Science & Engineering Librarian
Maggie Nunley
she/her
Contact:
Brown Library, Clark Hall
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
Office I-053
(Intermediate Floor, Room 053)
434-924-1343
Book Purchase Request
If you would like to recommend the purchase of a book or materials, please fill out the form on our Purchase Request page.
E-Book Collections
- CRCnetBase This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
- EngNetBase This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other reference books from CRC Press dealing with all areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in the Virgo Library Catalog.
- CRCnetBase This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.
- Knovel Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks and other information on chemistry and engineering. Topics include textiles, adhesives, metals, plastics, and other materials; biotechnology; food science; pharmaceuticals; industrial safety; aerospace; and most areas of engineering. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new windowO’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from most journals and some book series published by Elsevier Science.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research - EBook Central This link opens in a new windowOver 140,000 recent e-books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Includes Every Voice: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion collection. - eBook Collection (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowElectronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
Requires both Ebsco and Adobe Digital Editions accounts. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowThe Gale eBooks homepage allows users to either browse by subject or search the full catalog.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowSpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying material properties which covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It also contains the complete Landolt-Börnstein series.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research