Subject Guide
Microform Resources
- Albemarle County Deed Book (1758-1866)Micfilm 7488
- Correspondence of Randolph 1788-1852 (Randolph, John, 1773-1833)Micfilm 7513, 7514, 7515
- Diaries of Jackson Davis (1937-1947)A Virginia native, throughout his career Davis specialized in Southern education and interracial problems, Micfilm 7542
- Draper ManuscriptsMicfilm 49
Manuscripts collection includes:
Series QQ, William Preston Papers
(see also: Law Library (Media) H.73 VIRG .S7974D)
Series ZZ, Virginia Series - Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 (Charles Evans)Micfich 1077
See also digitized version of this set. - Early American Imprints, Second Series, 1801-1819Micprint 8
See also digitized version of this set - Jefferson, Thomas. Library of Congress Jefferson PapersSee also: Thomas Jefferson Papers at the Library of Congress, Micfilm 849
- Land Tax Books, Albemarle County Va. (1782-1876)Micfilm 7490
- Minute Book, Albemarle County Va. (1830-1866)Micfilm 7491
- Negro Office-Holders in Virginia, 1865-1895Micfilm 7889
- Order Book Albemarle County Va., (1744-1831)Micfilm 7492
- Papers of the NAACPMicfim 1568
See online guides.
You can also keyword search VIRGO "naacp papers and virginia" for reel numbers. - Papers of William Cabell Rives in the Library of CongressMicfilm 7523
See biograpical and other information from Special Collections here - Records of Ante Bellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil WarMicfilm 1705
Most of this is also now available online. Large set, in series (A-N), arranged by region. - Records of the Virginia Forces, 1861Micfilm 7459
The records of the Virginia Forces form part of the War Department collection of Confederate Records, Record Group 109. - Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and DiariesMicfilm 5727
Large set, arrangement by region/state. Online guides are available - State Slavery StatutesMicfich 2193
Printed guide available, Virginia entries pp.306-356. - Survey reports of the Virginia Colonial Records ProjectMicfilm 7477
(Note that the The Cornwallis Papers are contained in this set). Reel numbers for individual titles are listed in the records of the VCPR database.
NOTE: In the Advanced VRCP search you can search by personal- name, ship-name, repository name, document title, and Survey Report number. Keyword and combination (Boolean) searches are available too. The VRCP database contains bibliographic records for all 14,704 Survey Reports. See helpful search tips from the Library of Virginia. See also the finding aid A Key to survey reports and microfilm of the Virginia Colonial records project (2v). Call number Guide Micfilm 7477. - Virginia Historical InventoryMicfilm 2205
Also available online.
"...photographs, maps, and detailed written reports documenting the architectural, cultural, and family histories of thousands of 18th- and 19th- century buildings in communities across Virginia. This collection was originally assembled by the Virginia Writers' Project, part of the depression-era Works Progress Administration" - Virginia Historical Newspapers in Microform in Shannon LibrarySearch US Historical newspaper database for Virginia titles.
Other Resources
- See research tools and full-text databases for Virginia newspapers.
- See notes on Virginiana and the African-American material held in UVA Special Collections
- Albemarle County Courthouse
- Charlottesville City Courthouse
- Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society
- Virginia Historical Society and links to other historical societies in Virginia
- Library of Virginia including online resources for land and tax records