ARTH 2054: Roman Art & Archaeology Portal: Welcome
Welcome
Welcome to the library portal for ARTH 2054: Roman Art & Archaeology. The portal provides quick links to the resources you'll need for your research assignments. Whether you are online or on-Grounds, UVA Library services and support are available to all students.
Search Virgo
Search WorldCat
- WorldCatA resource for locating books, videos, manuscripts, and other materials in thousands of libraries worldwide, including books not currently in UVA's collections.
Request content any time
Help me with citations
Different disciplines use different styles of citation. Please check to determine which style is right for your course and assignment. Remember that citations are important for crediting ideas, designs, data sources, image creators, and more.
- Use Zotero to organize your sources and generate bibliographiesGuide to downloading and using Zotero, a free application that collects, manages, and cites research sources.
Your Librarian
Your librarian is Erin Dickey, Librarian for the Arts and subject liaison for Art, Art History, Archaeology.
Subject liaisons serve as navigation guides for the vast resources our library offers. Erin can help you identify relevant academic sources for your research, develop research skills and strategies, brainstorm and clarify research questions, and advise on citation and image management. To schedule a personalized research consultation, use the button below. Consultations take place via Zoom.
Ask a Librarian
SAGE Research Methods
- Sage Knowledge Books & Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of eBook and eReference titles, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, and professional development titles.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
- Sage Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, Sage authors, great teachers, and more.
Sign Up for Library events
Sign up for Library orientations, workshops, and events with our online calendar. UVA Library programming is offered in-person and online.
Search for academic articles and citations
Academic databases contain peer-reviewed articles, images, reports, news, and more. These are some of the most used databases for art historical and archaeological research.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowArt & Architecture Source is a full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 2000 journals with full text for over 700 and for books and other publications. Topics covered include archaeology, art, dance, drama, ethnic and women's studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, religion.
- BAR Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database contains over 3,600 academic archaeology titles and archaeological research from around the world. Includes monographs, excavation reports, revised theses, and conference proceedings.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA citation database that allows researchers to track the impact of publications and identify influential research in archaeology and other fields.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFind articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa and RefWorks.
- Zenon This link opens in a new windowExpanded on a regular basis by departments in Berlin, Istanbul, Athens, and Rome, Zenon is the central online catalog of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI). Contains open access archaeology bibliographies of the Iberian Peninsula, Eurasia, and the Roman-German Commission.
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on the literature, languages, and history of ancient Greece and Rome from journals, books and conference proceedings. Check the "Interim Articles" for most recent publications.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window*NOTE: While JSTOR features access to its journal archives, it no longer lets publishers host their most recent journal issues.
Reference Resources
Reference resources include dictionaries, encyclopedias and other sources that offer access to factual information. Many of these resources are deeply focused on particular subjects, which can help you to find the appropriate definition for a particular discipline or time period.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowComprehensive encyclopedia of the visual arts of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific with links to tens of thousands of images.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowA large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. UVa has access to all subjects.
Locate more resources by program or topic
- See Resources in Other Subject AreasWe have guides to the databases in many areas-- history, politics, business, sciences, etc. If your research touches on these subjects, check out the databases listed on that guide, too!
Image Sources
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowArtstor is now on JSTOR.
Images of world art from all periods, including paintings, drawings, prints, historic photographs, architecture and design.
- Digital Art History Directory of Open Image CollectionsIncludes links to numerous digital museum collections.
Download library apps and software
- Libkey Nomad Browser ExtensionUpon finding an article on any website, Libkey Nomad identifies if the Library has access (and directs you to the full PDF of the article), or if not, directs you to Interlibrary Loan to allow you to get quick access to any article, anywhere.
- ZoteroAnother free alternative to Refworks - collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. Downloads to your web browser on your personal computer. Is especially good for saving and linking to digital objects and web pages.