It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Diverse and inclusive resources at UVa Library and beyond
Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory, a project to digitize historic collections for the National Digital Library. Digital primary historical materials include papers of Frederick Douglass held at LC, materials related to Jackie Robinson's break through baseball's color line, and selections of slave narratives and 19th century pamphlets.
Afriterra is an archive of antique maps and books related to Africa. Their mission is the collection and preservation of the history of Africa, as recorded by maps. The collection includes maps in various languages of all regions of Africa, dating from 1482 to 1900. Many of the maps in this collection may be viewed on the website.
The Amistad Research Center was founded in 1966 by the American Missionary Association, with the mission of collecting original sources on the histories of America's ethnic minorities, particularly African Americans, Native Americans, Latinos, and Asian Americans." The Center, which is now housed on the Tulane University campus in New Orleans, contains manuscripts of importance to the study of ethnic history and race relations in the United States.
The oldest ethnic studies association in the United States, the Association for Ethnic Studies (AES) was founded in 1972. A non-profit organization, AES provides an interdisciplinary forum for scholars and activists concerned with the national and international dimensions of race and ethnicity.
We continue his legacy of speaking a fundamental truth to the world–that Africans and peoples of African descent are makers of history and co-workers in what W. E. B. Du Bois called, “The Kingdom of Culture.” ASALH’s mission is to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History, to be, in short, the nexus between the Ivory Tower and the global public. We labor in the service of Blacks and all humanity.
BlackPast.org includes an online encyclopedia, transcripts of over 125 speeches given between 1789 and 2008, over 100 primary documents, and links to dozens of digital archive collections. BlackPast.org originated as online project of Quintard Taylor, the Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the University of Washington, and his graduate assistant, George Tamblyn, to post reference materials to supplement Taylor’s class lectures.
This is part of the University of North Carolina's Documenting the American South project. It includes autobiographies, church documents, sermons, and histories. The texts present a history of how African Americans in the South "experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life." "It focuses [...], on how the black community adapted evangelical Christianity, making it a metaphor for freedom, community, and personal survival."
The King Center was established in 1968 by Coretta Scott King. The website includes biographical information on Martin Luther King, Jr. and Coretta Scott King, as well as bibliographies of suggested readings.
Based at Stanford University, this project is "a major research effort to assemble and disseminate historical information concerning Martin Luther King, Jr. and the social movements in which he participated." At the website, you can find chronologies, King sound clips, biographical information, an online King encyclopedia, and more.
"The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting,
preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world."
This webpage provides information on the Malki Museum, located in Banning on the Morongo Reservation. Additional links are provided to its publications including the Journal of California and Great Basin Anthropology.
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.
A service of the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, this website has links to consultation services, repatriation reports and an FAQ section which attempts to answer many repatriation related questions.
These eight stories are from World War II, Korea, Vietnam, and Iraq, with special emphasis on the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, the “Go for Broke” outfit of Japanese-Americans who fought valiantly in Europe during World War II.
From 1941 to 1946, Occidental College President Remsen DuBois Bird and College Librarian Elizabeth McCloy made it their mission to preserve articles, newspapers, pamphlets, and other items related to the forced internment of persons of Japanese ancestry along the West Coast. The online website offers an overview of the collection, including a comprehensive research guide, links to selected resources, and a representative selection from the collection.
The Korean American Digital Archive brings documents, photographs, and sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
Based at UC Irvine, SEAAdoc focuses on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text.
SAADA is the only independent non-profit organization working to document, preserve and provide access to the rich history of South Asians in the United States. SAADA reflects the vast range of experiences of those in the United States who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
From our establishment in 1997 as an initiative critical to the mission of the Smithsonian until today, the vision for the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center has been to enrich the American Story with the voices of Asian Pacific Americans. Our understanding of America and America’s standing in the world is richer, more compelling, and more powerful when it includes the Asian Pacific American story. The Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center serves as a dynamic national resource for discovering why the Asian Pacific American experience matters every day, everywhere, and all of the time
The Chinese in California digital archive was developed in 1998-1999 as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory website, an online resource compiled by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. The Library of Congress American Memory website was retired in 2015 and is no longer available online.
On May 8th, the Colfax Area Historical Society in my Congressional District will place a monument along Highway 174 at Cape Horn, near Colfax, California to recognize the efforts of the Chinese in laying the tracks that linked the east and west coasts for the first time. With the California Gold Rush and the opening of the West came an increased interest in building a transcontinental railroad. To this end, the Central Pacific Railroad Company was established, and construction of the route East from Sacramento began in 1863. Although the beginning of the effort took place on relatively flat land, labor and financial problems were persistent, resulting in only 50 miles of track being laid in the first two years. Although the company needed over 5,000 workers, it only had 600 on the payroll by 1864.
The Rehabilitation Research and Training Center on Disability Statistics and Demographics (StatsRRTC) collects large quantities of survey data and administrative records related to people with disabilities each year for use primarily by policy makers. Researchers can browse online or download the 2009 PDF.
