Spanish Linguistics Resources
For information about Language Resources (Dictionaries, Grammars, etc): Spanish Language Resources
For information about Linguistics in general: Linguistics LibGuide
_____________________________________
Thanks to my colleagues, specially Jesús Alonso, University of New York, Albany
Main Databases:
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsSearch for journal articles on all aspects of the nature and use of language. Includes book reviews. Updated monthly.
- DialnetDialnet es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana que inició su funcionamiento en el año 2001 especializado en ciencias humanas y sociales. Su base de datos, de acceso libre, fue creada por la Universidad de La Rioja (España) y constituye una hemeroteca virtual que contiene los índices de las revistas científicas y humanísticas de España, Portugal y Latinoamérica, incluyendo también libros (monografías), tesis doctorales, homenajes y otro tipo de documentos. El texto completo de muchos de los documentos está disponible en línea.
- MLA International Bibliography.Classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
- Anthropology Plus (1890-present)Find articles, reports, and other materials on social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard's Tozzer Library and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute.
- REDALyCRed de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (Made in Mexico)
More General Databases:
- Academic Search CompleteA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. 5% of material in French language
- Web of KnowledgeGives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialized sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline. Around 20 % of the material in french language.
- JSTORFull-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in the areas of anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.
- Project MUSESearchable full text of nearly 600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
- Google Scholar (Google Académico)Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Released in beta in November 2004, the Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.
Databases for related Subjects:
- ERIC (Education)You can search this database using different interfaces:
ERIC (Ebsco) or ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
ERIC provides access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles, most of which are peer-reviewed, and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collectionprovides full access to literature in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and/or experimental methods.
- Virgo
The Online catalog of University of Virginia Library
- WorldCat (OCLC)
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL primary purpose is to collect research materials not targeted by North American research institutions. The Center collects heavily in the following materials: archival materials, newspapers and periodicals (foreign & domestic, specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, U.S. state documents, US and foreign academic publications. University of Virginia is a full member, which allows UVA patrons to borrow CRL material via interlibrary loan for extended periods
Consult this guide to find more local, national and international library catalogs ____________________________________________________________________________________________;
Call numbers & Subject Areas (LC Classification Number)
Our library classifies all material according to the Library of Congress classification system. Here we include a guide for Linguistics to browse our collection either in person or electronically.
Subclass P: Philology. Linguistics
|
P1-1091 |
Philology. Linguistics |
|
P1-85 |
General |
|
P87-96 |
Communication. Mass media |
|
P94.7 |
Interpersonal communication |
|
P95-95.6 |
Oral communication. Speech |
|
P98-98.5 |
Computational linguistics. Natural language processing |
|
P99-99.4 |
Semiotics. Signs and symbols |
|
P99.5-99.6 |
Nonverbal communication |
|
P101-410 |
Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar |
|
P118-118.75 |
Language acquisition |
|
P121-149 |
Science of language (Linguistics) |
|
P201-299 |
Comparative grammar |
|
P301-301.5 |
Style. Composition. Rhetoric |
|
P302-302.87 |
Discourse analysis |
|
P306-310 |
Translating and interpreting |
|
P321-324.5 |
Etymology |
|
P325-325.5 |
Semantics |
|
P326-326.5 |
Lexicology |
|
P327-327.5 |
Lexicography |
|
P375-381 |
Linguistic geography |
|
P501-769 |
Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology |
|
P901-1091 |
Extinct ancient or medieval languages |
Selective Library Book Collections by Linguistics Subjects
This is a small selection of books in our collection. It is a sample to indicate how to search in the catalog of our library, Virgo.
____________________________________________________________________________________________;
Diachronic Spanish Corpora Online :
"En lingüística, se llama corpus a un conjunto formado por miles de textos (novelas, obras de teatro, guiones de cine, noticias de prensa, ensayos, transcripciones de noticiarios radiofónicos o televisivos, transcripciones de conversaciones, discursos, etc.) y cientos de millones de formas. Son empleados habitualmente para conocer el significado y características de palabras, expresiones y construcciones a partir de los usos reales registrados. Dado el tamaño que poseen, los corpus tienen que estar en formato electrónico.
Un corpus general (llamado de referencia) tiene como propósito básico el de servir para obtener las características globales que presenta una lengua en un momento determinado de su historia. En el caso del español actual, el corpus debe contener textos de todos los tipos y también de todos los países que constituyen el mundo hispánico". {Real Academia Española]
- Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE)
El Corpus Diacrónico del Español (CORDE) es un corpus textual de todas las épocas y lugares en que se habló español, desde los inicios del idioma hasta el año 1974, en que limita con el Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA)
The Diachronic Corpus of Spanish is a data bank that provides a structured set of texts for lexicographic and grammatical research dating from the beginning of the Spanish language until 1974. It includes almost 300 million lexical forms. It is divided into two main groups: fiction and non-fiction texts. Created by Real Academia Española. - Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA)
CREA cuenta, en su última versión (3.2, junio de 2008), con algo más de ciento sesenta millones de formas. Se compone de una amplia variedad de textos escritos y orales, producidos en todos los países de habla hispana desde 1975 hasta 2004. Los textos escritos, seleccionados tanto de libros como de periódicos y revistas, abarcan más de cien materias distintas. La lengua hablada está representada por transcripciones de documentos sonoros, obtenidos, en su mayor parte, de la radio y la televisión.
