Ask a Librarian!
Historical newspapers available at UVA Library
Newspapers available at UVA Library
Note: Contemporary newspapers may announce births, deaths, and marriages, as well as other important events in a person's life.
Note: Contemporary newspapers may announce births, deaths, and marriages, as well as other important events in a person's life.
-
Main UVA Library Newspapers page. See especially the US newspapers databases page that links to several databases with coverage back to the 19th century.
-
Historical U.S. Newspaper Titles in Microform at Shannon Library
Search by date, state or date and state. -
See also the subset list from this database: African-American Newspapers in Microform at Shannon Library
Selected genealogical periodical titles available in Shannon Library
The following table lists selected genealogical periodical titles available in Shannon Library, with special emphasis on publications related to Virginia genealogy. Search VIRGO for other oher genealogical periodicals not included in this listing.
|
Special Collections
F232 .A3 C46 |
Central Virginia heritage. Crozet, Va. : Central Virginia Genealogical Association, [1984- ] Incomplete holdings.
Previous title: Central Virginia Genealogical Association Quarterly.
|
|
Shannon Stacks
E202.5.A12 |
Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine. Incomplete holdings, 1892 to 2001.
New title: American spirit.
|
|
Current issues:
Shannon Periodicals Room E202.5 .A13 Bound volumes:
Shannon Stacks E202.5 .A13 |
Daughters of the American Revolution newsletter. Washington : Daughters of the American Revolution, 2001-
|
|
Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter. Richard W. Eastman. Updated 5/12/2005.
|
|
|
Shannon Reference &
Shannon Stacks F 232 .A3 M3 |
The Magazine of Albemarle County History. Charlottesville, Va. : Albemarle County Historical Society, 1951- Complete holdings.
Previous title: Papers of the Albemarle County Historical Society.
|
|
Special Collections
F225 .V47 |
Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond, VA : Virginia Genealogical Society, 1984- Incomplete holdings.
Previous titles: Quarterly of the Virginia Genealogical Society, and Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly.
|
|
Shannon Stacks
CS42.N4 |
National Genealogical Society Quarterly. Incomplete holdings, 1937 to date. No current holdings.
|
|
Shannon Stacks
F146.P65 Also available electronically.
|
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography. Complete holdings.
1877-1906: http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=318&VName=HNP&pmid=42105 (APS, 1877-1906)
|
|
Shannon Stacks
E202.3.A5 |
Sons of the American Revolution [Magazine]. Incomplete holdings, 1907 to date.
|
|
Shannon Stacks & Reference
F221.T95 |
Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine. Complete holdings, ceased
publication 1952. Indexed in E. G. Swem's Virginia Historical Index.
|
|
Special Collections
F225.V47 Special Collections
F225.V48 |
Virginia Genealogical Society Bulletin. Complete holdings.
|
|
Shannon Stacks & Reference
F221.V91 |
Virginia Magazine of History and Biography. Complete holdings.
Indexed in E. G. Swem's Virginia Historical Index.
|
|
Shannon Reference
F221.W71 www.historycooperative.org/wmindex.html (History Cooperative, 2001- ) (Available only from U.Va. locations) |
William and Mary Quarterly. Complete holdings.
Indexed in Swem's Index.
|
Finding Aids & Reference Tools
Because the periodical literature in the area of genealogy and heraldry is extensive, the reader is urged to consult Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory which is available on the web from U.Va. locations. In addition, Periodical source index (PERSI) is perhaps the most comprehensive index of articles in genealogical periodicals, having in its database material from 1847 to the present. PERSI is part of HeritageQuest, available to all users from the public computers in all UVA libraries.
