MUSI 3010: Studies in Early Modern Music: Primary Sources

Historic and rare materials in the UVa Library collection. No appointment necessary!

A Virgo search for all items available in Special Collections. These items include a variety of primary resources that may be of interest to your project.

Search this database for rare and unique materials held by UVA Special Collections (and other Virginia institutions). Enter your keyword, then select "University of Virginia, Special Collections Dept." under repository to limit to that library.

These include the Holsinger Collection, which documents a great deal of historic Charlottesville in the first half of the 20th century.

Bodleian's digital collections of ballads, with links to the English Broadside Ballad Archive’s digital presentations of pre-1800 ballads from other libraries, and to the folk song scholarship of the Roud Broadside Index.

Library of Congress collection that includes music printed or 'copied in manuscript' in the United States or the colonies through 1820.

An open-access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images.

The Perseus Digital Library provides access to millions of items, including this collection of Greek and Roman materials.

This searchable database of over 10,000 cylinders owned by the UCSB Library features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.

9,874 early modern broadside ballads; free to the public as text, art, and music.

Contains information for 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada from 1900 to 1950, as well as recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.