Native American press, with publications like NARP Newsletter, Many Smokes, and Native Movement, that championed such key issues as Native American rights, religious freedom, equal education, and preserving community, language and tribal sovereignty.
NAJA serves and empowers Native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures. NAJA educates and unifies its membership through journalism programs that promote diversity and defends challenges to free press, speech and expression. NAJA is committed to increasing the representation of Native journalists in mainstream media.
Native American Rights Fund (NARF) has provided legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who might otherwise have gone without adequate representation. NARF has successfully asserted and defended the most important rights of Indians and tribes in hundreds of major cases, and has achieved significant results in such critical areas as tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, natural resource protection, and Indian education.
The Native American Times was a statewide newspaper Tahlequah, Oklahoma which began print circulation in December 2009. As Native Times it continues to publish original articles online as well as other articles from competitors and reputable news agencies.
Native Americas is one of Cornel University's most prominent and highly respected publications. This journal addresses the issues of concern to indigenous peoples in the Western Hemisphere are now issues of concern for the world.
The magazine features articles on the arts and lifestyles of Native Americans. The Heard Museum is home to the Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives — a comprehensive research facility offering extensive information about indigenous art and cultures from around the world and an unparalleled resource collection on nearly 25,000 American Indian artists.
The Ojibwe News/Native American Press (ON/NAP) was a publication of the Native American Press Company that served Bemidji and St. Paul, Minnesota. The Ojibwe News was founded by Bill Lawrence in 1988; he then also began publishing the Native American Press in 1991.
Only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures. SAIL invites the submission of scholarly, critical pedagogical, and theoretical manuscripts focused on any aspect of American Indian literatures, the submission of poetry and short fiction, bibliographical essays, review essays, and interviews. It defines "literatures" broadly to include all written, spoken, and visual texts created by Natives.
A nonprofit media organization operating under the auspices of the American Indian Higher Education Consortium. The quarterly magazine, website, and e-newsletters address American Indian and Alaska Native higher education. AIHEC, Tribal College Journal, and the American Indian College Fund work together to spread the word about tribal colleges that create bright circles of hope on their reservations with the glowing faces of their graduates at the center.
The Tribal Law Journal was established in fall 1998 for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations. The internal law of indigenous nations encompasses traditional law, western law adopted by indigenous nations, and a blend of western and indigenous law.
Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal devoted to the mission of assisting indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits. During the past two decades, American Indian studies has emerged as a central arena in which indigenous populations in the United States define the cultural, religious, legal and historical parameters of scholarship and creativity essential to the ongoing process of decolonization and to survival in the modern world. Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review is a journal in support of this particular type of scholarship, providing inquiries into the Indian past and its relationship to the vital present.
Since 1971, the Center Press has published Amerasia Journal, the leading interdisciplinary journal in Asian American Studies. Amerasia Journal has benefited from and reflected a wide array of profound social changes that have occurred among Asian Americans & Pacific Islanders - be it their unprecedented growth and diversification, or their ever-increasing levels of access, representation, and achievement in American society's institutions and sectors that had long excluded, marginalized, or demonized them.
An online review that analyzes global political, economic, security, energy and environmental issues, with specific emphasis on the Asia-Pacific region, and aims to provide readers with excellent insights on a variety of crucial topics. It publishes articles written by leading scholars, diplomats, politicians and business people who are actively involved in making decisions that affect the Asia-Pacific region in the twenty-first century.
The Asian American Journal of Psychology is the official publication of the Asian American Psychological Association and is dedicated to research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy within Asian American psychology. The Journal publishes empirical, theoretical, methodological, and practice oriented articles and book reviews covering topics relevant to Asian American individuals and communities, including prevention, intervention, training, and social justice. Particular consideration is given to empirical articles using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodology.
The Asian American Law Journal (AALJ) is one of only two law journals in the United States focusing on Asian American communities in its publication agenda.AALJ serves dual purposes for the Asian Pacific American and legal communities. First, the journal sets a scholarly foundation for exploring the unique legal concerns of Asian Pacific Americans. Second, AALJ seeks to put that scholarship in action and open the dialogue between those who study law and those who are affected by it.
Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies focuses on the production, collection, and distribution of accessible high quality research on Asian American Literature for students, teachers, and the general public. By emphasizing pedagogical approaches to Asian American literature, AALDP provide a conduit for theoretical analyses to be used in the classroom to elevate discussions around Asian American literature and culture.