Bibliographies of Periodicals and Newspapers
- See the major bibliography for this subject: African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (see description of this resource and useful links). Z6944 .N39 A37 1998, Shannon Library Reference
See also the following titles:
|
Shannon Reference
Z 6952 .V8 C24 |
Cappon, Lester Jesse. Virginia newspapers, 1821-1935; a bibliography with historical introduction and notes. New York, D. Appleton-Century, 1936.
|
|
Shannon Stacks
Z 6945 .R3 1974 |
Radford College. Dept. of History. A checklist of southwestern Virginia newspapers, 1800-1974. [Radford, The College, 1974?]
|
|
Shannon Reference & Stacks
Z5313.U5 S65 |
Sperry, Kip. A Survey of American Genealogical Periodicals and Periodical Indexes. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1978.
Invaluable attempt to list and describe known genealogical periodical indexes. Select list of genealogical periodicals. Author,title, and subject indexes. |
Indexes for Periodicals and Newspapers
|
Shannon Stacks
CS42 .G467 |
Genealogical periodical annual index. Bowie, Md. : George E. Russell, 1962-2001.
Latest edition that the library owns is 2001.
|
|
Shannon Reference
Z5313.U5J19 |
Jacobus, Donald Lines. Index to genealogical periodicals. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1963- . 3 vols.
|
|
Shannon Reference
Z5313 .U5 P47 HeritageQuest
(Available only from U.Va. locations) |
Periodical source index (PERSI) / prepared by the staff of the Allen County Public Library, Genealogy Department, Fort Wayne, Indiana. Fort Wayne, Ind. : Allen County Public Library Foundation, c1987-
Coverage includes over 20,000 genealogical periodicals from 1847 to present (also available online by from U.Va. locations through HeritageQuest). This database does not contain links to full text articles, but gives a citation to the article which can be used to locate and borrow the item through interlibrary loan. This index is only updated once annually.
|
|
Shannon Reference
Z 5313.U5S64 |
Sperry, Kip. Index to Genealogical Periodical Literature, 1960-1977. Detroit: Gale Research Company, 1979.
|
|
Gov Docs Info Desk
(CD-ROM) F221 .G46 1998 |
Swem, Earl Gregg. Genealogical records [electronic resource] : Virginia historical index. [Novato, CA] : Brøderbund Software, c1998.
Electronic edition of the Virginia historical index. Comprehensive subject index through 1930 of the following: The Virginia magazine of history and biography, v. 1-38, 1893-1930; the William and Mary college quarterly historical magazine, 1st series, v. 1-27, 1892-1919, 2d series, v. 1-10, 1921-1930; Tyler's quarterly historical and genealogical magazine, v. 1-10, 1919-1929; Virginia historical register and literary adviser, v. 1-6, 1848-1853; the Lower Norfolk County Virginia Antiquary, v. 1-5, 1895-1906; Hening's Statutes at large, 1619-1792, v. 1-13; Calendar of Virginia state papers and other manuscripts preserved in the Capitol at Richmond, 1652-1869, v. 1-11. |
|
Shannon Reference
F221 .S93 2003 |
Swem, Earl Gregg. Virginia Historical Index. Reprint. Baltimore, Md. : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1934, 2003. 2 vols.
(1968 reprint Ald Stacks F221 .S93 1968) Comprehensive subject index through 1930 of the following: The Virginia magazine of history and biography, v. 1-38, 1893-1930; the William and Mary college quarterly historical magazine, 1st series, v. 1-27, 1892-1919, 2d series, v. 1-10, 1921-1930; Tyler's quarterly historical and genealogical magazine, v. 1-10, 1919-1929; Virginia historical register and literary adviser, v. 1-6, 1848-1853; the Lower Norfolk County Virginia Antiquary, v. 1-5, 1895-1906; Hening's Statutes at large, 1619-1792, v. 1-13; Calendar of Virginia state papers and other manuscripts preserved in the Capitol at Richmond, 1652-1869, v. 1-11. |
|
ELECTRONIC
(Available only from U.Va. locations) |
Ulrich's international periodicals directory. New Providence, NJ : R.R. Bowker, c2000-
Print copies of this annual directory may be found in Shannon Reference, but the most recent information is only available in the online version. Numerous specialized and regional genealogical publications are listed under the subject heading "Genealogy and Heraldry".
|