Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチThis link opens in a new windowAsahi Shimbun Cross-Search is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from more than 140 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.
Historical Photo Archive: 10,000 pieces of valuable historical photographs
The English-language News: "The International Herald Tribune/The Asahi Shimbun (the IHT/Asahi)" and "AJW (Asia & Japan Watch)" dating back to April 2001.
Meiji JapanThis link opens in a new windowThe Edward Sylvester Morse papers (ca. 1858-1925, 40 cubic feet), document the numerous contributions made by Morse to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Included are diaries, scrapbooks, correspondence, research files, drawings, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials. Morse utilized his artistic abilities to illustrate his research as well as daily observations and correspondence. Drawings which were particularly fragile and/or on odd shaped pieces of paper have been encapsulated in polyester.
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919- 1952This link opens in a new windowPublished in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945
Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952
Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930
Japan: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1950-1959This link opens in a new windowPart of Gale Primary Sources: Archives Unbound, the collection includes records from the U.S. Department of State from 1950-1959 involving the U.S. occupation of Japan and the global rivalry of the Cold War.
Directory of Overseas Collections of Old and Rare Japanese Books, Other Print Materials and ManuscriptsThis directory provides information on libraries and museums outside of Japan that hold old and rare Japanese materials, including manuscripts, printed books, and single sheet items, such as maps and ukiyoe prints. Each entry consists of the institution's address, name of contact person, collection size, collection description, viewing possibility, reproduction policy, availability of online and print catalogs, and other relevant information
Full text (in image) database of books published in Meiji and Taisho era held by the National Diet Library. As of July 2010, 170,000 volumes, excluding children's books and books in Western languages, are available.
"Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biogr Also includes reference books such as the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, biographies, speeches and other primary source documents, country reports, and several hundred thousand images of photos, maps, and flags.
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present. Humanities and social science articles are also listed in Periodicals Index Online and Periodicals Archive Online which have more articles from similar journals.
Includes 読売新聞 2002- , 每日新聞 2002- . Includes company and business information; articles from newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News Pages" on top to browse headline news from major publications. Searchable in Japanese (click on "English" to change to "all languages." Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time.
News and business information from sources around the world (no CJK scripts); book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
Search for books and journals held in university library collections throughout Japan. Provides direct links to "Digital Library from the Meiji Era" of the National Diet Library. 全国の大学図書館1000館や国立国会図書館の所蔵目録、新刊書の書影・目次DB、古書店の在庫目録、電子書籍DBなど、本に関する様々な情報源を統合して、それらを本・作品・人物の軸で整理した形で提供しています。
A free digital library consisting of more than 10,000 literary works, 4,000 of which have just been released in pdf format by Voyager Japan and Internet Archive. To search, go to: http://openlibrary.org/; for a list, see: http://bookserver.archive.org/catalog/opensearch?q=collection:aozorabunko .
Center for Research LibrariesThe approximately five million newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other resources held by CRL support research and teaching. CRL acquisitions include materials from all world regions. UVA is a member!