Founded in 1989, the Harvard University Asian American Policy Review is the first non-partisan academic journal in the country dedicated solely to analyzing public policy issues facing the Asian Pacific American community. It is produced at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. As the journal completes one decade of publication, it remains dedicated to filling a crucial gap by providing a forum for meaningful public debate, and to serve as an important resource for practitioners, policy-makers, and academics.
Asian Pacific American Law Journal (APALJ) focuses exclusively on the legal, social, and political issues affecting Asian Pacific American communities. APALJ plays an important role by providing a forum for legal scholars, practitioners, and students to communicate about emerging concerns and by disseminating these writings to the general population, and seeks to facilitate discourse on issues affecting South Asian, Southeast Asian, East Asian, and Pacific Islander communities in the United States.
A journal that promotes cross-cultural understanding, tolerance, and the dissemination of knowledge about the Asia Pacific. Articles adopt a comparative, interdisciplinary approach to issues of interrelatedness in the region. Published by the University of San Francisco Center for Asia Pacific Studies.
A publisher of an academic research in geography and allied disciplines on the economic and social development of the Asia Pacific. Particular attention is paid to the interplay between development and the environment and to the growing interconnections between countries in the region.
A periodical journal that provides readers with historical perspectives, in-depth analyses, and a deeper understanding of China and Chinese culture. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including anthropology/sociology, literature and the arts, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics.
Chinese Historical Society of America collects, preserves, and illuminates the history of Chinese in America by serving as a center for research, scholarship and learning to inspire a greater appreciation for, and knowledge of, their collective experience through exhibitions, public programs, and any other means for reaching the widest audience.
The Contemporary Pacific provides comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. It features refereed articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics, along with political reviews, book and media reviews, resource reviews, art, and a dialogue section with interviews and short essays.
Challenges the accepted formulas for understanding the Asia and Pacific regions, the world, and ourselves. It provides alternatives to the prevailing trends in scholarship on Asia, which too often spring from a parochial cultural perspective and serve selfish interests and expansionism.
GJAPS is a peer-reviewed electronic journal that showcases the original work of graduate students. Taking advantage of online publishing, GJAPS aims to be at once dynamic, interdisciplinary and innovative. GJAPS will publish thought-provoking interdisciplinary articles, reviews, commentary and visual works that engage critical issues, themes and debates related to the Asia-Pacific region and its peoples.
Hūlili examines the nature, needs, and strengths of Kānaka Maoli and Native Hawaiian communities. Through collaboration and critique, Hūlili fosters new connections and shared insights to mobilize greater Hawaiian well-being.
Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas.
This refereed journal is dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts. Its remit is broad: from prehistory to the present. It publishes articles in political, economic, religious and cultural history, analysis of contemporary developments, critical surveys and comment. It also publishes primary documents, notes on source materials, reviews and review essays on books, exhibitions and other media.
The Journal of Southeast Asian American Education and Advancement is an online and freely accessible interdisciplinary journal providing a forum for scholars and writers from diverse fields who share a common interest in Southeast Asian (SEA) Americans and their communities.
Established in 1972, the Center has for more than four decades pursued its founding vision of developing and promoting Korean studies internationally. With more than forty faculty members offering courses or conducting research related to Korea, the Center has by far the largest number of Korean-studies scholars in any educational institution outside Korea.
Mānoa is published semiannually, and includes American and international fiction, poetry, artwork, interviews, and essays, including memoirs. A notable feature of each issue is original translations of contemporary work from Asian and Pacific nations, selected for each issue by a special guest editor. Mānoa, meaning 'vast and deep' in the Hawaiian language, presents both traditional and contemporary writings from the entire Pacific Rim.
Contains 6,500 full-text Chinese journals and more than 1,300 Core journals. It covers many disciplines including cultural, education, philosophy, social science, engineering, and medicine. This database not only provides users with the traditional PDF format, it also enables users to stream full articles and journals to their mobile devices.
Disability & Society is an international disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of constant change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
Technology and Disability communicates knowledge about the field of assistive technology devices and services, within the context of the lives of end users - persons with disabilities and their family members. Technology and Disability"s contents cover research and development efforts, education and training programs, service and policy activities and consumer experiences.
Sexuality and Disability is an international forum for the publication of peer-reviewed original interdisciplinary scholarly papers that address the psychological and medical aspects of sexuality in relation to rehabilitation. Publishing timely research articles, review articles, case studies, clinical practice reports, brief research reports, survey data reports, and book and film reviews, the journal offers the latest developments in the area of sexuality as it relates to a wide range of disabilities and conditions.
