ARTH 4591: Global Modernisms Portal: Welcome

Welcome

Welcome to the library portal for ARTH 4591: Global Modernisms. The portal provides quick links to the resources you'll need for your research and assignments. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.

Request content any time

Request an article UVA doesn't own through Interlibrary Loan
Request an eBook/Book purchase
I need scanned chapter(s) from a print book in the Library
NOTE: this option is available to graduate students and faculty only at this time.

Help me with citations

Different disciplines use different styles of citation. Please check to determine which style is right for your course and assignment. Remember that citations are important for crediting ideas, designs, data sources, image creators, and more.

Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographies
Guide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
Chicago Manual Quick Guide
Turabian Manual for Writers Style Quick Guide

Ask a Librarian

Search Virgo

Search WorldCat

WorldCat
A resource for locating books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including books not currently in UVA's collections.

Selected Journals and Journal Finder

Journal Finder
Find or browse journals at UVA.
Archives of Asian Art
Since its establishment in 1945, Archives of Asian Art has been devoted to publishing new scholarship on the art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Articles discuss premodern and contemporary visual arts, archaeology, architecture, and the history of collecting.
Art Journal
The mission of Art Journal, founded in 1941, is to provide a forum for scholarship and visual exploration in the visual arts; to be a unique voice in the field as a peer-reviewed, professionally mediated forum for the arts; to operate in the spaces between commercial publishing, academic presses, and artist presses; to be pedagogically useful by making links between theoretical issues and their use in teaching at the college and university levels; to explore relationships among diverse forms of art practice and production, as well as among art making, art history, visual studies, theory, and criticism; to give voice and publication opportunity to artists, art historians, and other writers in the arts; to be responsive to issues of the moment in the arts, both nationally and globally; to focus on topics related to twentieth- and twenty-first-century concerns; to promote dialogue and debate.
The Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical.
Critical Inquiry
Founded in 1974, Critical Inquiry is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal devoted to critical thought in the arts and humanities. The journal presents articles by eminent and emerging scholars, critics, and artists on a wide variety of issues in contemporary criticism and culture.
Grey Room
Grey Room brings together scholarly and theoretical articles from the fields of architecture, art, media, and politics to forge a cross-disciplinary discourse relevant to contemporary concerns. Featuring original articles, translations, interviews, dossiers, and academic exchanges, Grey Room emphasizes aesthetic practice and historical and theoretical discourse.
Modernism/Modernity
Modernism/modernity focuses on the methodological, archival, and theoretical approaches particular to modernist studies. It encourages an interdisciplinary approach linking music, architecture, the visual arts, literature, and social and intellectual history.
Oxford Art Journal
The Oxford Art Journal is committed to the political analysis of visual art and material representation from a variety of theoretical perspectives, and has carried work addressing themes from Antiquity to contemporary art practice.
Signs
The journal publishes articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality. Special issue and section topics cover a broad range of geopolitical processes, conditions, and effects; cultural and social configurations; and scholarly and theoretical developments.

Sign Up for Library events

Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.

Search for academic articles

Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, images, reports, news, and more. These are some of the most used databases for art historical research.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art published since the late 1960s.
AHR net (formerly Arts:Search) This link opens in a new window
Art History Research net [AHR net] is an art history research service consisting of five related and linked databases:
- ReView - Contains the full text of a wide range of International Art and Architecture journals published between the 1860s and the 1930s
- Arts + Architecture Profiles - Contains biographical data on nearly 45,000 artists, architects, designers and craftspeople
- Design Abstracts Retrospective - Contains abstracts of articles and an index of images in design journals published between 1900-1986
- Research Sources: 1: British & Irish Architecture and Decorative and Applied Arts 1850s to the 1930s
- Research Sources: 2. The Poster - Contains extensive research data on the history of the Poster
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
ARTstor, a digital library of more than 2.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, is now accessible on JSTOR.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.

See MORE Art & Art History databases here!

Locate more resources by program or topic

Latin American & Iberian Studies
by Miguel Valladares-Llata Last Updated Apr 17, 2025 346 views this year
French Studies
by Miguel Valladares-Llata Last Updated Sep 24, 2024 376 views this year
East Asian Studies
by Wei Wang Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 80 views this year
Newspapers & Other News Media
by Reference Team Last Updated Apr 17, 2025 5327 views this year

See Resources in Other Subject Areas
We have guides to the databases in many areas-- history, politics, business, sciences, etc. If your research touches on these subjects, check out the databases listed on that guide, too!

Reference Resources

Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias and other sources that offer access to factual information. Many of these resources are deeply focused on particular subjects, which can help you to find the appropriate definition for a particular discipline or time period.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. UVa has access to all subjects.

Image Sources

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.

Google Images
Digital Art History Directory of Open Image Collections
Includes links to numerous digital museum collections.

Google Tips & Tricks

These tips can help you locate better information on the web, faster. But remember- a lot of information is not freely available on the web, no matter how well you search!

Put quotation marks around words that you want to stick together as a phrase
Add "site:.gov" to the end of your search to ONLY search websites on government domains
Add "site:website.com" to search only the content of a specific site (for example: charlottesville.org!)
Add "filetype:pdf" to ONLY search for information you think is likely to be in PDF format (reports, documents, etc.)
Use the minus sign or dash to eliminate results that are off target (Example: food system -digestive)
Remember that Google is only a computer, and doesn't understand the concepts in your search. So, try your search using different keywords and phrases that mean the same thing.

Download library apps and software

Libkey Nomad Browser Extension
Upon finding an article on any website, Libkey Nomad identifies if the Library has access (and directs you to the full PDF of the article), or if not, directs you to Interlibrary Loan to allow you to get quick access to any article, anywhere.
Zotero
Another free alternative to Refworks - collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. Downloads to your web browser on your personal computer. Is especially good for saving and linking to digital objects and web pages.

Request a Research Consultation

To request a research consultation with Erin Dickey, Librarian for the Arts, email erindickey@virginia.edu.

To request a research consultation with Miguel Valladeres-Llata, Librarian for Latin American Studies, Romance Languages, German and Jewish Studies, email mav4n@virginia.edu.