NEW subscribed databases
- Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ This link opens in a new window Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from more than 140 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today. Content Includes: Weekly magazines Historical Photo Archive: 10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs The English-language News: "The International Herald Tribune/The Asahi Shimbun (the IHT/Asahi)" and "AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)" dating back to April 2001.
- Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window The Edward Sylvester Morse papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials. Morse utilized his artistic abilities to illustrate his research as well as daily observations and correspondence. Drawings which were particularly fragile and/or on odd shaped pieces of paper have been encapsulated in polyester.
- Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919- 1952 This link opens in a new window Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930
- Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1959 This link opens in a new window Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection includes records from the U.S. Department of State from 1950-1959 involving the U.S. occupation of Japan and the global rivalry of the Cold War.
- Final Accountability Rosters of Evacuees: Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946 This link opens in a new window Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, this collection provides demographic information on the Japanese-American "evacuees" resident at the various relocation camps of World War II.
- Evangelism in Japan: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1859 to 1911 This link opens in a new window Part of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the records offered here provide information on social conditions in Japan and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century.
Links
- J-STAGE - open access platform for scholarly publications in Japan J-STAGE promotes open access. Over 90% of articles on J-STAGE are free to read.
- Short Guide to GSI Japan This guide may be helpful for non-Japanese-speaking students in geography, visual/urban studies, or digital humanities.
- The Japan Times Online: The World's Window on Japan Daily news and features on Japan from the most widely read English-language newspaper in Japan.
- Tadoku Extensive Reading for Japanese as a Second Language (JSL) Learners
- NCC - North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, NCC creates programs and online services to support the research needs of anyone in the field of Japanese Studies and for users with an interest in Japan, anywhere. The NCC site also provides links to instructional and topical sites related to Japan.
- Directory of Overseas Collections of Old and Rare Japanese Books, Other Print Materials and Manuscripts This directory provides information on libraries and museums outside of Japan that hold old and rare Japanese materials, including manuscripts, printed books, and single sheet items, such as maps and ukiyoe prints. Each entry consists of the institution's address, name of contact person, collection size, collection description, viewing possibility, reproduction policy, availability of online and print catalogs, and other relevant information
- 横浜 CD 文庫 by Yokohama Rokuon Tosho 横浜錄音図書 A collection of (240+) audiobooks. To find the corresponding texts, click on the heading above.
- Multilingual Version of Pictopedia of Everyday Life in Medieval Japan Multilingual Version of Pictopedia of Everyday Life in Medieval Japan Pictopedia of Everyday Life in Early Modern Japan
- Japan Forum for Strategic Studies Quarterly Report Informative articles in history and political science. While most articles are in Japanese, some are in English.
Tools & Tips
- CJKV-English dictionaryDictionaries for the Study of Buddhist and East Asian Language and Thought - compiled by Prof. Charles Muller of the University of Tokyo.
- External Grants Database for funding opportunities in Japan StudiesThis database provides a filterable list of more than 250 funding opportunities from around the world, including the library travel grants that help scholars reach your essential information resources.
Reference / Primary Sources
- Japan Past & Present Japan Past & Present is a global information hub and repository that promotes research and teaching in the Japanese humanities across disciplinary, temporal, and geographic borders.
- Cultural JapanDigital resources on Japanese Culture from all over the world. More than a million items are collected for this platform to inspire novel applications.
- Digital Library from the Meiji Era - 近代デジタルライブラリー This link opens in a new windowFull text (in image) database of books published in Meiji and Taisho era held by the National Diet Library. As of July 2010, 170,000 volumes, excluding children's books and books in Western languages, are available.
- Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) - アジア歴史資料センター This link opens in a new windowThe JACAR site provides access to official documents of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy.
Find Statistical Data
Find Journal Articles
- CiNii - 論文情報 ナビゲータ This link opens in a new window"Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shūsei dētabēsu - 雑誌記事索引集成データベース This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to Japanese journal articles from the Meiji era to the present. 日本（旧植民地なども対象）で発行された日本語の雑誌記事が検索できます。 明治初期から現在まで、また、総合雑誌など全国誌から地方で発行された雑誌も対象です。
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biogr Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biographies, speeches and other primary source documents, country reports, and several hundred thousand images of photos, maps, and flags.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowBAS lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which have more articles from similar journals.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
Find News Articles
- Kyōdō Tsūshin Kiji Dētabēsu - 共同通信記事データベース, 2002-This site provides full text Japanese news articles from 2002 to the present.
- Mainichi shinbun (shukusatsuban) - 每日新聞 (縮刷版), 1977-1996Mainichi shimbun, small print edition. Shannon Library has 1977-1996. Call number: PN5409 .T63 M347. Factiva includes 2002- online.
- Shinbun Kiji Bunko - 新聞記事文庫, 1910-1945Index to Japanese newspaper articles, 1910-1945. Provided by the University of Kobe Library.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIncludes 読売新聞 2002- , 每日新聞 2002- . Includes company and business information; articles from newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News Pages" on top to browse headline news from major publications. Searchable in Japanese (click on "English" to change to "all languages." Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews and business information from sources around the world (no CJK scripts); book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNew York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
- World News Connection This link opens in a new windowInformation from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
Find Books
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of books and other materials in thousands of libraries in North America and some other countries.
- Webcat PlusSearch for books and journals held in university library collections throughout Japan. Provides direct links to "Digital Library from the Meiji Era" of the National Diet Library. 全国の大学図書館1000館や国立国会図書館の所蔵目録、新刊書の書影・目次DB、古書店の在庫目録、電子書籍DBなど、本に関する様々な情報源を統合して、それらを本・作品・人物の軸で整理した形で提供しています。
- Databases at National Institute of Japanese LiteratureVarious databases for research in Japanese literature and related areas
- Aozora Bunko - 青空文庫A free digital library consisting of more than 10,000 literary works, 4,000 of which have just been released in pdf format by Voyager Japan and Internet Archive. To search, go to: http://openlibrary.org/; for a list, see: http://bookserver.archive.org/catalog/opensearch?q=collection:aozorabunko .