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society.
The African Disability Rights Yearbook (ADRY) is a peer-reviewed journal that is published once a year with 2013 as its augural year. ADRY aims to advance disability scholarship. Coming in the wake of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, it exclusively focus on disability as human rights on the African continent. It provides an annual forum for scholarly analysis on issues pertaining to the human rights of persons with disabilities.
The African Journal of Disability introduce and discuss issues and experiences relating to and supporting the act of better understanding the interfaces between disability, poverty and practices of exclusion and marginalisation. Its articles yield new insight into established human development practices, evaluate new educational techniques and disability research, examine current cultural and social discrimination, and bring serious critical analysis to bear on problems shared across the African continent.
Journal of Disability Studies’ is an International, multidisciplinary, peer reviewed / refereed open access journal. The areas covered by Journal include all type of disabilities and a wide range of advanced fields such as:
Psychosocial Prospective of Disability, Disability Assessment, Disability Prevention, Treatment and Rehabilitation, Disability in Academia, Disability Research, Disability and Social Stigma or Exclusion/Discrimination, Disability in the context of Development, Disability and Gender, Disability Legislation and all other allied studies related to disability.
Focusing on representations of disability, Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability. Instrumental in the interdisciplinarity of literary studies, cultural studies, and disability studies, It is an essential disability studies journal for scholars whose work concentrates on the portrayal of disability.
Disability and Health Journal is a scientific, scholarly, and multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions that advance knowledge in disability and health. Topics may be related to global health, quality of life, and specific health conditions as they relate to disability.
The National Council on Disability (NCD) recognizes that all Americans have the right to pursue lives with equal opportunity, full community participation, independent living, and economic self-sufficiency. However, people with disabilities live in poverty at more than twice the rate of people without disabilities. It is imperative that we examine the interconnected nature of poverty and the barriers that people with disabilities face in order to determine how existing programmatic structures can be improved to better meet the needs of people with disabilities.
Disability, CBR and Inclusive Development aims to enhance knowledge in the field of disability and inclusive development, addressing the needs of practitioners in the field (particularly those from developing countries), policy makers, disabled persons’ organisations and the scientific community. The journal encourages publication of information that is evidence-based, to improve policy,current knowledge and programme implementation, and will be openly and freely accessible to all readers.
Scandinavian Journal of Disability Research is an international peer-reviewed journal aiming to disseminate innovative, high quality, social research on disability, which enables critical reflection on the position of people with disabilities in different societal contexts.
Disability and the Global South (DGS) is the first peer reviewed international journal committed to publishing high quality work focused exclusively on all aspects of the disability experience in the global South. It provides an interdisciplinary platform prioritising material that is critical, challenging, and engaging from a range of epistemological perspectives and disciplines.
The Journal of Disability & Religion provides an interfaith, interdisciplinary forum for people interested in the intersections of religion, disability, human services, and academic research to come together, meet, and learn. The aim of this exchange is to support people with disabilities and their families as well as those who are working with them in the purview of their faith communities and traditions.
The Journal of Disability Policy Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal that covers the field of disability studies, including issues in ethics, public policy, and the law related to individuals with disabilities.
The content of IJDDE reflects a variety of topics, disciplines, research methods and cultural perspectives. Various orientations are represented, including education and special education, psychology, allied health, social work and psychiatry. Contributions from developed and developing countries ensure a truly international perspective.
The Journal of Intellectual Disabilities is a peer reviewed journal that provides a medium for the exchange of best practice, knowledge and research between academic and professional disciplines from education, social and health settings to bring about advancement of services for people with intellectual and learning disabilities. The idea of a practice-led journal is both exciting and timely.
Bitch Media’s mission is to provide and encourage an engaged, thoughtful feminist response to mainstream media and popular culture. Bitch seeks to be a fresh, revitalizing voice in contemporary feminism, one that welcomes complex arguments and refuses to ignore the contradictory and often uncomfortable realities of life in an unequivocally gendered world.
Curve is a global lesbian media project. It covers news, politics, social issues, and includes celebrity interviews and stories on entertainment, pop culture, style, and travel. Curve magazine became a not-for-profit project of The Curve Foundation.
Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies, has established a critical forum where the problematic of differences is explored in texts ranging from the literary and the visual to the political and social. "Differences" highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference--notably but not exclusively gender--operate within culture.
Feminist Media Studies provides a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies, with attention to the historical, philosophical, cultural, social, political, and economic dimensions and analysis of sites including print and electronic media, film and the arts, and new media technologies.