En marzo de 2021 se ha publicado la versión 0.3 del CREA anotado. En ella es posible la búsqueda por formas, lemas y categorías gramaticales. - Corpus de Referencia del Español Actual (CREA) versión anotada
La primera versión del CREA anotado, la 0.1, publicada el 18 de noviembre de 2015, cuenta con 111 220 documentos que suman más de 126 millones de formas, procedentes de textos escritos o producidos entre 1975 y 2000 en todos los países hispánicos.
- Corpus del Español del Siglo XXI (CORPES XXI) | Versión 1.0, (mayo de 2023)
Es un corpus de referencia, iniciativa de la Real Academia Española y de la Asociación de Academias de la Lengua Española (ASALE), que aún está en construcción. Contiene textos escritos y orales, procedentes de hispanohablantes, recogidos entre 2001 y 2012. Pretende ser una continuación de CREA y CORDE. Los textos han sido extraídos de libros y prensa online, impresos y de canales de información audiovisual.
- Corpus del Español
The corpora from Corpus del Español provide billions of words of recent data from 21 Spanish-speaking countries,
and they allow researchers, students, and teachers to gain insight into Spanish in ways that are not possible from
any other resource.
Description and comparisons with other corpora
Created by Mark Davies. Funded by the US National Endowment for the Humanities (2001-2002, 2015-2017).
- Old Spanish Textual Archive (OSTA)
In 2015, the HSMS began working on the Old Spanish Textual Archive (OSTA), a lemmatized and morphologically tagged linguistic corpus of about 35,000,000 words, based on more than 400 semi-palaeographic transcriptions of medieval texts written in Spanish, Asturian, Leonese, Navarro-Aragonese and Aragonese carried out by the collaborators of the HSMS.
Created by Francisco Gago Jover and Javier Pueyo Mena
- eHRAF World Cultures
Searchable, full-text collection of ethnographic and other texts on cultures and societies around the world.
- Ethnologue -[web]
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind.
- Nuevo diccionario histórico (NDHE)
El Nuevo diccionario histórico del español (NDHE) busca presentar de un modo organizado la evolución del léxico español a lo largo del tiempo. Su objetivo fundamental consiste en ofrecer a los filólogos y al público en general, aquella información relevante sobre la historia de las palabras que les permita interpretar los textos del pasado. Para ello se dará cuenta del cambio que han experimentado las palabras en su significado e incluso de los usos lingüísticos accidentales de una época determinada.
- Corpus del Nuevo diccionario histórico (CDH)
El Corpus del Nuevo diccionario histórico (CDH) consta de 409 103 465 registros, que se distribuyen en tres capas de consulta:
- Diccionario histórico de la lengua española (1933-1936)
El Diccionario histórico de la lengua española (1933-1936) supone la confluencia entre la tradición del Diccionario de Autoridades y el sistema de trabajo de la lexicografía histórica que se practicaba en Europa desde el siglo XIX. En pocos años, a pesar de la escasez de materiales y de la dudosa fiabilidad de algunos de ellos, se publicaron los dos tomos de este diccionario (de la A a la Ce). Los ejemplos que se contienen en estos volúmenes fueron decisivos para la confección de otras obras y facilitaron el paso adelante que supuso el Diccionario histórico de la lengua española de 1960-1996.
- Diccionario histórico de la lengua española (1960-1996)
En el año 1946 se crea el Seminario de Lexicografía de la Real Academia Española para emprender la redacción de un diccionario histórico del español, acorde con los métodos de la moderna lexicografía, representada por el Oxford English Dictionary. En 1951 se publica una muestra. Entre 1960 y 1996 se publicaron los fascículos de las palabras comprendidas entre a-apasanca y b-bajoca. Con el fin de facilitar su consulta y la recuperación de sus datos, se proporciona una versión electrónica que va acompañada de una herramienta de búsqueda.
- Fichero general de la Real Academia Española
El Fichero general de la Real Academia Española consta de más de diez millones de papeletas, léxicas y lexicográficas, ordenadas alfabéticamente en gavetas que contienen, cada una, unas dos mil cédulas. Este fichero se ha ido formando desde una fecha muy temprana, si bien su período de máxima expansión se sitúa entre 1930 y 1996, años en que la Academia afrontó la redacción del Diccionario histórico en sus dos ediciones. En los últimos años, a instancias de la Fundación Rafael Lapesa, se ha digitalizado el Fichero general, con el objeto de aprovechar esta valiosa información para el Nuevo diccionario histórico del español (NDHE).