Founded in 1982 as the Section for the Study of Chronic Illness, Impairment, and Disability (SSCIID), the organization was renamed the Society for Disability Studies in 1986. SDS is an international nonprofit organization that seeks to promote a greater awareness of disability across time and geography, as well as to advocate for social change. The site hosts discussion lists, sample syllabi, and publishes guidelines for the establishment of disability studies program.
Based in Sweden, the nonprofit foundation describes itself as a policy development center specializing in consumer-driven policies for disabled peoples’ freedom of choice, self-determination, self-respect, and dignity. The institute, which grew out of the international Independent Living movement, states on its Web site that the foundation is controlled by persons with disabilities. The links are primarily to self-help and advocacy Web sites, but also includes links to Disability Studies and Research and Disability Culture.
A project by People, Inc., a nonprofit agency based in New York that helps seniors and those with disabilities live independently, the Museum of disABILITY History collects objects and artifacts related to disability history. The museum is located in Buffalo, New York, and its online catalog of images, objects, books, and the archive is searchable.
Astraea is a public foundation, which means that we raise every dollar we spend. Rooted in LGBTQI communities and movements, we work in strategic partnership with foundations, individuals and governments to ensure that their resources reach the activists who need them most and who are best positioned to make transformational impact over time.
ILGA World – the International Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Intersex Association - is a worldwide federation of more than 1,700 organisations from over 160 countries and territories campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex human rights.
Lambda Legal, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
Log Cabin Republicans is the nation’s original and largest organization representing LGBT conservatives and straight allies who support fairness, freedom, and equality for all Americans. Log Cabin Republicans has state and local chapters nationwide, full-time staff in Washington, DC, a federal political action committee, and state political action committees.
MAP's mission is to provide independent and rigorous research, insight and communications that help speed equality and opportunity for all. MAP works to ensure that all people have a fair chance to pursue health and happiness, earn a living, take care of the ones they love, be safe in their communities, and participate in civic life.
The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people. We are building a future where everyone can be free to be their entire selves in every aspect of their lives. Today, despite all the progress we’ve made to end discrimination, millions of LGBTQ people face barriers in every aspect of their lives: in housing, employment, healthcare, retirement, and basic human rights. These barriers must go. That’s why the Task Force is training and mobilizing millions of activists across our nation to deliver a world where you can be you.
NCLR is a national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their families through litigation, legislation, policy, and public education.
PGH Equality Center, formerly known as the Gay & Lesbian Community Center of Pittsburgh (GLCC),provides gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals, their families and supporters in Western Pennsylvania with resources and opportunities to promote visibility, understanding, and equality within the LGBT communities and the community at large.
The Williams Institute is the leading research center on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. We ensure that facts — not stereotypes — inform laws, policies, and judicial decisions that affect the LGBT community.
OutRight works to document and expose human rights violations against LGBTIQ people across the world and believes that generating evidence-based human rights documentation is the most effective way to hold governments accountable for failing to meet human rights obligations and standards- before national, regional and international human rights monitoring bodies.
Well-organized website provides information about this major Puerto Rican research institute at Hunter College / CUNY. Includes contents listing for Centro Journal, the major US research journal in Puerto Rican studies; a publications catalog; information about the Centro library and archival collections, and research information.
Educating Change: Latina Activism and the Struggle for Educational Equity remembers the victorious struggle for bilingual education and educational equity for Mexican Americans. Parents, teachers, and youth dared to challenge child abuse and educational neglect in their schools. Powerfully illustrated through the lives of three Mexican/Chicana women—Ramona Medina, Socorro Gómez-Potter, and Yolanda Almaraz-Esquivel—Educating Change documents a history of Mexican women’s migration and activism, and considers its relevance for today’s US Latino communities, including Providence.
This excellent website links 25 academic research institutes that participate in IUPLR and focus on Latinx research issues. Includes descriptions of the organization and its institutional members; current research projects, publications, select bibliographies, and an excellent collection of Latinx links focusing on policy and research organizations.
Website of this well-known research and policy institute at Michigan State University makes available many full-text papers and research notes, with a strong focus on midwestern Latinx issues. It also culls together recent Latino-related news articles from elsewhere on the web, and maintains a collection of diverse Latinx and Latin American web links.
A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.
The Latino Policy Coalition is a national non-partisan non-profit consortium of the country’s leading Latino research organizations and scholars. The coalition includes: the Tomás Rivera Policy Institute; William C. Velasquez Institute; National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials; National Institute for Latino Policy; Leavey Center for the Study of Los Angeles; University of Washington Institute for the Study of Ethnicity, Race, and Sexuality; Program in the Politics of Immigration, Ethnicity and Race; and Diversity Focus/National Community for Latino Leadership.
The website of this well-known organization functions as a clearinghouse to their policy briefs, and includes useful information such as a Congressional scorecard (detailing Senate and House votes by state and name), sections on immigration, Puerto Rico and the statehood question, voter rights, briefs on upcoming legislation relevant to Latinx populations, and more.
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.