It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology Resources available at the University of Virginia Libraries
A longitudinal study of a nationally representative sample of adolescents in grades 7-12 in the United States during the 1994-95 school year. Some data is public-use, some requires permission. Consult with Scholars' Lab - 243-8800. They have CDs of some of the data as well.
Includes the Total Economy Database. The Total Economy Database consists of series on Real Gross Domestic Product, Population, Employment, Annual Working Hours, GDP per Capita, GDP per Person Employed, GDP per Hour for at most 99 countries from 1950 onwards), the 60-Industry Database (comprehensive internationally comparable dataset on industrial performance at a detailed industry level for OECD countries and Taiwan. Variables covered include value added in current and constant prices, value added deflators, persons engaged, number of employees, hours worked, labour productivity and labour compensation) and the Industry Growth Accounting.
iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
Migration Information Source is a web based resource which provides migration information including data, analysis and trends. The Global Data Center section of this website provides information on state by state immigrant populations as well as resources
Google has loaded about 30 public datasets. These datasets can be visualized with this tool. Google is also providing the capability of uploading data, which can then be visulized using their Dataset Publishing Language (DSPL).
ReferenceUSA is a database that contains directory information on more than 24 million businesses in the United States. It can be used to create lists of establishments, such as department stores or Starbucks in Charlottesville. Users can search and refine results based on company name, industry (NAICS or SIC), location, and a variety of business characteristics. Each record includes the company name, address, and phone number as well as information on number of employees, annual sales, facility size, and more.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.