Dated: 26 August 2011
Introduction. My role as Librarian for the Anthropology department: maintain contact with the faculty, undergraduate and graduate students, do training, make purchase requests, develop bibliographies, and preform other related services.
TODAY: --Point to resources. Follow along on your own terminal
--Encourage to ask questions as go along, or arise, even general questions
--email me, email@example.com
Locations in Alderman - Reference room, Desk for help and checkout, Scholars Lab, (3rd floor) current periodicals, Government Docs and microfiche, graduate study and meeting room, and (2nd floor) McGregor (Harry Potter) room and Asia Studies Room
- Print reference resources - encyclopedias, journals, monographs
- The Library Catalog - VIRGO. (Bring up home page and VIRGO)
--This is a gateway to more than just catalog of books and articles, also databases; Hours, Maps, Subject Guides
Video - Finding a book and Tutorials about the library, its catalog, databases, RefWorks, etc.
VIRGO catalog - click on "Go to VIRGO for more options" or Search screen. Searching with terms to get books and articles
--Click on one book title to see all its information
Notice hot-linked Related Subjects, Authors
--Emailing, staring or marking, exporting to RefWorks, Print (Don't do it, right now in class)
--Search Articles and click on one article title to see all its information
--The Light Blue line at the top-- VIRGO Classic, Course Reserves
Go to VIRGO Classic Red Line or click on My Account in VIGO (below)
If in VIRGO Classic, look at top Red Line - Services (Renew items), Requests for Interlibrary services, and Purchase
If in VIRGO's My Account - see how to A) Renew Books B) Make Interlibrary Loan Requests or C) Request a purchase of a book.
Anthropology Subject Guide and Databases Back to Main Library Page and click on Discover. . ., then Subject Guides' "more" and then Anthropology all databases and Anthropology databases
--Note about Off Grounds Access: to make access available from home/off-grounds, need to set up proxy account (prompted once a session, easy to do) or UVa Anywhere.
Databases - two types of 1) Full Text and 2) Citation only [3 - seomtimes a combination] Coverage - recent and moving access.
To get the actual article - click on Find@UVa and get A) full text. B) If not, click to see journal title remembering article's date and page to get the print copy. C) If UVa does not have the journal, make an InterLibrary Loan Request (takes a week or so).
A. Anthropology Plus (WorldCat) Search, save or add to list, print, email, cite/Export. Find@UVa
B. Other databases Go to Databases A-Z
Academic Search Complete (Web)
American History and Life
Bibliography of Asian Studies 1971+ (Web),
Bibliography of Native North Americans(Web)
Historical Abstracts [all the world but North America since 1450]
Human Relations Area Files(Web)
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe
Periodicals Contents Index (PCI) online,
WorldCat (verification for ILL)
From the Library Home page and Databaeses
A. Anthropology Guide and databases
B. Purchase requests
C. InterLibrary Services and ILS requests Eg for books, articles, dissertations, etc
Tour of Alderman Library.
4th floor - Reference room, Desk for help and checkout, Scholars Lab
3rd Floor for current periodicals, Government Docs and microfiche, graduate study and meeting room
2nd Floor McGregor (Harry Potter) room and Asia Studies Room
[1M New Stacks = GNs. Most Anthropology books' call numbers start with GN, and are located on 1M New Stacks]