Skip to main content

International Organizations

Select web resources for international governmental organizations.

Introduction/ Selected League of Nations Related Digital Documents

The League of Nations (1919-1946) was the predecessor to the United Nations. Alderman Library Government Information Resources has an extensive print collection of primary source documents from the League. UVA's Law School Library owns a complete collection of League materials in microfilm (see section below).  Note: See following links for digitized League of Nations-related documents.

League of Nations Materials in Print at Alderman Library

NOTE: LN is the beginnning of the call number for all League documents in print. Within the "LN" range the materials are arranged by League of Nations Subject Category, e.g. LN IX-195. Location: League documents in paper are located in Alderman Gov Docs International in the 3 OLD Stacks.

  • Finding Aid to League Documents:

    Consolidated Catalog of League of Nations Publications Offered for Sale
    (also known as "Birchfield", the name of the author). Call Number Z 6479. A9B57, GIR Ready Reference, Alderman Library, 3rd Floor Service Desk Area 

    The only index to the print collection, it's arranged by League of Nations Subject Categories, and then sequentially within the Subject Categories. This resource is annotated to show what UVA owns in paper. It has a subject index, a sales number index and an Official Number index. Also provides a good explanation of the League's Official Number scheme (page viii).

  • Other Guides to League Materials

    Repertoire of League of Nations Serial Documents 1919-1947
    LN 8/R 56/, Gov Docs International, 3 OLD Stacks.

    Guide to League of Nations Publications: A Biblioraphical Survey of the Work of the League, 1920-1947
    INT 67 .A918G, Law Library Stacks

    Bibliographical Handbook on the League of Nations
    UN 8/L 47, Gov Docs International, 3 OLD Stacks
    Bibliography of League publications, arranged by broad subject.

League of Nations Documents, 1919-1946 - in Microfilm

I. The League of Nations Treaty Series in microfilm.
   Call Number Micfilm 7494. Location: Ivy Stacks. Request this material through VIRGO.

II.
 League of Nations collection in microfilm and the Index (see also information listed below, in pdf)
    Location: UVA Law School. Finding aid: Reel Guide to League of Nations Documents, 1919-1946. Call Number LN 8/D82. Copies at Law Library and Alderman Library GIR Reading Room.


 Call Number                 Title                                                      No. of Reels      Reel Guide Entries

 
 Int 77 .D598
                  Minutes - Directors Meetings                      4                       Indexed on reels

Int 77 J68

Journal Minutes of Council Sessions

1-36

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 773 A74

Records of the Assembly

37-62

v.3 (Ser. Pub.)

 

Indexes to Minutes & Records

reel 63

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Supp. Reel

Assembly, Council, Cir. Letters

1

v.3, p.307

Int 775 I.A

I.A - Administrative Commissions

14

v.1

Int 775 IB

I.B - Minorities

25

v.1

Int 775 II.A

II.A - Financial Questions

25

v.1

lnt775II.A.A43

Statistical Yearbook

3

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 II.A .M533

Agricultural & World Production

2

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 II.A .M742

Money & Banking

6

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 II.A .R454

Review of World Trade

10

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

lnt775II.A.W927

World Economic Survey

2

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 II.B

II.B - Economic Questions

16

v.1

Int 775 III

III - Health

10

v.1

Int 775 III .A43

Annual Epidemiological Reports

2

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 III .161

International Health Yearbook

4

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 IV

IV - Social Questions

13

v.1

Int 775 V

V- Legal Questions

33

v.2

Int 775 VIA

VI.A- Mandates

18

v.2

lnt775VI.A.D6375

Permanent Mandates Comm. (C.P.M.)

18

v.2

lnt775VI.A.M668

Permanent Mandates Comm. Minutes

6 (#1 missing)

v.2

lnt775VI.A.R425

Reports of Mandatory Powers

34

not indexed (?)

Int 775 VI.B

VLB - Slavery

3

v.2

Int 775 VII

VII - Political Questions

34

v.2

Int 775 VIII

VIII - Communications & Transit

17

v.3

Int 775 IX

IX - Disarmament

19

v.3

Int 775 X

X - Financial Administration

17

v.3

Int 775 XI

XI - Drug Traffic

33

v.3

lnt775XII.A

XII.A - Intellectual Cooperation

6

v.3

Int 775 XII.B

XII.B - International Bureaux

2

v.3

Int 775 XIII

XIII - Refugees

3

v.3

Int 775 IX A43

Statistical Yearbk - Trade in Arms

4

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 775 IX A727

Armaments Yearbook

13

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

Int 84 .L434t

Treaty Series

74

v.3 (Ser.Pub.)

 

19/F-,19/6-,20/6-21/6-

1

v.2, p.499

Int 7751 W927k

Bibliographical tools

1

v.1,p.3

Int 775 G

G - General Questions

19

v.3, p.273

Other Guides to League of Nations Research