The Review is a peer-reviewed publication that is available online through the Australian Psychological Society website. Its remit is to encourage research that challenges the stereotypes and assumptions of pathology that have often inhered to research on lesbians and gay men (amongst others). The aim of the Review is thus to facilitate discussion over the direction of lesbian and gay psychology in Australia, and to provide a forum within which academics, practitioners and lay people may publish.
Gender & Society, the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, is a top-ranked journal in sociology and women's studies and publishes less than 10% of all papers submitted to it. Articles analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal publishes empirical articles, along with reviews of books. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
The journal provides a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and womenís studies. Key concerns include: geographical variations in gender divisions, gender relations and structures of oppression the socio-cultural construction and the cultural politics of gender the intersections between gender, ëraceí, ethnicity, nationality, sexuality, class, age and other social divisions in relation to space, place and nature.
Since its founding in 1993, the journal has critically explored a range of cross-cutting issues in the areas of gender and development. It is a trailblazer in establishing inclusive and decolonialist approaches to knowledge creation and management in the wider international humanitarian and development sectors.
Gender and education is a broad category where several thematic strands of inquiry emerge: socialization in schools, the social experience of schooling, textbooks/books/curriculum, educational attainment, educators/education workers, higher education, and cross-cultural educational practices.
Gender & History is a major international journal for the research and writing on the history of femininity, masculinity and gender relations. Spanning epochs and continents, Gender & History examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts.
Gender and Language is the only single scholarly journal to offer an international forum for research on and debates about feminist research on gender and language. It showcases research on femininities and masculinities, on heterosexual and queer identities, on gender at the level of individual performance or perception and on gender at the level of institutions and ideologies.
Gender in Management (GM) focuses on empirical research, theoretical developments, practice and current issues, addressing broad-ranging social issues, political and legislative decisions, social and educational policy and economic factors within the context of gender, management and leadership advancing knowledge and practice in the field.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal based published by Duke University Press. It was co-founded by David M. Halperin and Carolyn Dinshaw in the early 1990s. In its mission, the journal seeks "to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality."
A periodical journal that focuses on, among other issues, violence as a phenomenon, the social organisation of the family, the invisibility of women's work, institutional and policy analyses, women and politics, and motherhood and child care. It is a bulletin of the Centre for Women's Development Studies, New Delhi, India.
The International Journal of Transgender Health (IJTH) is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering research on gender dysphoria and gender incongruence, the medical treatment of transgender individuals, social and legal acceptance of gender affirming surgery, and professional and public education on transgender health.
The International Journal of Transgender Health (IJTH) is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering research on gender dysphoria and gender incongruence, the medical treatment of transgender individuals, social and legal acceptance of gender affirming surgery, and professional and public education on transgender health.
This peer-reviewed journal emphasizes original research articles, critical reviews of the literature, reports of innovative programs for LGBT mental health care training and delivery, and case reports that advance our understanding of LGBT mental health. Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health also strives to cover the full spectrum of sexual and gender minority populations -- lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer, and gender-queer.
The Journal of Gender, Agriculture and Food Security (Agri-Gender) is an international, open access, peer-reviewed and refereed journal published by the Africa Centre for Gender, Social Research and Impact Assessment. The main objective of Agri-Gender is to provide an intellectual platform for international scholars to publish their research work on gender, agriculture and food security. The journal aims to promote interdisciplinary research related to gender and the agricultural and food sciences.
An interdisciplinary journal which publishes articles relating to gender and sex from a feminist perspective covering a wide range of subject areas including the Social, Natural and Health Sciences, the Arts, Humanities, Literature and Popular Culture.
The Journal of Lesbian Studies examines the cultural, historical, and interpersonal impact of the lesbian experience on society, keeping all readers – professional, academic, or general – informed and up-to-date on current findings, resources, and community concerns. The journal fosters new scholarship without cutting ties to grassroots activism. It gives the lesbian experience an international and multicultural voice, presenting book reviews, poetry, letters to the editor, debates, and commentaries.
An international interdisciplinary research forum dedicated to improving the quality of life for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, two-spirit, intersex, queer, questioning, and allied youth. The wide-ranging topics include, but are not limited to formal and non-formal education, family, work, health, sports, leisure, law, media, peer culture, religious/faith-based institutions, and the visual, performance, and creative arts.
This interdisciplinary journal advances the fields of Middle East gender, sexuality, and women's studies through the contributions of academics, artists, and activists from around the globe working in the interpretive social sciences and humanities. JMEWS publishes area-specific research informed by transnational feminist, sexuality, masculinity, and cultural theories and scholarship.
The Journal of the History of Sexuality illuminates the history of sexuality in all its expressions, recognizing various differences of class, culture, gender, race, and sexual orientation. Spanning geographic and temporal boundaries, JHS provides a much-needed forum for historical, critical, and theoretical research in this field.
An online journals, published by Center for Gender and Child Studies, Imam Bonjol Padang State Islamic University, covers crosscuting issues on gender studies, in the perspectives of religion, education, law, politics, psychology, sociology, anthropology, culture and Islam. The objective of the journal is to promote the sharing of knowledge and understanding on gender issues.
Politics & Gender is an agenda-setting journal that publishes the highest quality scholarship on gender and politics and on women and politics. It aims to represent the full range of questions, issues, and approaches on gender and women across the major subfields of political science, including comparative politics, international relations, political theory, and U.S. politics.
Psychology of Men & Masculinities is devoted to the dissemination of scholarship that advances the psychology of men and masculinities. This discipline is defined broadly as the study of how boys' and men's lives are connected to both gender and sex as well as the cultural and individual meanings associated with boys and men. The field encompasses the social construction of gender, sex differences and similarities, and biological processes.
A quarterly scholarly journal dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity, PSOGD is envisioned as the primary outlet for research particularly as it impacts practice, education, public policy, and social action.
Psychology of Women Quarterly (PWQ) is a feminist, scientific, peer-reviewed journal that publishes empirical research, critical reviews and theoretical articles that advance a field of inquiry, teaching briefs, and invited book reviews related to the psychology of women and gender. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking brings together scholars, activists, public intellectuals, artists, and policy and culture makers to discuss, debate, and mobilize issues and initiatives that matter to the diverse lived experience, struggle, and transformation of GLBTQ peoples and communities wherever they may be. With an emphasis on worldmaking praxis, QED seeks to foster intellectual and activist work through essays, commentaries, interviews, roundtable discussions, and book and event reviews.
Sex Roles: A Journal of Research is a global, multidisciplinary, scholarly, social and behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses.
Sexualities is an established international journal and an invaluable resource, publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities. The journal adopts a broad, interdisciplinary perspective covering the whole of the social sciences, cultural history, cultural anthropology and social geography, as well as feminism, gender studies, cultural studies and lesbian and gay studies.
Sexuality Research and Social Policy is an international forum for the publication of original peer-reviewed state-of-the-art empirical research on sexuality, theoretical and methodological discussions, and the implications of this evidence for policies across the globe regarding sexual health, sexuality education, and sexual rights in diverse communities.
Transgender Health is the first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity.
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives. It publishes interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship.
Violence and Gender is the only peer-reviewed journal focusing on the role of gender in the understanding, prediction, and prevention of acts of violence. The Journal is the international forum for the critical examination of biological, genetic, behavioral, psychological, racial, ethnic, and cultural factors as they relate to the gender of perpetrators of violence. The journal explores the difficult issues that are vital to threat assessment and prevention of the epidemic of violence
Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, double-blind peer-reviewed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dossier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor, Charlene Villaseñor Black. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
The Bulletin of Latin American Research (BLAR) publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities.
The leading peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated entirely to the field of Puerto Rican Studies. The journal—published continuously since 1987—is dedicated to publishing the latest work from scholars in a wide range of academic traditions, in order to enhance and advance the field of Puerto Rican Studies.
Chicana/Latina Studies: The Journal of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, biannual flagship publication of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS). This feminist Chicana/Latina and Indigenous academic organization is dedicated to building bridges between community and university settings, transforming higher education, and promoting new paradigms and methods.
The Chicanx-Latinx Law Review (CLLR) has provided an essential forum for the discussion of central issues affecting the Latino community that "mainstream" law journals continue to ignore. In publishing Volume One, the Review introduced to the nation the first legal journal that recognized how common law, statutes, legislative policy and politically popular propositions impact the Latino community.
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures is a peer-reviewed humanities publication dedicated to both critical inquiry and cultural expression. Chiricú showcases new scholarship from diverse disciplines as well as creative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, the visual arts, interviews, personal essays, and reviews of books, film, and exhibitions. Each issue is thematic in nature and capacious in scope.
