In addition to the resources below, be sure to consult the databases listed under Finding Scholarly Journal Articles on the Home tab.
Printed Sources:
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures Washington DC: Congressional Quarterly, 1998 2 volumes Ed. by George T. Kurian Shannon Reference JF 511 .W67 1998 Arranged by nation. Overview of each country's constitution formation, parties and elections, the legislative process, the role of committees and various officials, leadership structure, etc.
Nations in Transit, 1999-2000: Civil Society, Democracy and Markets in East Central Europe and the Newly Independent States New Brunswick: Transaction Publishers, 2001 Ed. by Adrian Kanatnycky, Alexander Motyl, & Aili Piano Shannon Reference JN 96 .A58 N384 2001 Analysis of each post-Communist state's transition to democracy by describing how the democratization process unfolded, the structure of political parties, the transition to civil society, the role of the media, provision for the rule of law, issues with corruption, economic policies, and social sector indicators.
Political Parties of Eastern Europe: A Brief Guide to Politics in the Post-Communist Era Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2002 Ed. by Janusz Bugajski Shannon Reference JN 96 .A979 B84 2002 Arranged by country. Provides historical overview of post-Communist development, descriptions of political parties, and presidential and parliamentary election results from the decade of the 1990's.
Online Sources:
In addition to the resources below, be sure to consult the databases listed under Finding Scholarly Journal Articles on the Home tab.
Printed Sources:
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures Shannon Reference JF 511 .W67 1998
Online Sources:
In addition to the resources below, be sure to consult the databases listed under Finding Scholarly Journal Articles on the Home tab.
The Library is a depository for the publications of the European Union, United Nations, and the World Trade Organization. The Library also collects extensively from OECD, World Bank, UNESCO, IMF, ILO, and other international governmental organizations. International documents publshed since 1989 can be located using VIRGO. Consult Government Information Resources staff (Shannon 3rd floor) for documents published prior to 1989.
Printed Sources:
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures Shannon Reference JF 511 .W67 1998
Encyclopedia of the European Union Boulder, Co: Lynne Rienner, 2000 Ed. by Desmond Dinan Shannon Reference JN 30 .E52 2000
European Parliament London: Cartermill Intl., 1995 Ed. by Francis Jacobs, Richard Corbett, Michael Shackleton Shannon Reference JN 36 .J33 1995 In-depth information about the structure, operational procedures, and powers of the European Parliament.
Online Sources:
In addition to the resources below, be sure to consult the databases listed under Finding Scholarly Journal Articles on the Home tab.
Printed Sources:
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures Shannon Reference JF 511 .W67 1998
Online Sources:
In addition to the resources below, be sure to consult the databases listed under Finding Scholarly Journal Articles on the Home tab.
Printed Sources:
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures Shannon Reference JF 511 .W67 1998
Nations in Transit, 1999-2000: Civil Society, Democracy and Markets in East Central Europe and the Newly Independent States Shannon Reference JN 96 .A58 N384 2001
Political Parties of Eastern Europe: A Guide to Politics in the Post-Communist Era Shannon Reference JN 96 .A979 B84 2002
Online Sources: