Politics
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA large general database of articles from scholarly journals and a few newspapers. It includes articles from many of the journals listed below.
The most effective way to search for journal articles is to use journal databases, such as the ones below. These databases are general enough that they will be relevant to all of your presentation subject areas and paper topics. They should be used in conjunction with the more regional-specific databases listed under some of the presentation topics. To access our online materials from off-Grounds you will need to have either a proxy server account, a UVA Anywhere, or UVA Anywhere Lite account: see http://www.library.virginia.edu/services/off-grounds-access/
- America: History & Life (1964-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present with records from 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada. For these see America: History & Life.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - 1985 to presentLists journal articles, congress reports, essay collections, yearbooks, and book reviews on all legal subjects from journals published outside the United States
- Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text - 1985 to presentLists articles from English-language legal periodicals from 1982-present and has full text for some 200 articles, mostly beginning in the mid 90s. See Index to Legal Periodicals Retro for coverage 1918-1981.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of many scholarly journals, usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of nearly 400 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, mostly from North American university presses.
- Social Sciences This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in many social science areas including world and US politics, sociology, economics, education, government and social policy, law enforcement.
- Web of Knowledge/Web of Science This link opens in a new windowIncludes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Search the Social Sciences Citation Index component. Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information.
Browsing Journals
If you wish to browse or search the contents of one of the specific journals listed below, click on the red "Journals" tab at the top of the Virgo search screen and enter the journal title in one of the boxes that displays, depending on whether you want access to print or online content:
American Journal of Political Science, American Political Science Review, Annual Review of Political Science, British Journal of Political Science, Comparative Politics, Comparative Political Studies, European Journal of Political Research, European Union Politics,International Organization, Journal of Conflict Resolution, Journal of Democracy,Journal of Legislative Studies, Journal of Peace Research, Journal of Politics, Legislative Studies Quarterly, Party Politics, World Politics. Depending on your interests, also see area-focused journals: Communist and Post-Communist Studies, Canadian Journal of Political Science, etc.
Finding Articles in the Popular Press
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowNews from magazines and newspapers published around the world. Mostly full text and updated daily. Click on the "Legal" button at the top of the page to search European Union materials and foreign nations' laws, legislation and treaties.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowArticles from thousands of newspapers and magazines worldwide. Select "News pages" and a country or region to browse daily issues of recent newspapers, or use "Search" to find older articles.
- World News Connection, 1995 - presentTranslated material from thousands of foreign media sources, including speeches, articles from newspapers and periodicals, radio and television broadcasts, official government statements, etc.
Information About Legislative Bodies
- Portal on ParliamentsMaintained by Washington University Weidenbaum Center, lists links for online sites of legislative bodies aroiund the world.
- Europa - The European Union OnlineProvides access to the institutions, documents, activities and services of the European Union.
- Congressional RecordSearchable full text access to the Congressional Record and its predecessors (1789-present). Also includes American State Papers (1789-1838) and Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789).
- CQ Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new windowFocus is on U.S. politics, but "Political Handbook of the World" provides government histories, party profiles, election results, and political information on over 200 nations and intergovernmental organizations. Materials covering U.S. politics include legislative histories and analysis, and statistics about elections, public opinion, and voting.
- CQ Magazine 1983-present This link opens in a new windowIn depth coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
- CIA World FactbookAn up-to-date source of information about the government structure, demographics, geography, communications, economy, and military of 266 nations.
Polling Information
- iPoll This link opens in a new windowQuestions and responses from public opinion surveys conducted in the U.S. since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including Gallup, CNN, AP, Wall Street Journal, etc.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowQuestions and responses from polls taken in the U.S. and 80 other nations since 1986.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowA vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Includes public opinion surveys taken around the world. Users may view documentation, download raw data, and search a bibliography of data-related literature.