Colonial Latin American Review (CLAR) is a unique interdisciplinary journal devoted to the study of the colonial period in Latin America. The journal was created in 1992, in response to the growing scholarly interest in colonial themes related to the Quincentenary. With the conviction that this dialogue will enrich the emerging field of Latin American colonial studies, CLAR offers a critical forum where scholars can exchange ideas, revise traditional areas of inquiry and chart new directions of research.
Diálogo, an Interdisciplinary Studies Journal is a refereed journal published since 1996 (biannually since 2012) by the Center for Latino Research at DePaul University in Chicago, and with production and subscriptions handled by the University of Texas Press. Diálogo seeks research articles of regional and national contexts with focus on diverse Latin American and U.S. Latino populations and experiences, recent immigration and places of origin, including indigenous experience.
Scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers most subjects, but particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, sociology.
Founded in 1985 at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, the Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy is an academic non-partisan review that publishes works on politics and policy. It is one of the premiere publications in the nation that focuses on the policy issues that impact the U.S. Latino/a community.
Hispanic American Historical Review (HAHR) pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture.
Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences (HJB) publishes empirical articles, multiple case study reports, critical reviews of literature, conceptual articles, reports of new instruments, & scholarly notes of theoretical or methodological interest to Hispanic populations. Distinguished multidisciplinary experts offer scholarly articles on the latest behavioral research, including cultural assimilation, communication barriers, intergroup relations, employment discrimination, substance abuse, family dynamics, & poverty.
Tiene como objetivo, fomentar el debate académico internacional que permita construir el conocimiento y mejorar la comprensión de los procesos de inclusión como parte esencial de los diferentes ámbitos del desarrollo humano.
The Journal of Hispanic Higher Education (JHHE) is a quarterly international journal devoted to the advancement of knowledge and understanding of issues at Hispanic-serving institutions. JHHE maintains a broad focus and accepts the highest quality scholarly, creative and practical articles that combine research with application, fostering the integration of theory and practice.
Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in development studies, economics, geography, history, politics and international relations, public policy, sociology and social anthropology. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, short thematic commentaries on key issues, and an extensive section of book reviews.
The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) seeks to be reflective of the shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations across borders and throughout the Americas. The journal emphasizes the collective understanding of Latino issues in the U.S. while recognizing the growing importance of transnationalism and the porous borders of Latino/Latin American identities.
The Journal of Latinx Psychology is committed to publishing scholarly writing on research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy relevant to Latino communities. Articles contribute to the knowledge of Latinx psychology through research, methodological innovation, and inquiry; development and advancement of theories pertinent to Latinxs; education and training of psychologists to work with Latinxs; social justice and advocacy in Latinx communities; application of research and training to advance policy related to Latinx individuals and communities; and use quantitative, qualitative, or mixed-method approaches.
Latin American and Caribbean Ethnic Studies (LACES) is a cross-disciplinary venue for quality research on ethnicity, race relations, and indigenous peoples. It is open to case studies, comparative analysis and theoretical contributions that reflect innovative and critical perspectives, focused on any country or countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, written by authors from anywhere in the world.
Latin American Perspectives is a theoretical and scholarly journal for discussion and debate on the political economy of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas. Most issues focus on a single problem, nation, or region, providing an in-depth look from participants and scholars throughout the Americas. This is journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
The Latin American Research Review (LARR) publishes original research and review essays on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latina/Latino studies. LARR covers the social sciences and the humanities, including the fields of anthropology, economics, history, literature and cultural studies, political science, and sociology. The journal reviews and publishes papers in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Each brief in this series contains a summary of recent research by CSRC-affiliated scholars in a concise four-page format. Each looks at a critical issue facing Chicano and Latino communities. Among the areas of study are K-12 and postsecondary education, hate speech, public health, and discrimination in commercial media.
This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos is a bilingual, international scholarly journal dedicated to providing a unique and essential forum for the dissemination of cutting-edge research relating to Mexico, broadly defined. Analyzing cultural, historical, political, social, economic, artistic, and scientific factors, and engaging a range of disciplinary frameworks, fields and approaches, articles contribute to understanding and knowledge of contemporary and historical issues.
Find articles in journals from 24 Latin American and Caribbean countries. CLASE covers journals specializing in social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
The US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal is a research publication created to mine, showcase, and promote the rich field of oral history as it relates specifically to the US Latina and Latino experience. Manuscripts are blind peer-reviewed and represent best practices of oral history and the highest research standards. The University of Texas Press publishes the journal for UT-Austin’s Center for Mexican American Studies (CMAS) with support by the Voces Oral History Project at the university's School of Journalism.